jump to navigation

EASY Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies September 19, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Less IS More, Vegetarian Recipes.
trackback

Mickey-Ta-DaaaHere’s a quick and easy recipe for a healthy and portable breakfast treat.

Mash 2 ripe bananas.  Stir in one cup of Quick Oats.  Add a pinch of spice ~ cinnamon, ginger, allspice, apple pie spice, or your fave.

Add other items of interest (e.g., coconut, raisins, chocolate chips, dried cherries, nuts, sunflower seeds, etc.).

I didn’t have coconut or chocolate chips . . . so I chopped up a couple of miniature Almond Joy chocolate bars.   Yum!  

Spoon onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

2016-08-29-07-50-02_0004

Aah . . . that’s easy!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 19, 2016

Yum! The breakfast of champions!

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

Easiest “cookies” ever!

2. Kate Crimmins - September 19, 2016

A breakfast cookie with Almond Joy? You rock!

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

My motto/mantra: Do what you can . . . with what you have . . . where you are! 😀

I love the versatility of this recipe. No fuss. No muss. And the banana really held everything together.

3. Tippy Gnu - September 19, 2016

I notice you didn’t include any refined sugar. Sweets made without refined sugar are the best kind, in my view.

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

The almond joy might have had a tad of refined sugar. 😉

But I was anxious to see if the recipe worked. It’ll be fun to experiment with different add ins.

4. Bun Karyudo - September 19, 2016

Looks good. I love snacks made with oats. 🙂

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

And these are portable! Perfect for nibbling while pondering puddles.

5. Under the Oaks - September 19, 2016

Love the idea of chopping up a candy bar. CH would be very happy with an oatmeal snickers breakfast cookie!

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

These would be delicious with Snickers ~> Snickers Snackers!

6. brickhousechick - September 19, 2016

MMMmmmm! Yo quiero!! 😎

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

Yay! These are super quick to make & healthy to eat (unless you overdo it on the mix-ins).

7. L. Marie - September 19, 2016

Wow! Easy cookies! Love that! I love anything with Quaker Oats. 🙂

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

Me too! Oatcakes, Oatmeal Bread, Oatmeal Raisin cookies, and now Oatmeal Breakfast cookies.

8. Charlie@Seattle Trekker - September 19, 2016

Fabulous suggestion, I will put this together to try tomorrow morning.

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

Yay! Hope they’re a hit. Have fun choosing your mix-ins . . .

9. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - September 19, 2016

Sounds good and look good 🙂

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

Cool! Let’s just hope you hung on to your banana masher. 😉

Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - September 19, 2016

There is such a thing? 😉

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

No doubt. But I use a fork. :mrgreen:

10. anotherday2paradise - September 19, 2016

Sounds great, Nancy. Oats are good for you. 🙂

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

I wondered whether the banana would be enough to moisten the oats and hold the cookies together . . . but it worked great.

anotherday2paradise - September 19, 2016

I love when a plan comes together. 👍

11. Behind the Story - September 19, 2016

It sounds delicious. I’m a big snacker, always looking for something tasty and healthy.

nrhatch - September 19, 2016

These sound like they are right up your alley, Nicki.

12. Eileen - September 19, 2016

Sounds delightful. What seasoning might go well with some dried cranberries?

nrhatch - September 20, 2016

I just looked at a recipe for cranberry nut bread ~> cinnamon and orange zest and walnuts would pair well.

13. Barb - September 20, 2016

Wow, so easy to do, and they must be so tasty. I have 3 bananas ripening begging to be used quickly, so I’m going to make some tomorrow. Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - September 20, 2016

Yay! I used to make banana bread if bananas needed using. Now this will be my go to recipe.

Barb - September 20, 2016

Nancy, I’ve just made them and put them in the oven! Warm cookies and coffee coming up!

nrhatch - September 20, 2016

Excellent! Hope you enjoy them, Barb.

14. Ally Bean - September 20, 2016

You’re channeling my mother, aren’t you? This was her kind of healthy recipe! I adore oatmeal, so will give this a try… even if I don’t have any Almond Joys around. 🙂

nrhatch - September 20, 2016

I almost didn’t make them because I didn’t have chocolate chips or coconut . . . then I remembered our Secret Stash of Almond Joys.

15. Debra - September 21, 2016

What a great way to use up bananas! I almost always have one or two past their prime! I think I may need to make these in the morning. They’re calling my name. 🙂

nrhatch - September 21, 2016

Barb made some to go with her coffee. Haven’t heard yet what she thought . . . other than that they are EASY to mix up and toss in the oven.

Let me know if you enjoyed them.

16. Tiny - September 23, 2016

Yum and sounds easy enough for me 🙂

nrhatch - September 23, 2016

I’m not much for baking since I don’t enjoy following recipes “to the letter.” Other than measuring the oats, everything else got eye-balled. Easy!

Tiny - September 23, 2016

All that goes for me too …therefore I will probably try this!

nrhatch - September 23, 2016

Enjoy!

17. NancyTex - September 25, 2016

Thanks for sharing!

nrhatch - September 25, 2016

These would travel well on one of your hiking treks. Hope your heart rate and BP have returned to a normal keel.

NancyTex - September 25, 2016

Thanks Nancy.


What Say YOU?

