jump to navigation

Trump That! October 1, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

Mickey-SurferI woke in the middle of the night, the tendrils of a dream still vivid.

My father had been mediating a dispute between mom and me regarding a matter of the utmost importance . . .

Whether I should stop wearing the shoes I had on.

When it was time for him to render his verdict and declare which of us had “logic” on our side ~ me, based on the direct personal experience of actually wearing the shoes, or mom, based on her second-hand observations about my footwear ~ he side-stepped the issue by standing up, walking a few steps away, and announcing with sage purpose:

“Trump will be out in November . . . and I’m out of here now.”

Mickey-OKAs dad drifted away, I woke up in bed, hugging his words in his stead.

Dad’s words of wise counsel allowed me to drift back to deep and peaceful slumber for the rest of the night, knowing that:

“All will be well in the end. Β If all is not well, it is not yet the end.” ~ The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - October 1, 2016

Love that quote, Nancy! Speaking of sleeping…we finally had temps in the 50’s last night. With the windows opened, I slept better than I have in months. Happy Saturday!

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Awesome! Nothing like fresh cool air while we sleep. I loved that movie and that quote.

2. Kate Crimmins - October 1, 2016

I hope your Dad is right!

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Me too!

3. William D'Andrea - October 1, 2016

If Donald Trump would just be a dignified gentleman, and behave like a civilized adult, he would win the election by the largest landslide in history.

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

I expect it won’t be a slam dunk for Trump since he can’t seem to muster the enthusiasm to be dignified or civilized . . .

4. Tippy Gnu - October 1, 2016

I have mixed feelings about Trump. If he wins, comedy will enjoy a new Golden Era, and I like comedy. It’s just that it won’t be funny when the nuclear missiles start flying. So I’m just not sure which way to vote.

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

I could not in good conscience vote for someone who earns millions, pays no taxes, while complaining about the deficit and promising his corporate buddies tax decreases.

Nor someone who manufactures products overseas for sale here while complaining about businesses leaving America.

I view Trump as all that is wrong with America.

Tippy Gnu - October 1, 2016

But the jokes! Think about all the great jokes!

William D'Andrea - October 1, 2016

I view both candidates that way. All that’s wrong comes from many directions.

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

The jokes are tempting!

Ally Bean - October 2, 2016

Well said, nancy. My thoughts exactly. Also, trippy dream. I’m impressed. My dreams are so much less purposeful.

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

I don’t remember most of my dreams . . . but I got a “kick” out of this one.

On the bright side ~> No matter who wins the election, we can all rejoice that the election ads are at end.

5. Bun Karyudo - October 1, 2016

That was an interesting dream. Personally, I hope Donald Trump is given the boot in November.

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

I thought he might drop out of the race . . . trying to save face by claiming that the election was rigged.

Every morning I hope to see that headline!

Bun Karyudo - October 1, 2016

Me too! πŸ™‚

6. colonialist - October 1, 2016

At least the dream featured Donald only by reference, I detested his innards in that TV show where he displayed all the attributes of a rude and conceited jackass. Nothing he has said or done since has modified my attitude.
Wonder where the shoes come in? A preliminary hint he would get the boot?

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Donald is in a class all his own.

And you might be right about the boots ~ perhaps our collective boots will be used to kick him to the curb come November.

colonialist - October 1, 2016

He is of the uncouth, brash and egotistical type guaranteed to give Americans a bad image, and if he is chosen then the electorate is nearly as stupid as ours was in putting Zuma in power.

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Yup. Yup. And yup.

When he boasted during the debate that his temperament was one of his strongest assets, I howled. The man is delusional.

7. diannegray - October 1, 2016

I hope your dad is right, Nancy. I read the other day that Stephen King said the only thing that scares him to death is Trump winning πŸ˜€

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Haha! That’s great. Nothing like a horror writer SHINING the spotlight on the situation. What MISERY.

8. Under the Oaks - October 1, 2016

What Kate said… πŸ˜€

nrhatch - October 1, 2016

Yup. Trump winning => S~C~A~R~Y!

9. Debra - October 1, 2016

Now that’s an interesting dream, Nancy! I love the quote. And as for November…I keep trying to remind myself that it is not the end of the road. But S-C-A-R-Y….yes, indeed!!

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

I never expected Trump to make it this far, sure that he’d be shuttled to the sidelines in short order.

Alas, some people have bought into his rhetoric and see him as a savior . . . despite his bad behavior.

10. Behind the Story - October 2, 2016

I loved “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.” Great quote. I hope your dad is right. He wasn’t eager to step into an argument between you and your mom, but he was kind enough to give you a sage prediction of the future.

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

Dad wisely side-stepped the differing perspectives and POV’s offered by me and mom. Fingers crossed, his prediction is correct.

11. Piglet in Portugal - October 2, 2016

I don’t envy you guys having to choose between either.

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

We don’t have to choose between them. For the past 4-5 elections, I refused to vote Republican or Democrat ~> instead, I voted for the “Green” or “Libertarian” candidate.

This year, perhaps I’ll write in a candidate more to my liking ~ like, say, “Piglet in Portugal.” πŸ˜‰

Piglet in Portugal - October 2, 2016

Well, I am certainly ‘green’ when it comes to American politics! πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

Lucky PiP!

12. Val Boyko - October 2, 2016

I do love that quote! I’m with your Dad. A greater power knows it cannot happen πŸ’›

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

Here’s to hanging on to that thought . . . and the peace of mind it offers.

BTW: I couldn’t resist applying the thoughts in your last post to Trump ~> I’ll do my best to remain curious, not judgmental, about him. He, like each of us, just wants to be loved.

Val Boyko - October 2, 2016

it’s a challenge Nancy.. πŸ™ƒ

13. mybeautfulthings - October 2, 2016

Brilliant! I so hope that your Dad is right…. and I love that last quotation. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

Me too! It’s a great quote for putting our mind at ease.

14. Tiny - October 2, 2016

I wish for a similar dream tonight. Would be uplifting πŸ˜ƒ

nrhatch - October 2, 2016

Sweet dreams!

15. Tammy - October 4, 2016

Ahhhh. That is better!

nrhatch - October 4, 2016

Here’s to maintaining a peaceful easy feeling!


What Say YOU?

