jump to navigation

iThink . . . iCan . . . November 5, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Humor, Less IS More, Writing & Writers.
trackback

Apple-Logo-in-YellowThis is the first blog post I’ve written on my iPad mini . . . utilizing a Lilliputian keyboard.

It’s the first Apple product I’ve ever owned.

It’s the first time I’ve done any “serious writing” (ha!) on a diminutive keyboard.

It’s the first time I couldn’t rely on my able mouse to help me highlight, cut, paste, and otherwise edit my musings.

What should you expect?

That it will take me twice as long to say half as much.

300px-Escher's_Relativity

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - November 5, 2016

It seems the older I get, the more patience is required. Good luck, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I’ve learned a lot about practicing patience in the past 2 weeks ~ my computer threw a tantrum and had to go in for repairs, it rebounded, but we decided to get a 2nd device that would work at home in a pinch and that could travel with us, we visited the Apple store and decided on the iPad mini . . .

But before I could start using it, we had to get Brighthouse out to install Wi-Fi via a new modem/router. I started using its on-board keyboard and decided a keyboard folio would improve the experience. Now it’s like a tiny laptop.

2. Rainee - November 5, 2016

Well done for learning a new skill! I am thinking of getting an iPad mini. They do seem to be very popular :).

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I’ve never had anything other than a desktop computer and a flip phone before this . . . But the learning curve has been steadily upwards. So far, so good!

3. Kate Crimmins - November 5, 2016

Did you get a pair of tiny fingers to go with it? I hate “typing” on my cell phone. I use a desktop for my work. I have a Kindle I can use in a pinch and an ancient laptop with an unsupported operating system. I keep thinking about updating to something bigger than my Kindle (which I can use for travel) but smaller and less hassle than my ancient laptop. I’ve been thinking for over a year. Don’t like to rush into these things (until something breaks!). Good luck with your new one.

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I decided against a smart phone for just that reason. This mini with external keyboard folio will be perfect for travel . . . I can type almost as fast as on my full-size keyboard.

But for cutting and pasting and editing, I prefer a mouse. So next on the agenda is a new desktop computer or laptop.

4. Tippy Gnu - November 5, 2016

If you have small hands, you can handle this as well as Donald Trump handles Twitter.

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

Ha! An elephant could handle this mini better than Trump handles Twitter.

Oh, wait, Trump MEANT to say that?!

5. Under the Oaks - November 5, 2016

Sounds like fun Nancy! We have an older iPad and the iPad and I never did become friends. But a mini sounds interesting. I hope you enjoy it!

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

Thanks, Pix! I think it will be a good fit when we want to go on overnight trips and also for scrolling through a back-log of e-mails, etc.

For real writing, I’m going to want an all-in-one PC or Mac OR, maybe, a laptop.

6. William D'Andrea - November 5, 2016

I can’t afford to go on line at home, so I use the computers at my local public library. They are well maintained and the service is free. I have no problem using this full size computer. Then whatever I write is written and posted easily. What more do I really need?

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

Great solution for you.

I swung round and used the library computers while my computer was “in the shop” ~ no problem once n a while, but it would be a 20 minute drive each way “in season.”

William D'Andrea - November 6, 2016

For me it’s a 20 minute walk, each way, almost every day. I walk about one hour a day, every day. I’m 71 years old, in very good health and in much better shape than most people my age.

nrhatch - November 6, 2016

Walking is a favorite of ours too ~ usually 2 miles on the beach most mornings.

7. livelytwist - November 5, 2016

Welcome to the world of the tablet, very handy. You’ll get used to it and go faster, faster, faster 🙂

For “serious” work, I still prefer my laptop though …

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I can type at a pretty good clip on this (especially now that I have an external keypad) but I prefer a bigger screen (and a mouse) for financials, “real” writing, etc. Next trip, though, I will love popping this little guy into my backpack.

8. Ally Bean - November 5, 2016

I rarely compose on my iPad because it’s time-consuming and frustrating. I’ll reply to blog comments or tweet using it, but for anything that requires depth I use my desktop iMac. I’ve come to the conclusion that iPads and smart phones are for consumption, while desktop and laptops are for creation.

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

Once I upgrade my ailing PC, I will use it most of the time when I’m writing at home. But it’s a bit sluggish right now. So this has been a nice alternative when I tire of watching my computer L~O~A~D~I~N~G~L~O~A~D~I~N~G~L~O~A~D~I~N~G.

9. Joanne Sisco - November 5, 2016

I love my iPad … but I do have an external keyboard which is probably what makes it so much easier to use. If I had one complaint about my iPad, it would be that it doesn’t have a USB port. Apple – shame on you for excluding this very basic requirement.

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

After using this for 3 days, I bought an external keyboard which is great. And, YES! With a USB post for my flash drive, I would be rocking it!

Joanne Sisco - November 6, 2016

I’m a convert now. There is no question that my next laptop will be a MAC.

nrhatch - November 6, 2016

Good to know. I’m taking a class at the Apple store tomorrow night and plan to check out MACs and MACbooks

Joanne Sisco - November 6, 2016

I’ve been resisting that visit. I really can’t afford another big expenditure like that for a while!

nrhatch - November 6, 2016

I hear ya! I’d rather wait but my PC is not cooperating.

10. Behind the Story - November 5, 2016

Before I bought any Apple products, my daughter said they’re so intuitive–as though I’d be able to just sit down and use it. Somehow my intuition isn’t anything like hers. I still find Windows and my desktop easier.

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

Sometimes I find myself reaching for the mouse, instead of the touch screen, when on the iPad.

Other times, I find myself reaching for the screen, instead of the mouse, when on my PC.

Definitely sense NEW SYNAPSES firing . . . And that’s a good thing!

11. Carol Ferenc - November 5, 2016

So far, so good, Nancy . . . it looks great! My first desktop computer was a Mac and I loved it!

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I heard so many negatives about Windows 10 that I decided to give Apple products a try. I love the mini. Haven’t decided yet whether to go with a Mac or a PC for my new desktop.

Pluses and cons to both.

nrhatch - November 12, 2016

We bought a Mac . . . and I am LOVING it!

12. Debra - November 5, 2016

I hope you’ll give an update after you’ve been at this for a while. I haven’t been too successful in the past using my iPad, but I suspect I’m too impatient. I’m sure with practice it would become more comfortable. Let us know how it goes, Nancy, and maybe I’ll give it another try. 🙂

nrhatch - November 5, 2016

I found it pretty easy to do this post, including adding the photos. One reason I kept it short is because I had a lot of other things I needed to be doing. Also, it was a Saturday post which are “just for fun.”

On trips or overnight stays, the iPad will be perfect for comments, replies, and basic posts. At home, once I get a new computer with a bit of pep, that’s what I’ll use.

13. Val Boyko - November 6, 2016

It was a tough switch over to Apple for me… but it was worth it. I love how intuitive it is. Although I get somewhat annoyed with the word suggestions! I still prefer to write my posts on my computer screen and keyboard than the WorkPress App, but I do use my iPad when I travel.
I have an iMac, iPad and iPhone. It makes life really easy as they all synch with each other automatically. For example, if you travel with your iPad and delete email or update things, your computer is up to date for you when you get back. If you get a PC, you won’t be able to do that.

nrhatch - November 6, 2016

Thanks, Val. The synch feature of Apple products increases productivity for lots of people who work “on the go.” Not sure it’s a feature I need since most of what I would do while “out and about” is on the internet ~> when I update Mail on the iPad, my e-mail account is updated and accessible from any computer. Same for web applications like WP since I do use the WP template for writing blog posts. And the docs and photos I update at home aren’t the type of thing I would bother with when out having FUN.

That said, I might still buy a Mac because of its highly ranked consumer satisfaction, reliability, and security.

14. diannegray - November 6, 2016

Let us know how you go Nancy. When I was away from home earlier in the year I had to use the Apple to post and it wasn’t pretty. I should have stuck with it and now you’ve inspired me! 😀

nrhatch - November 6, 2016

I’m learning more each day. Just learned how to cut and paste and save photos from e-mails. Yay!

15. anitashree - November 7, 2016

LOL…technology sometimes really doesn’t make life easier 😛

nrhatch - November 7, 2016

Agreed! Keeping up wth technology is harder than keeping up wth the Joneses.

16. L. Marie - November 7, 2016

You’ve done great with this, Nancy!
My fingers always feel extra fat when I type on my smartphone. Autocorrect provides interesting guesses as to what I mean.

nrhatch - November 7, 2016

Yes! Auto-correct is often autonomous.

We opted against a smart phone because I enjoy being disconnected most of the time. If we head out for a few hours, am happily “off-line.” That said, the iPad will be great to have for overnight or weekend jaunts . . . So I don’t have to wade through 731 e-mails on our return home.

17. Tammy - November 11, 2016

Good luck Nancy. I wasn’t very good at blogging from the ipad but I do like Apple products in general.

nrhatch - November 11, 2016

Thanks, Tammy. We bought an iMac last night . . . so I won’t write many posts with the iPad (but it will be a nice adjunct for overnight or weekend getaways to “stay on top” of e-mails, etc.)

So far so good with the iMac . . . but I see a HUGE learning curve in front of me.

18. alphonsowhite - January 17, 2017

I switch back and forth between my laptop and my phone, it’s hard adjusting each time. On another note, some friends and I completed a pretty big puzzle a couple years back with the picture you used here on it. Brought back some memories haha thank you.


What Say YOU?

