jump to navigation

Valerie Bertinelli’s LOL Martini October 27, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Valerie Bertinelli has a cooking show.

On a recent show, she blanched broccoli florets and matchstick carrots, dropped them into an ice bath to keep the colors vibrant, and tossed the veggies with a quick Honey Mustard Vinaigrette (mustard, honey, vinegar, salt, pepper, olive oil) and chopped walnuts.

The dish looked awesome!  I must give it a try.

She also made a LOL Martini with limoncello, lemon vodka, orange juice, orange liqueur, and lime juice ~ I would enjoy that too!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 27, 2016

Both look delish! Thanks for sharing, Nancy.

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

Her show is FUN to watch because she is always smiling and laughing as she cooks.

2. Under the Oaks - October 27, 2016

I LOVE broccoli… the walnuts are a great addition. Always looking for great sides. This could be a meal!

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

I didn’t make this exact salad . . . But I did toss some roasted broccoli and carrots with a homemade honey mustard vinaigrette. YUMMY!

Still have to try the martini . . . LOL!

3. Ally Bean - October 27, 2016

That salad recipe is my kind of cooking! I’m more of a vodka on the rocks with a twist of lemon kind of girl, but if you have all the ingredients on hand, by all means try a LOL martini. It could be good, definitely flavorful.

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

I have limited liquor supply at the moment . . . But I do have fresh Meyer lemons right outside my door.

4. Tiny - October 27, 2016

Yes to the LOL martini😉

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

Such a fun name for her lemony concoction.

5. Kate Crimmins - October 27, 2016

Looks good! Time to cook!

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

As long as it doesn’t interfere with your bathroom redo!

6. diannegray - October 27, 2016

Don’t forget to set a virtual place for me, Nancy! 😀

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

I am on it!

7. suzicate - October 27, 2016

I used to think I didn’t like martinis…until I had a chocolate one, and then a lemon one, and then an apple one; you get the picture. I only thought they were those tasteless things in a funny glass with an olive that made my lips pucker, ha!

nrhatch - October 27, 2016

Same here. No interest in dry martinis with olives as a chaser.

8. Behind the Story - October 28, 2016

I’m a boring drinker. I’ve never tried a martini.

nrhatch - October 28, 2016

Next time you make a cocktail, strain the ice out before serving. Voila! A martini.

These days that seems to be the definition of a “martini” ~ less to do with the ingredients and more to do with how it’s served.

9. Debra - October 28, 2016

Both sound good to me, too! I really like Valerie Bertinelli. I didn’t know she had a show and I’ll have to look for it!

nrhatch - October 28, 2016

I get a kick out of watching Valerie cook ~ we stumbled upon her show one day during lunch. It’s probably on the food channel, mid-day, but not sure about which day of the week.

10. Bun Karyudo - October 28, 2016

The salad sounds great, especially when it got to the part about walnuts, which I love!

nrhatch - October 28, 2016

Me too! I am nuts about nuts.

11. L. Marie - October 28, 2016

Someone else mentioned her cooking show!
That broccoli salad does look good. I just had a broccoli salad for lunch, so I’m always in the mood for a good one!

nrhatch - October 28, 2016

Broccoli is one of my favorites . . . Roasted, steamed, or in a salad. So good with this honey mustard vinaigrette.

12. Hannah Fearless - February 20, 2017

Amazing!

nrhatch - February 20, 2017

Enjoy!


What Say YOU?

