jump to navigation

Before And After October 17, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Health & Wellness, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Before I began the wheat-free experiment mid-September, we ate delicious meals of this and that:

2016-09-10-19-04-23_0008

Thai Noodles with Peanut Sauce * Steamed Broccoli & Carrots * Black Bean Salsa * Sliced Apple * 1/2 a Bagel

Since going wheat-free, we still eat this and that . . . I just don’t eat that other thing.

Here’s an example of an impromptu mix & match wheat-free lunch thrown together from “fixings” in the fridge and pantry:

2016-09-10-12-11-36_0007

Carrot & Celery Sticks * Pepperocini * Hummus * Fritos * Black Bean Salsa * Broccoli Florets with Italian Vinaigrette

I do a bit more planning for dinners, but not much.  Here’s an example of a fresh from the oven wheat-free dinner:

2016-09-19-19-11-40_0001

Twice Baked Potato * Roasted Asparagus * Roasted Cauliflower * Roasted Carrots * Mashed Sweet Potato * Pushcart Onions  & Peppers

Update: I’m still enjoying numerous benefits from eating wheat-free (better sleep, less neck pain, better digestion, less inflammation, better mood, less mental fog, better energy, less hunger) so I haven’t been tempted to add wheat back into my diet.  Yet.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. bwcarey - October 17, 2016

thanks for the affirmation, i’m on a healthy way too, well, i’m trying, and my digestion has improved no end, thanks

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Excellent! When we feel good, life is better in all ways.

bwcarey - October 20, 2016

thanks

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 17, 2016

I could live on Asparagus…yum! Glad to hear you’re feeling better, Nancy.

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Thanks, Jill. I didn’t realize all the little ways I wasn’t feeling my best until I started this experiment. It’s been an eye opener.

Asparagus is a fave! My parents used to grow it ~ it’s a perennial so they didn’t have to replant it every year. It just popped up in the spring, along with the daffodils.

3. anitashree - October 17, 2016

Oh sounds very interesting…I get bloated with wheat too..and that dinner looks very yummy!

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

I haven’t missed wheat with so many other yummy things to eat!

4. Under the Oaks - October 17, 2016

That all looks wonderful to me!

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Thanks, Pix! We love to mix and match our meals . . .

5. L. Marie - October 17, 2016

Looks very yummy. I love a twice baked potato and asparagus.
A friend of mine who has Celiac’s disease has been gluten free for a while.

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Here’s hoping you have LOTS of good meals heading your way!

6. Luanne - October 17, 2016

Are you eating gluten free or wheat free only? My husband has celiac so he’s completely gluten free. What are those pushcart onions and peppers?

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Here’s the recipe for Pushcart Onions:
https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2016/09/05/pushcart-onions/

I’m focusing on wheat free but I’ve been essentially gluten free since I haven’t eaten any barley, bulgur, rye, malt or brewer’s yeast.

Luanne - October 17, 2016

I hadn’t even processed that this was that recipe. It looks so so good. Brewer’s yeast! I hadn’t thought about it being possibly gluten. I am allergic to it, almost never drink beer.

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Pushcart Onions are yummy. I’m making something similar tonight with onions, peppers, and tomatoes:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/vegetarian-lecso-or-lecho/

These days, I’d manage with an allergy to beer. Back in college, that would have been a devastating diagnosis!

7. colonialist - October 17, 2016

Have you considered the great danger of this move? Lose your wheats and one might wheatness you behaving in a wheatless manner!

nrhatch - October 17, 2016

Bwahaha! I will be sure to keep my wheats about me.

colonialist - October 17, 2016

You are simply going to abstain from ingesting them! 🙂

8. diannegray - October 17, 2016

Well done, Nancy – and your new food looks delicious and healthy! 😀

nrhatch - October 18, 2016

It’s a good thing I LOVE veggies or meals would be a challenge. Lucky for me, they’ve always been my favorite part of a meal, even before I became a vegetarian back in the 90’s.

Now instead of bread, bagel, etc. ~> MORE VEGGIES!

9. Val Boyko - October 18, 2016

Roasted cauliflower has become my fav as an alternative to a carb. Glad you are still feeling the inner lightness of being Nancy 😄

nrhatch - October 18, 2016

Feeling good = the best!

10. earnestlydebra - October 18, 2016

It always looks so appetizing nicely arranged on a plate. Someday I’m going to put all my food in nice cut up slices in plastic containers. Thanks for the inspiration.

nrhatch - October 18, 2016

We enjoy having “mix and match” meals from things in the fridge that don’t require lots of prep time ~ so we often round out lunch and dinner with carrots, celery, apples, and . . . Fritos!

earnestlydebra - October 18, 2016

I like the idea – I’m just not very creative at the combos, so this gave me some good ideas!

nrhatch - October 19, 2016

We got the idea while watching a friend feed her 2 toddlers ~> she gave them a little bit of this and a little bit of that “to try” instead of giving them enormous portions of 1-2 items.

11. Ally Bean - October 18, 2016

Hey wait a minute… you didn’t say that Fritos were on your new diet plan! That puts a whole new spin on this wheat-free concept. Your plates of food look yummy to me, but I have yet to give this diet a try. Still, if there are Fritos…

nrhatch - October 18, 2016

Fritos = Corn + Oil + Salt ~> no WHEAT! Yay!
While we’re here, we might as well ENJOY!

We also add salty crunch with corn tortilla chips.
Or a few Potato Chips.
Or nuts ~ cashews, almonds, peanuts, brazil nuts, pecans, walnuts, etc.

I look for snacks with 3 ingredients or less on the label instead of labels that have 47 different ingredients most of which don’t sound like food.

12. suzicate - October 18, 2016

So glad you are feeling better. Working on getting my eating habits back in order…I was quite the backslider while on vacation.

nrhatch - October 18, 2016

Best of luck!

Since we eat at home most of the time, I throw caution to the wind when we eat out . . . especially on vacation. If something appeals to me, I order it. The one “rule” I follow is to STOP eating when I’m full. I can’t stand feeling like a stuffed sausage. That saves us from the worst of the excess.

Case in point ~> The other day, BFF and I split a Dynamic Duo appetizer at Tommy Bahamas around 4 pm ~> Pub Cheese, Homemade Chips, and Guacamole. We couldn’t finish it & brought the rest home (to eat the next day). When dinner time rolled around at 7 pm, we still weren’t hungry!

We ended up splitting an apple for dinner.

13. Bun Karyudo - October 19, 2016

I’m glad to hear the wheat-free diet is still working for you. Of the things you showed in your photographs, the roasted asparagus would be my favorite. I love them.

nrhatch - October 19, 2016

Me too! Although most of the veggies on that plate are favorites of me . . . especially when roasted.

14. livelytwist - October 19, 2016

Way to go!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

Thanks, Timi!

15. Eileen - October 20, 2016

Like the last one best,. Yummy!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

Me too! I tend to put more effort into meal planning for dinner. At lunch, it’s catch as catch can.

16. Debra - October 21, 2016

It all looks quite delicious to me! I’m fascinated by the benefits you’re experiencing. Less neck pain is really interesting, and must be very encouraging. Good for you, Nancy. Have you tried any of the other pastas yet? Quinoa, spelt, rice? I’m curious!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

The less neck pain was a B~I~G surprise. I’m guessing reduced inflammation so less pain. And my afternoon headaches (which were related to neck pain/strain) are also gone . . . most days.

This experiment has been a big success. So much so that every time I think of incorporating wheat back into my diet to see what happens, I decide to W~A~I~T a bit longer.

Debra - October 21, 2016

My daughter-in-law is another firm believer! I have seen her overall well-being take a huge boost since going off wheat about a year ago. It’s amazing. I’m really happy for you to experience some relief. I think your posts about your changes are going to influence others who have never even considered how wheat/gluten could be negatively affecting them!

nrhatch - October 21, 2016

Get ready for a LOL moment . . . I went to a cocktail party at the pool tonight and dipped a pita chip (wheat) into the hummus and it was so good that I had another!

Oh, well, life is too short to be a purist all the time. 😉

nrhatch - October 24, 2016

And, yes, I’ve been eating other grains ~ rice, millet, quinoi, and corn. I’ve never tried spelt. Have tried Farro before this experiment, but it’s closely related to wheat.

Add: Last night, we had whole wheat pasta for dinner. I woke up every 2 hours ~ just like before the wheat free experiment began. So I think I will continue to omit wheat for the time being.


What Say YOU?

