jump to navigation

Remaning Awake & Aware November 9, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

Val’s recent post Shifting Allegiances caused me to re-visit the events described in Fire & Rain.  Doing so, helped me see why what we did . . . and did not do . . . made so much sense to me at the time and hence:

Donald-Duck-BaseballBeing curious instead of fearful had something to do with why we didn’t run out of the building into the pouring rain when the fire alarm sounded . . .

Instead of trying to control the situation, we trusted that our collective intuition would encourage us to move in plenty of time if we were really in harm’s way . . .

Instead of being attached to the stories swirling in our head about what the alarm “might” mean, we let go of our prejudgments and stayed in the present moment . . .

Mickey-OKAnd when it proved to be a false alarm, we were grateful that we were warm and safe and dry . . .

Aah . . . That’s Better!

”What are you ~ a god, an angel, a saint?”

“No,” replied The Buddha, “I am A-W-A-K-E.”

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - November 9, 2016

“We must shift our allegiances from fear to curiosity, from attachment to letting go, from control to trust, and from entitlement to humility.”

– Angeles Arrien

I’m working on this too Nancy in lieu of the Trump victory.

nrhatch - November 9, 2016

Same here.

Whether or not it is clear to [us], no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. ~Desiderata

2. Ally Bean - November 9, 2016

Life is all about shifting allegiances and alliances. In my observation the people who are the least happy hang on so tightly to what was that all they do is suffer now. I can’t be like that, so I trust myself do what is right for me. Radical idea, huh?

nrhatch - November 9, 2016

Go you! This morning I felt EXTREME resistance to the election results . . .

And then I just let it go. I stopped telling myself stories about how bad it would be with Trump as President and got on with my day. Being curious, instead of angry and afraid, made all the difference.

3. Jill Weatherholt - November 9, 2016

Trying to control a situation we have no power over = wasted energy. Ah…the things we can learn from Daffy and Mickey. 🙂

nrhatch - November 9, 2016

Yes! My mood took a STEEP nose-dive when I googled “who won the election?” this morning. And then I read this post and decided to be curious and let go of my attachment to a different reality. And, bottom line, I’ve had a GREAT day.

What’s done is done . . .
The what is, is . . .
Shaking my fist at the sky won’t change the outcome of the vote.

4. L. Marie - November 10, 2016

I agree with Jill! I felt totally upset and disoriented. But I know I need to let that go.

nrhatch - November 10, 2016

Reading this post (which I’d written and scheduled before hearing the news) helped me . . . followed by a walk on the beach. Seeing the waves washing up on the shore reassured me that life would go on.

Keep breathing!

5. diannegray - November 10, 2016

I love your comment to Jill “Shaking my fist at the sky won’t change the outcome of the vote” so right. It’s time to take it on board and see what happens. My gut instinct? He won’t see out the full term…

nrhatch - November 10, 2016

If he doesn’t . . . Then Pence takes over. I’m not sure someone that Conservative would be better.

Here’s to maintaining an attitude of CURIOSITY, not fear.

6. Debra - November 12, 2016

“Whether or not it is clear to [us], no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. ~Desiderata” In times past, this phrase has brought me to tears. It is a beautiful truth. I loved your fire alarm story when you first shared it, but your words today bring it around to such important application. I feel utterly exhausted from this week. I am working on the curiosity part. 🙂 I’ll get there!

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

I’ve been feeling a bit frazzled myself this week . . . new iPad, now new iMac, transferring data, learning new operating systems, dealing with the shifting landscape due to the election, etc.

I’m back to feeling like my feet are on terra firma. Keep breathing!


What Say YOU?

