jump to navigation

Sock Hop & Classic Cars September 21, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Music & Dance, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Goodwill launched the 2016 Giving Challenge by hosting a Sock Hop at the Classic Car Museum.

sock-hop

We went and had a fun time touring the touring cars.

2016-09-13-18-44-38_0020

And planning our next Picnic Trip in this . . .

2016-09-13-18-42-59_0017

We drank Chocolate Malts from Culvers, admired the themed napkins . . .

2016-09-13-17-28-57_0015

And nibbled on nibbles . . .

2016-09-13-17-28-46_0014

After the Pink Ladies danced to taped versions of “The Theme from Happy Days” and “You’re The One That I Want” (from Grease), the band took the stage.

2016-09-13-17-25-31_0012

2016-09-13-17-24-47_0010

Even though BFF and I are not keen on music from the 50’s, we got ready to “Rock Around The Clock.”

Mickey-OKWe lucked out . . . the band didn’t know any songs from the 50’s!

Instead, they played classic rock, including: “I Love Rock & Roll,” “Baby, Hold On To Me,” “No Time,” “Hit Me With Your Best Shot,” and some Dave Matthews.

Aah . . . that’s better!

If you play this video . . . that’s me 33 seconds in commenting on Paris Hilton’s absence:

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 21, 2016

What fun! I’ve always loved the music from the 1950’s…and those poodle skirts.

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

One of the Goodwill Ambassadors had on a Poodle Skirt and Saddle Shoes.

2. Rainee - September 21, 2016

Fun to hear your voice Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

Thanks, Rainee. I saw this video in Goodwill’s reminder about the Giving Challenge. I cracked up when I heard my voice from the back of the room.

3. Bun Karyudo - September 21, 2016

Nice to hear your voice! Incidentally, as a boy, I had a toy car just like the red one in the picture and I’d forgotten all about it for forty-five or so years until I saw this post! 🙂

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

Cool that this brought back memories of your red car ~ our memories are amazing . . . even if they require occasional prompts..

Bun Karyudo - September 21, 2016

They really are amazing. 🙂

4. Under the Oaks - September 21, 2016

Good on the classic rock and the FOOD looks munchable! Love the black drop top with the red seats! Nice seeing BFF!

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

Have you and CH ever visited the Classic Car Museum? It’s on Tamiami Trail, just north of Sarasota. We’ve been once before and enjoyed the chance to take another tour of the touring cars.

Beep. Beep.

5. Kate Crimmins - September 21, 2016

Pretty cool. We have a car museum locally and my husband enjoys taking visitors through. I never wore saddle shoes when I was a kid (penny loafers were my style) but I did have a pair when I was in my 40s. They were sneakers styled like saddle shoes but that counts.

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

I had penny loafers too. But I wanted a pair of saddle shoes.

6. anotherday2paradise - September 21, 2016

Looks like a great event, Nancy. Loved hearing your voice piping up there. 🙂 The napkins are so cool and the cars are just awesome.

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

Fun evening. Glad you enjoyed my “pipes.”

7. Tippy Gnu - September 21, 2016

From the looks of those cars, I would think Big Band would be the music played. I wouldn’t mind taking one of that jalopy to a picnic, myself.

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

That would be a fun car for a Sunday drive and picnic!

8. Ally Bean - September 21, 2016

Neato! Of course, any event with a chocolate malt shake would be fun.

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

And, when we were leaving, they handed us 3 shakes to take home with us for “later.”

9. suzicate - September 22, 2016

I’ve never been to a sock hop…I want to go! Looks like fun!

nrhatch - September 22, 2016

Sock hops were a bit before our time too . . . but we did have school dances which I loved.

10. diannegray - September 22, 2016

Great post and I loved hearing your voice Nancy! 😀

nrhatch - September 22, 2016

Thanks, Dianne. I didn’t know they were recording the spiel or I (probably) would have remained quiet.

When Goodwill sent this video as a reminder about the Giving Challenge, I listened in . . . and cracked up when I heard my voice from the back of the room.

11. L. Marie - September 22, 2016

I had to laugh at your comment, Nancy! It was nice to hear your voice. What a lovely event! I’m not a big fan of 50s music either. I would have loved the classic rock!

nrhatch - September 22, 2016

Thanks! Some 50’s music is OK, but 70’s music makes me feel like a “teen” again . . .

12. Tiny - September 23, 2016

Sounds and looks like an enjoyable event, Nancy! The food looks delicious and you got some laughs there 😀

nrhatch - September 23, 2016

When he asked, “How many of you are working or have ever held a job?,” I’m sure he expected every hand to go up.

That made me think ~> “Good thing Paris Hilton isn’t here.”

13. roughwighting - September 24, 2016

I heard you! Thank GOODNESS Paris Hilton wasn’t there. :-0 I’m with you, I prefer songs from the 60s rather than the 50s.

nrhatch - September 24, 2016

I know, right! I would have been horrified to find she WAS in attendance and planned to make an ENORMOUS charitable contribution to Goodwill until my ill-advised utterance. 😉

14. Debra - September 28, 2016

What a fun event! I am not as influenced by the music of the 50’s either, but I’m totally amused that for a sock hop the band didn’t know the era. I would enjoy everything about this evening, I’m sure–starting with the malts! And I’m in total agreement with your Paris Hilton statement. You were spot on! 🙂

nrhatch - September 28, 2016

The band’s playlist added to the fun of the evening, for us anyway. And Paris Hilton’s absence didn’t detract. 😉


What Say YOU?

