jump to navigation

Scotch Hopping Through A Hodge Podge October 29, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

imgp2584bWhen stressed, I close my eyes and breathe in love and gratitude.

###

Following my breath =  an instant antidote for dis-ease.

###

Smiling a “small Buddha smile” allows me to watch the “what is” as it unfolds without getting attached to having things “my way.“

###

My mantra (as detached observer) ~> Just Be.

###

I try to “be friendly” with all our neighbors . . . even the ones I don’t want to “befriend.”

###

I am never bored . . . except when stuck in the middle of a crowd of extroverts competing for attention.

Mickey-Dancing###

I guess certain behavior doesn’t Sitwell with me . . .

“I am patient with stupidity, but not with those who are proud of it.” ~ Elizabeth Sitwell

###

And, now, one last Hop Scotch or Scotch Hop through this Hodge Podge:

Mickey-OKOscar Wilde nailed the art of opposites . . . saying one thing to point in the opposite direction.

My favorite example:

I can resist everything except temptation.

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 29, 2016

Loved this, Nancy! Happy Saturday!

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Thanks, Jill. It’s fun to take bits and pieces of life and weave them together . . . It’s all connected. Have a great day flexing your muscles in prep for NaNoWriMo.

2. Val Boyko - October 29, 2016

A wise light hearted post Nancy! Thank you for setting the foundation for today my friend 💛

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

My pleasure . . . Sometimes a bit of this and a bit of that is where it’s at!

3. Under the Oaks - October 29, 2016

Good Morning! I like this… 🙂

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Morning, Pix. We’re about to head out for a beach walk ~ my favorite way to start the day! Hope your day is full of favorites for you and CH.

4. Kate Crimmins - October 29, 2016

That’s fun! Enjoy your day! It’s getting cold up here. 39 degrees as I write.

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Brrr . . . That sounds C~O~L~D!

It’s in the mid-80’s today wth a gorgeous breeze. Did a beach walk this morning and had lunch “on the beach” at the Beachhouse restaurant. Super weather right now.

Tonight we’re going to a Haunted Trail at DeSoto Memorial. BOO!

5. Tippy Gnu - October 29, 2016

You’d better not watch any of those political talk shows. Seems like there’s a lot of people on those shows who are proud of their stupidity.

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

And some of them are even runnng for President!

6. L. Marie - October 29, 2016

This one especially made my day: “I am never bored . . . except when stuck in the middle of a crowd of extroverts competing for attention.” 😀

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Introverts are more interesting conversationalists because they aren’t interested in hogging the spotlight . . .

It’s the exchange of ideas that appeals to them. And me!

7. roughwighting - October 29, 2016

I nodded my head in agreement with everyone of these. And YES, I dislike being with a group of extroverts. In fact, I get a headache. Best answer to headaches and extroverts: go in a corner and breathe in and breathe out and say. J u s t B E E E E E E. xoxo

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Yes . . . To the Bat Corner!
Extroverts can be fun to WATCH . . . From a distance.

roughwighting - October 30, 2016

The BAT CORNER – love it!!! 🙂

8. suzicate - October 29, 2016

“Just be” – my favorite place to be, as long as I kick those chatty monkeys in my head back to the jungle!

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Yes . . . Quiet down that monkey chatter and Be Here Now.

suzicate - October 29, 2016

I drank a glass of wine and they all ran away!

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Perfect!

9. Joanne Sisco - October 29, 2016

… especially if that temptation happens to be chocolate. I curse Hallowe’en with chocolate everywhere!! 🙂

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

That can be a challenge . . . Especially if chocolate is not always a staple fixture in your house.

We ALWAYS have chocolate around ~ usually DOVE dark chocolate and dark chocolate with almonds. Because I know it’s NOT in short supply, I don’t usually eat more than one nugget.

Since we get NO Trick or Treaters, I don’t buy Halloween candy. The lack of “novelty” helps with “resisting temptation.”

Joanne Sisco - October 29, 2016

I always succumb to Hallowe’en chocolate. I’m weak 😉

nrhatch - October 29, 2016

Maybe I’m the weak one . . . Eating chocolate year round instead of on special occasions. 😉

10. anitashree - October 30, 2016

I can resist everything except temptation. <—– I like. hehe

nrhatch - October 30, 2016

You’re in good company!

11. Stephanie Faris - October 30, 2016

YES to the part about being stuck with extroverts trying to one-up each other. I hate that!

Stephanie
http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

nrhatch - October 30, 2016

It can be relaxing . . . If we sit back and let them do all the heavy lifting!

12. Behind the Story - October 31, 2016

I find the “small Buddha smile” very effective. A qi gong exercise I do recommends doing it with a slight closed-mouth smile. I find it effective throughout the day.

For the past thirteen years, trick-or-treaters have skipped my neighborhood. I’ve stopped buying bags of candy because “I can resist everything except temptation.”

nrhatch - October 31, 2016

Haha! Smart thinking! We haven’t had a single trick or treater in the 7 years we’ve lived here . . . until today. A neighbor told me one stopped by today when BFF and I were out. BOO WHO! Maybe he’ll come back.

Behind the Story - October 31, 2016

Sorry you missed him. He must have made a wrong turn somewhere.

nrhatch - October 31, 2016

We just went across the street to his house and got him out of bed (he was still awake) to accept a bag of Dove Ice Cream treats “for tomorrow.”

He said, “SWEET!”

13. diannegray - October 31, 2016

These are great thoughts, Nancy – I love your wisdom (and that wonderful Oscar Wilde quote) xxx

nrhatch - October 31, 2016

That quote is one of my all time Wilde favorites . . . no spooking!

Happy Halloween!

14. Tiny - October 31, 2016

These are great “tricks” Nancy! I think I will adopt a few of them. Loved the small Buddha smile, for example 😎 and I have finally learned to use mantras like “accept what is”…very useful for keeping calm and worry free.

nrhatch - October 31, 2016

“Tricks” is the right word . . . we trick our mind into “letting go” of non-productive thoughts so we can keep calm and carry on.

15. Tammy - November 1, 2016

Love these tips for hopscotch!

nrhatch - November 1, 2016

Morning, Tammy . . . Hope the wee ghosts and ghouls of All Hallow’s Eve amused and entertained without being too S~C~A~R~Y!


What Say YOU?

