jump to navigation

The Sun Is Always Shining October 5, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

The sun is always shining, even when it’s hidden by clouds.

imgp0848bmetallica

When dark clouds obscure the sun, it is impossible to move from “rung 37” to “rung 3” on the happiness ladder in a single bound.

We lack the energy and enthusiasm needed to even make the effort to reclaim the “joy” we used to feel.

But that doesn’t mean we have to stay where we are . . .

imgp2376c

With mindful effort, we can climb out of the abyss one rung at a time.

Find an uplifting quote, anecdote, or photo to ponder. Something that inspires you and refills your well (even if the lift doesn’t last).

imgp3718

Aah . . . that’s better!

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.” ~ Alice Walker

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 5, 2016

Love that quote and the last photograph! I hope Matthew has minimal impact on you all, Nancy.

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Thanks, Jill. We expect rain and higher than normal winds, but nothing too scary. Folks along the east coast are apt to get the brunt of the storm.

Jill Weatherholt - October 5, 2016

Be safe!

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Thanks!

2. Rainee - October 5, 2016

I enjoyed this comment of yours Nancy “Something that inspires you and refills your well (even if the lift doesn’t last)”.

Also thinking of you with predicted weather heading in your direction – take care 🙂

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Thanks, Rainee. If Matthews hugs the east coast, as predicted, things here should be stormy but not scary. It does sound like people are taking the evacuation orders seriously.

3. Kate Crimmins - October 5, 2016

Hopefully you will be high enough on the rungs that Matthew will not affect you at all.

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Thanks, Kate. Here’s hoping that Matthew doesn’t wreak havoc in too many coastal communities.

4. Under the Oaks - October 5, 2016

“Find an uplifting quote, anecdote, or photo to ponder. Something that inspires you and refills your well (even if the lift doesn’t last).” Baby steps. Good words today!

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

When our mood is not “positively sunny” . . . baby steps moves us in the right direction without expecting too much at once.

I find that bunnies and kittens and puppies help to part the clouds.

5. Tippy Gnu - October 5, 2016

I think waiting out the storm can help also. The difference between happiness and unhappiness could just be a few hours.

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

That too! Happiness is cyclical. We can’t all be positively upbeat all day every day. Into every life some rain must fall.

6. Ally Bean - October 5, 2016

Ok, this is going to seem a little bit contrary, but it’s not meant to be, however… I sometimes enjoy gray days more than sunny ones. I like sunshine, of course. But the darker days are easier on my eyes, and allow me to see things that the glare of sunlight obscures. Of course, too many gray days in a row are depressing, but a few of them I find inspiring.

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Same here, Ally. Sometimes a “gloomy” day is just right.

7. Don - October 5, 2016

Love the quote by Alice Walker. So good.

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Thanks, Don. That’s a favorite of mine. When we master our thoughts, we master our life and reclaim our power . . .

We no longer grant others the power to capsize our boat with the slightest breeze.

8. Piglet in Portugal - October 5, 2016

On bleak days it’s good to light the log fire or candles and it cheers up the room and lifts the spirit

nrhatch - October 5, 2016

Light can be very uplifting and soothing. Before we moved to the Sunshine State, I often lit a companionable fire to help me get through the long dark dreary days of winter.

9. Val Boyko - October 5, 2016

The sun is always shining behind the clouds of our thinking… when we let go of our thoughts we open to the constant warming light that is within us all.
Thanks for the reminder on a challenging cloudy day Nancy 💛

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Sorry you’ve had a “cloudy day” . . . may you rise to its challenges. Keep breathing.

Val Boyko - October 6, 2016

Breathing I can do! Reading my own advice helps too … lol.
Thank you Nancy 💛

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Same here, Val. I share this stuff to “internalize” it.

10. Bun Karyudo - October 6, 2016

My efforts to come up with an uplifting quote (“I’d like to buy the world a coke”) didn’t really cut it. I like the Alice Walker quote, though. It’s genuinely uplifting and motivational.

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Here’s to doing what we can with what we have where we are!

Bun Karyudo - October 6, 2016

Absolutely! The worst thing you (and I) can do is nothing.

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Nothing from nothing leaves nothing . . . so you got to do something if you want to get things done.

11. L. Marie - October 6, 2016

Great post, Nancy. I agree with Jill Weatherholt. I hope you’ll be okay!
Ironically I’m reading this on a gray day. We had rain this morning.

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Thanks, Marie. We should be fine here. Fingers crossed that the east coast evacuations will save lives. Matthew is a BIGGIE.

12. Debra - October 6, 2016

I, too, have been concerned for you, Nancy, and I’m glad to read your response that all should be well. I’m listening right now to an NPR report speaking to your Governor about the concerns and evacuation orders. I do believe that we are responsible for our emotional balance and we ought to each know what works for us. I think for me it sometimes is just not overthinking the “why” I’m not in a better frame of mind. If I let it be and just relax a bit, it usually takes care of itself. If I focus on “it,” whatever “it” is, it magnifies and takes over. I’m always glad I’m a reader. There’s always something I can get temporarily lost in. I love your photos, my friend.

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Thanks, Debra! The east coast is bracing for the worst and “it” could be devastating to millions. Fingers crossed that Matthew doesn’t wreak too much havoc.

Our thoughts create our reality. Sometimes taking a step back and watching with a slight shift in perspective works wonders.

13. diannegray - October 6, 2016

That Alice Walker quote is wonderful, Nancy. I hope you’re safe from Matthew and those in it’s path are as well xxx

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Thanks, Dianne. We’ve been watching the weather channel all day ~ Haiti, the Bahamas, and preparations in FL, SC, GA. I’ll be glad when Matthew and Nicole dissipate for good.

diannegray - October 6, 2016

Have you ever used Earth:nullschool? That’s what I use during the tropical storms because it’s up-to-the-minute. Let me know if not and I’ll send you the link.

nrhatch - October 6, 2016

Thanks, Dianne. I tried to take a look at earth.nullschool.net but my computer says it can’t provide a secure connection.

14. Charlie@Seattle Trekker - October 7, 2016

Loved your thoughts on what can be a very complex and difficult subject for many.

nrhatch - October 7, 2016

Thanks, Charlie. Here’s to moving in the “right” direction.

15. Tiny - October 7, 2016

Beautiful post, Nancy! Love the picture of the heron in the tree.

nrhatch - October 7, 2016

Thanks, Tiny. I took that on a haunted trail at DeSoto National Memorial around All Hallow’s Eve!


What Say YOU?

