jump to navigation

Spanish Romesco Dip October 19, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

mr-rossiNext time it’s your turn to serve Tapas, here’s a yummy dip from the Catalonia region of Spain.

Spanish Romesco Dip

1/2 cup whole almonds
3 garlic cloves, peeled
8 oz. roasted red bell pepper
1 14-oz. can fire roasted diced tomato (with or without peppers)
1/4 c. chopped onion (optional: sauté first)
3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 1/2 tsp. paprika
1 tsp sherry or red wine vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

With food processor or Ninja running, drop almonds and garlic cloves into the chute. Process until fine.  Add remaining ingredients and process until almost smooth.

Serve at room temperature or chilled.

This dip is delicious with tortilla chips, Fritos, pretzels, pita, crackers, bruschetta, seafood, pasta, etc.  I added some to sauteed zucchini, peppers, and onions with excellent results.

Aah . . . that’s yummy!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 19, 2016

Hum…sounds yummy, Nancy! Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - October 19, 2016

Simple + Easy + Delicious => belongs in my recipe box!

2. Under the Oaks - October 19, 2016

It sounds very good, maybe a little spicy? 😀 I would cool it down a little bit but CH would love it spicy and we love shrimp! CH has a different take on shrimp dip and we dip the chilled shrimp in the the dip after warming the dip up. I could munch on what is in your post right now and it is 7 oh clock in the morning right now!

nrhatch - October 19, 2016

It wasn’t spicy ~> I used a can of mild Ro*Tel tomatoes and peppers. Of course, the spice quotient could be upped by adding hot peppers, cayenne, Tabasco, or crushed red pepper.

Mangia!

3. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy - October 19, 2016

I’m not an almond fan, but I know some people who would love this!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

The ground up almonds add “body” without changing the flavor profile . . . not sure I would have known almonds were in it if I hadn’t tossed them into the mix.

4. suzicate - October 19, 2016

That sounds wonderful!

nrhatch - October 20, 2016

Quite a nice complement to lots of different dippers.

5. Ally Bean - October 19, 2016

This sounds delicious & looks easy to make. Something new to try. Thanks for the recipe.

nrhatch - October 20, 2016

Enjoy!

6. Kate Crimmins - October 19, 2016

I love quick and easy. One of my favs is to get some roasted tomatoes at our local Mediterranean bar at the upscale grocery store and blend it with one glove of garlic. That’s it. Serve it with your favorite dipper. People think you are a hero! Your dip sounds wonderful and you doesn’t like shrimp as dippers.

nrhatch - October 20, 2016

Sounds great, Kate!

I’m having computer issues so may be scarce for a while.

7. Tiny - October 20, 2016

This sounds and looks really tasty! I printed it out and will try it.

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

The almonds give it “body” and everything else makes it taste great. Enjoy!

8. L. Marie - October 20, 2016

Looks delish!
I miss the tapas restaurant that used to be close by. The food was so good! Alas it closed. And the one that is a little farther away is very expensive.

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

That’s a shame. Maybe a new one will come and fill the void.

9. Debra - October 21, 2016

This looks delicious! I’ve made vegan almond “cheese” before and those almonds really add something great. I will definitely remember this recipe!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

Ooh . . . vegan almond cheese sounds good. Is it a spreadable consistency for crackers?

Debra - October 21, 2016

Yes, its very spreadable. I haven’t made it in awhile because I honestly overeat it! LOL! I keep thinking it’s healthier overall, but probably not in the quantities I consumed. Here’s one site I really enjoy and you’ll see how easy this recipe is, as well as extremely adaptable. http://www.landsandflavors.com/basic-almond-cheese/

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

Thanks for the link! That cheese spread looks great. I’m going to give it a go.


What Say YOU?

