jump to navigation

A Two Hour Long Infomercial September 15, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Meditation, People.
trackback

Mickey-DiverI tuned in for Craig Hamilton’s webinar on Tuesday night, fifteen minutes before the scheduled start time.

Lovely music played.  I focused on my breathing and relaxed into the Now.

Just going with the flow.

The music stopped.  And . . . NOTHING happened.

I refreshed the page and got a message saying that due to the vast numbers of unenlightened beings trying to listen in, the server had crashed.

No worries.

The what is, is.

Mickey-SurferI decided to look around his website.

Turns out he’s offering a 12-week course in Direct Enlightenment for $547!

That gleaned intel provided the only “A Ha!” moment of the evening.   Although, to be honest, it might have been more of a “Ha Ha” moment.

I tried again to join the webinar to see what he had to say.

Success!  (In a manner of speaking.)

I managed to grab a seat at 9:27 pm and listened to Craig speak in a hushed monotonous monochromatic monotone for the next 90 minutes.

It took him that long to say absolutely nothing.  Then say it again.

I was not impressed with the information he conveyed . . . or the hypnotic, sleep-inducing manner in which he conveyed it.

Mickey-LoungingBottom Line:  I’m not signing up to take his 12 week course for $547.

Sitting through one 2-hour infomercial was more than enough for me.

I think I’ve seen the light!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 15, 2016

I’m with you, Nancy…no thank you! Thanks for the follow-up.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

As he began his Direct Spiel for the 12-week Direct Awakening program, he said that, on two separate occasions, he spent 15 minutes leading a practice of Direct Awakening with a group of meditation teachers and gurus “whose names and faces you would recognize” ~> at the end of 15 minutes they all said “WOW! That was the MOST profound meditative session EVA.”

My thoughts on that anecdote:

* Why didn’t he do something “WOW” like that with those who tuned in for the webinar?

* Why a 12-week course? Why not a series of 15 minute “WOW” experiences?

* How can he justify charging $547 for something he could lead us through in 15 minutes?

2. Under the Oaks - September 15, 2016

Yes, thanks for the heads up Nancy. This might be a good time to thank you for all the information, encouragement, and solid help I get right here from SLTW. I come here when I am feeling bad and sad, happy, need a refresher, or just want to read or learn something new. I use your search feature and your Top Clicks. Thank you!

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

Thanks, Pix. That search feature rocks! I used to have “stuff” (thoughts, insights, helpful practices, notes, etc.) all over the place ~ in notebooks, on post-its, on the computer, etc. Over time, more and more of those extraneous thoughts have made it into posts which I can (usually) find with a few key strokes.

Like you, I need frequent refreshers.

3. Val Boyko - September 15, 2016

It is clear you have awakened already Nancy. Awakened to reality! 😄 I am so glad you didn’t drink the Kool-aid. Hugs to you 💛

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

Meditation rocks!
The inward journey pays dividends.

And we don’t have to pay $547 to reap its rewards.

Thanks for the heads up about Mr. Hamilton. I tuned into the infomercial without any expectations . . . so I wasn’t disappointed.

Val Boyko - September 15, 2016

It does make me wonder about how the younger folks need to find the center and essence of life. In a way we were lucky to have clear rules and boundaries within which we could explore and expand what it meant.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

I was about to ask why you haven’t been posting. But first I swung round to your blog to see your last post. ACK! Turns out, you’ve been posting all along and I got unsubscribed somehow. I scrolled back and the last post I recognized was 6/21 . . . I got some catch up reading to do this weekend.

4. Tippy Gnu - September 15, 2016

I’m too cheap to pay for enlightenment. On the other hand, you managed to stay awake for those 90 minutes. So that might say something about his mystic “awakening” powers.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

Well . . . I might have stayed awake by multi-tasking.

I had planned to “take notes” on Mr. Hamilton’s insights. Since they were few and far between, I jotted down insights as they arose in my own mind. 😉

Tippy Gnu - September 15, 2016

Good idea.

5. William D'Andrea - September 15, 2016

It’s possible that he was presenting a cure for insomnia, for free.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

Ha! If I had climbed into bed while listening, I would have been out like a light!

6. Tiny - September 15, 2016

Phew. I didn’t miss anything then, tried to tune in just around 9 and gave up. Monotone monochromatic shushing would have put me to sleep in no time.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

I enjoy listening to speakers who are animated about the topic under discussion, infusing life and energy into each insight (without emulating the constant drone of bees making honey).

The only time Craig got “enthusiastic” and “pumped up” was when he said that certain (unidentified) people told him he should charge $2000 for the course . . . but since he was a “spiritual teacher” he wanted to keep it affordable for everyone.

I got a kick out of that! 😉

Tiny - September 15, 2016

Now I’m smiling!

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

A “priceless” comment!

7. Kate Crimmins - September 15, 2016

I’m amazed you lasted as long as you did. I’m sure I would have been dozing.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

The humor of the situation kept me awake.

Once I saw where he was headed (selling his course), I wanted to see how he would maneuver from mastering the art of Direct Enlightenment & Awakening to . . . Direct Enrichment of his wallet via easy payment plans.

Kate Crimmins - September 15, 2016

You are such a patient person.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

I am patient . . . most of the time. When boredom looms on the horizon, my muse amuses me. She is endlessly entertaining.

8. suzicate - September 15, 2016

I give you kudos for getting through two entire hours of it, can’t say I’d have made it that long!

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

If I hadn’t done the post about it last week, I would have exited stage left much sooner. But I decided to stick it out to see where he was going . . . in case anyone asked about it.

Had a few laughs along the way when I saw his “hidden agenda” materialize from the mist.

suzicate - September 15, 2016

I’ve almost done a few of those things and immediately found out “free” has an agenda!

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

I confess to not being too surprised when I saw the 12-week course offering . . . most “self help” gurus are interested in helping themselves first and foremost.

9. Don - September 15, 2016

I also started listening some time ago, Nancy, but just let go of it. Nothing there I’m afraid.

nrhatch - September 15, 2016

I’m not sure I follow you . . . do you mean you listened to Craig Hamilton some time ago and tuned him out?

Don - September 16, 2016

Let’s put it this way, Nancy, I listen to him with a far deeper sense of discernment.

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

Gotcha. He does seem more fluff than stuff.

10. Debra - September 16, 2016

Ouch! That’s an exorbitant price for peddling enlightenment! Seems like his business strategies would be greatly improved if he took a course in public speaking. I’ll bet he could could a good course for well under his going price!

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

Ha! That’s what I was thinking . . . why hasn’t someone told him that his public speaking skills are not up to snuff?

Perhaps it’s a bit like the Emperor’s New Clothes . . . everyone’s afraid to admit that they haven’t gleaned what he’s whispering about.

11. Ally Bean - September 16, 2016

I used to take a yoga class with an instructor who did the same sort of infomercial crap for most of the class. Hushed voice, dramatic intimations of deeper understanding if… you bought her books/CDs/weekend classes. I stopped taking her class because I decided I’d learned enough already. Sounds like you ended up in the same place.

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

OMG . . . yes! That’s the perfect description of his presentation style ~ hushed voice and dramatic intimation of more in store.

With about as much credibility as the side show barker at a circus.

Ally Bean - September 16, 2016

lol!

12. roughwighting - September 16, 2016

This is why I’ve stopped trying to listen to webinars. I haven’t found one that isn’t trying to sell something – I feel patronized and wonder: do they really think I’m that stupid? I guess they do, but I’m not ‘buying’ into it.

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

Yes! I feel the same about podcasts, Pam.

I’d much rather receive information in written form (Go Writers!) so that I can skim until something resonates or interests me.

roughwighting - September 18, 2016

Exactly – podcasts are off my list too. I have a ‘thing’ about listening to something (this happens on the radio too, when commercials come on) where I feel that I’m being dictated to and can’t escape the words – almost like a sci fi thing where a ‘voice’ is entering my brain via my ears and I won’t be able to delete it. But if I’m reading something, I easily close the book/article and turn away. ;-0

nrhatch - September 18, 2016

Most speakers (youtube, lectures, podcasts, webinars) take too long to get to the point and take far too many detours.

The digressions get tedious.

In contrast, if a book is edited well, all the fluff and stuff has been whittled away.

13. diannegray - September 16, 2016

Thanks for the update, Nancy. It beats me how people can try and make money out of something like this. I wonder how many decided to fork out the $547. I love your A Ha moment turning into a haha moment 😀

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

If all 48,000 people who signed up managed to tune in (without tuning him out) and if they were unenlightened enough to fork over $547 for his course . . . then he raked in $26,256,000! *

Not bad for sitting in a booth saying next to nothing for 2 hours.

* Actual numbers may vary. 😉

diannegray - September 16, 2016

Wow – I want a gig like that! 😀

nrhatch - September 16, 2016

Yes! Not a bad gig for those prone to pretense and pretentiousness.

You may lack the necessary prerequisites. 😉

14. Bun Karyudo - September 17, 2016

Much as I’m sure I’d love to be integrally enlightened, $547 is more than I’m prepared to pay for just about anything these days. 🙂

nrhatch - September 17, 2016

But this is not $547 for “just about anything” . . . it’s $547 for “just about nothing.”

Bun Karyudo - September 17, 2016

Well, that would mean I’d definitely have room for it at home. Hmm.. despite the wonderful sales job you’re doing on its behalf, I’m afraid still reluctant.

Bun Karyudo - September 17, 2016

See how shocked I was at the thought of spending all that money! In my terror, I wrote “it’s” instead of “its.”

nrhatch - September 17, 2016

All fixed! Please accept my apology for shocking you into grammatical incorrectness.


What Say YOU?

