jump to navigation

A Well-Planned Retirement November 12, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

From The London Times:

Donald-Duck-DrivingOutside England’s Bristol Zoo there is a parking lot for 150 cars and 8 buses. For 25 years, its parking fees were managed by a very pleasant attendant …

The fees for cars ($1.40), for buses (about $7).

Then, one day, after 25 solid years of never missing a day of work, he just didn’t show up; so the zoo management called the city council and asked it to send them another parking agent.

The council did some research and replied that the parking lot was the zoo’s own responsibility. The zoo advised the council that the attendant was a city employee. The city council responded that the lot attendant had never been on the city payroll.

Mickey-In-HammockMeanwhile, sitting in his villa somewhere on the coast of Spain, or France, or Italy, is a man who’d apparently had a ticket booth installed completely on his own and then had simply begun to show up every day, commencing to collect and keep the parking fees, estimated at about $560 per day — for 25 years.

Assuming 7 days a week, this amounts to over $5 million dollars . . . and no one even knows his name.

Aah . . . That’s the ticket!

Source:  E-mail from Kate Crimmons (Thanks, Kate!)

Snopes reports that this Urban Legend is . . . False.  But a girl can dream, right?

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - November 12, 2016

That is the ticket, Nancy! Happy Saturday!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

Happy Saturday to you, Jill! Hope NaNoWriMo is off to a great start for you . . . with ideas flying as fast as your fingers can type.

2. anotherday2paradise - November 12, 2016

Hahaha Now why didn’t I think of that? 😀

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

That’s what I thought!

3. Tippy Gnu - November 12, 2016

This man is a credit to capitalism and the entrepreneurial spirit. Sure wish I had thought of that.

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

A capital idea for building capital!

4. Kate Crimmins - November 12, 2016

I wish I was that enterprising!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

Well, now that you and hubs have finished your bathroom redo, maybe you can think of a new “enterprise.”

Thanks for sending this FUN share to me.

5. Under the Oaks - November 12, 2016

Wish it was true… 😉

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

Morning Pix! I am responding to comments on my brand new iMac & its magic keyboard. The learning curve for this baby is going to be S~T~E~E~P. Good for the brain cells, right?

I did break away long enough to go for a walk on the beach with BFF. Beautiful day! Say “hey” to CH!

6. Patricia - November 12, 2016

Very smart man. Not very smart city and zoo. Kind of sad that he worked the same place for 25 years and nobody asked him what his name was.

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

That would be sad! Of course, I know LOTS of people by their first names only . . . and would have no way to track them down if they disappeared from view.

7. roughwighting - November 12, 2016

Hysterical! I choose to believe that it’s true, if not at that zoo, then definitely at some other parking lot. What a smart scammer. Um, I guess I shouldn’t be enjoying this so much, but I am. 🙂

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

I felt the same ~> I don’t see this happening in England, but some entrepreneurial soul in a busy metropolis somewhere has managed to set up and run a VALET PARKING LOT on someone else’s land. I’m sure of it! 🙂

8. Val Boyko - November 12, 2016

A girl can dream … Thanks for the smile Nancy!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

I am delighted that Kate submitted this for me to use as a Silly Saturday post.

Let’s keep those dreams alive! 😉

9. Barb - November 12, 2016

Good for him, wish I’d thought of it!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

Me too!

10. Joanne Sisco - November 12, 2016

omg – I love this story. I want it to be true!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

We’re all cheering for this would-be tycoon!

11. Ally Bean - November 13, 2016

I’m reminded of the lyrics: “you get your money for nothing and your chicks for free.” Slightly different context, but kind of relevant in a tongue-in-cheek sort of way. What a legend, eh?

nrhatch - November 13, 2016

Yes! The Legend of the Tricky Rabbit!

12. L. Marie - November 13, 2016

Ha ha! That’s hilarious!

nrhatch - November 13, 2016

Yay! Glad you got a kick out of it.

13. Tiny - November 13, 2016

Wow! That was some planning!

nrhatch - November 13, 2016

And patience!

14. diannegray - November 15, 2016

Haaaa – my dream job! 😀

nrhatch - November 15, 2016

Exactly! Especially if the car park overlooked nature views.

15. Behind the Story - November 16, 2016

Oh! Too bad it’s just an urban legend–a delicious one, though.

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

I felt the same, Nicki . . . but I did swing by Snopes.com to see what they had to say about this tall tale.

16. Debra - November 16, 2016

Ha! I think in this current climate it’s fashionable to pass along stories as true regardless of fact-checking, so maybe I’ll just keep this one alive. I love it! It COULD have happened. 🙂

nrhatch - November 16, 2016

When I get e-mails about stories that seem improbable, I usually swing by Snopes before passing them along. But, even after seeing what Snopes had to say, I decided to share this one . . . because it was so FUN. Here’s to letting this one LIVE ON.

17. Tammy - November 17, 2016

I heard the story on NPR a couple of years ago and have always loved it. Economic self empowerment at its finest!

nrhatch - November 17, 2016

Yes! See an opportunity and seize it!


What Say YOU?

