jump to navigation

There’s An App For That? November 15, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Life Balance, Writing & Writers.
trackback

PC-CatI am enjoying getting to know my way around two new Apple devices . . . despite the S~T~E~E~P learning curve encountered in transitioning from Windows XP (and an archaic flip phone).

Navigating the menu bars on these high-tech tools has been both fun and time-consuming.

question-mark3aA whole new world of technology has opened up for me, including that of the App store.

So today’s post will be über short . . .

Just a quick question:

What’s your favorite App?

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Kate Crimmins - November 15, 2016

I had a hard time getting past Windows XP. Loved it but that’s a blast from the past. Enjoy your new toys! Too soon they are obsolete.

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

I’ve been with Windows XP since 2006 . . . but I’m enjoying the change and challenge of my new Mac.

2. Jill Weatherholt - November 15, 2016

My flip phone doesn’t have apps! LOL! But I’m okay with that. Have fun!

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Same here! And I still plan to use my flip phone for most short outings and errands. The iPad will go with us on overnight trips and weekend jaunts . . . if we ever start traveling again. 😉

3. Rainee - November 15, 2016

I found a good one for helping overcome anxiety. It paces you through breathing in and out. It is called Breathe Deeply :). There seems to be a lot of similar apps available. Have fun Nancy!

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Following the breath is such a relaxing practice. Thanks, Rainee.

4. Don - November 15, 2016

It’s a wonderful world you’re getting in to Nancy. My favourite app – Evernote. Enjoy!

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

I’ll check it out. Thanks, Don.

5. Tippy Gnu - November 15, 2016

My favorite app is the Trash can. That’s where I’ve sent many other apps.

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Haha! I only added one so far . . . and I think it’s destined for the circular file too!

6. colonialist - November 15, 2016

A case of an apple for the learner?

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Let’s just hope it’s not akin to the apple proffered to Snow White.

colonialist - November 16, 2016

Indeed! Although that type would be liked by an insomniac.

nrhatch - November 17, 2016

To sleep . . . perchance to dream!

7. L. Marie - November 15, 2016

Probably the Plants versus Zombies game I’m playing on my phone in my spare moments of course. 🙂

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

How on earth do you have “spare moments” at the moment. You are an amazingly prolific writer!

8. diannegray - November 15, 2016

I’m a weather junkie, so anything to do with weather is great for me 😀

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

I will add a weather app . . . especially one that warns of hurricane force winds so we can “hunker down” or “flee the scene.”

9. Joanne Sisco - November 15, 2016

I would have to say the Kindle app on both my iPad and phone are my favourite. I like the fact they synch and I’m never at a loss for reading material if I find myself waiting longer than expected at an appointment or on the subway.

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Yes! I had Kindle for PC . . . and now my books are on my iPad and Mac. Yay!

Joanne Sisco - November 16, 2016

Today I spent a lot of time on public transit. I was very happy to have Kindle on my phone. The commute went sooo much faster 🙂

nrhatch - November 17, 2016

Usually when I’m out and about, I “people watch.” Watching them is (almost) as fascinating as watching the ants in my childhood ant farm building industrious tunnels to nowhere. 😉

10. Val Boyko - November 15, 2016

Hang in there girl! Kindle app is great. Of course, there’s WordPress for when you are out and about!

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Thanks, Val. I really am enjoying getting to know this new-to-me terrain . . . including my FLAT Mac keyboard. It has a better feel to it than I thought it would at first touch.

11. Behind the Story - November 16, 2016

I have the new Windows, which I like, although I haven’t tried most of the wonderful things I can do with it. I also like my iPhone, and the same thing applies. It has many powers that go unused. Sorry. I don’t have any favorite aps. I have a Kindle, but I don’t have a Kindle ap. I should try that.

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

I expect that the capabilities of these new tech toys far exceed the reach of my imagination . . . but I’ll learn as I go.

It’s great having my Kindle books available on the iPad, but I still prefer picking up an actual book when I want to read.

12. Debra - November 16, 2016

I’m glad you’re having fun with the learning curve. It’s so worth it! I have so many apps! It’s ind of overkill at times, but I have one for each of many news agencies, newspapers and periodicals, podcasts, radio stations…it goes on and on! If only I had time to enjoy them all! A fun one that I occasionally use is Shazam…if you want to identify a song you open the app and it will listen and identify it for you. My apps are so cool that I hardly have to think any more. They do it for me! LOL!

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

Haha! I doubt you allow your apps do ALL your thinking for you. When I read your posts, I see how you wonder and ponder as you wander. Perhaps they just free up time for you to embrace your innate curiosity.

Thanks for the tip about Shazam ~ what a great name for an app.

13. Under the Oaks - November 16, 2016

I have been thinking Mac but I am so used to my Acer laptop and Chrome. I have been told it was a bit of a steep learning curve but I was hoping that 5 years of iPhones would help with my befuddlement. I am glad you are enjoying your new phone and Mac. My favorite app is a photo editing app, Snapseed.

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

Thanks, Pix. I only had the iPad for 2 weeks before buying the Mac, and even that helped make the Mac easier to use. For most of the stuff I do, the Mac has been a breeze . . . but I’m sure that it has capabilities I haven’t yet considered.

I’ll give Snapseed a look see. Thanks!

14. Ally Bean - November 16, 2016

I’m not much for apps on my iPhone. Too small to see clearly, to tedious to learn how to use. As a friend of mine says: “No app crap for me.”

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

Ha! I didn’t buy an iPhone for just that reason . . . too small and tedious. When I’m out and about, I enjoy being “off line” so my flip phone is just fine.

I will enjoy having the iPad for overnight trips and weekend jaunts . . . so I don’t come home to a mountain of e-mail.

15. livelytwist - November 19, 2016

I don’t know that I have a favourite. My apps are functional and do what they are supposed to… make my life easier. All the best with yours. 🙂

nrhatch - November 20, 2016

Thanks, Timi. One of these days, I’ll swing around the App store and take a look around. Most of the time, my keyboard and mouse are the only “apps” I need.


What Say YOU?

