jump to navigation

The Stunning Health Benefits of Meditation September 7, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Mickey-Ta-DaaaA friend sent me this e-mail about an upcoming on-line meditation workshop which might interest some of you:

Hi Friend,

Millions of people are taking a step back from the hectic stresses of life and finding a new peace and poise through the practice of mindfulness.

And now scientific studies are discovering that meditation can have profound health benefits. It’s been found to ease chronic pain, anxiety, and stress, and to improve heart health, boost mood and immunity, and even to help resolve infertility problems.

It seems that any condition that’s caused or worsened by stress can be helped through meditation.

There’s scientific evidence showing how meditation works, too. In people who are meditating, brain scans (brain MRIs) have shown an increase in activity in areas that control metabolism and heart rate. Other studies on Buddhist monks have shown that meditation produces long-lasting positive changes in brain activity in those areas involved in attention, working memory, learning, and conscious perception.

As if that wasn’t enough, studies have found that meditation can help to decrease metabolism, lower blood pressure, and improve heart rate, breathing, and brain waves.

If you’re interested in putting the healing power of meditation to work in your life, you might want to check out a free workshop from my friend and colleague, Craig Hamilton.

Craig has taught medication practices to tens of thousands of people around the world. In this complimentary workshop, he’ll share breakthroughs in meditation research – and how you can apply them for maximal benefit in your life.

Find out more and sign up here.

Yours for peace and wellness,

Ocean Robbins

Mickey-DancingThis FREE 75-minute Global Online Event with Craig Hamilton is scheduled for Tuesday, September 13th, at 6:00 PM US Pacific, 9:00 Eastern.

There is no charge to attend this event. Simply enter your first name and email address to register.

Find out more and sign up here.

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 7, 2016

Thanks for sharing, Nancy! Do you know if we’d have access to the event after the specific time? I go to be before 9:00 pm! 🙂

nrhatch - September 7, 2016

I don’t know, Jill. But in this day and age, I expect there will be a way to access the presentation later.

I am registered and plan to tune in for the start of the webinar. If it’s interesting, I’ll listen to it all. If it sounds like an infomercial, I may tune out and turn it off. If I hear about a link where you can listen in some other time, I’ll pass it along.

2. Tippy Gnu - September 7, 2016

Meditation does seem to help a lot of things. Aside from the health benefits, it seems to bring us back to an awareness of reality.

nrhatch - September 7, 2016

Yes. The more awake and aware we are, the less often we find ourselves (literally or figuratively) running into brick walls.

The practice definitely slows down the ticker tape parade of monkey chatter in our busy brains allowing us to Be Here Now . . . the only place happiness resides.

3. Charlie@Seattle Trekker - September 7, 2016

I recommend meditation to anyone who is willing to have that conversation.

nrhatch - September 7, 2016

It’s a great way to relax, unwind, de-stress, and be more aware.

4. diannegray - September 8, 2016

Sounds great Nancy. I’,m not sure if there is a typo in the last para (Craig has taught “medication” practices to tens of thousands of people) – sorry couldn’t help but notice, must be the editor in me 😀

Are you going? If so, enjoy and let us know how it went xxx

nrhatch - September 8, 2016

Good eye! The bulk of this post is just a “cut and paste” from the e-mail sent by Ocean Robbins. So, if it’s a typo, it’s his typo.

Maybe he meant it like this:

Let food be thy medicine ~> Let meditation be thy medication!

I am signed up for the webinar and shall tune in from the comfort of my own home. If you’re interested, you can check the Global Time Converter to see what time it airs where you are.

diannegray - September 8, 2016

Sounds great, Nancy – I’ll take a look xxx

5. Under the Oaks - September 8, 2016

Sounds interesting. I can’t get the hang of meditating, this would be good to try. Like Jill, I am asleep by 9… 🙂 I’d be wide awake at 3am! I am going to check out your link.

nrhatch - September 8, 2016

Sleeping is ALSO a great de-stressor!

If I find a link so you can listen at a better time, I’ll let you know.

Under the Oaks - September 8, 2016

Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - September 8, 2016

Pix ~ I checked the time zone converter. It will be on at 8 pm in Missouri. An hour earlier than on the east coast.

6. L. Marie - September 8, 2016

Thanks for the info, Nancy. This is a good reminder for me. I tend to dwell on the negative. Meditation makes sense.

nrhatch - September 8, 2016

I’m looking forward to seeing what he has to say. Meditation time is relaxing for me. I always feel better even if all I did was focus on my breath while letting go of the cares of the day.

7. Val Boyko - September 8, 2016

Craig’s online workshops and seminars are usually recorded. He has followed several traditional paths and rejected them to create his own way of bringing mindfulness and the evolution of humanity to thousands of people around the world. He is a practitioner of NLP and has a powerful way of influencing his listeners to his way of thinking.
Meditation is a powerful practice for mind body and spirit. Keep an open mind and listen inwards 💛

nrhatch - September 9, 2016

Thanks, Val. I’ve never heard him (or of him) before.

When you say he has “a powerful way of influencing his listeners to his way of thinking” ~> do you mean he’s a “cult leader” who brainwashes his followers?

If so, I promise NOT to drink the Kool- Aid. 😎

Val Boyko - September 9, 2016

I definitely got a whiff of the Kool-aid from him! There were also a lot of vulnerable people aspiring to feel better about themselves and their lives … Who can be easily lead.
Listen and learn with detachment and you will take away what you need 💛

nrhatch - September 9, 2016

Thanks, Val. Good advice to follow when we don’t want to play Follow the Wrong Leader.

8. Debra - September 9, 2016

I think (or maybe I just hope) that one day meditation will be so generally accepted for the benefits that schools will incorporate practice in the curriculum. Wouldn’t it be incredible to see an entire generation transformed by this enriching practice. I love the medical evidence as well. Thank you for the link…it’s kind of early PST, but I might be able to tune in. 🙂

nrhatch - September 9, 2016

There are some schools (probably in countries more advanced than the U.S.) that incorporate meditation into the curricula. Hope it’s a trend that catches on, because it would be uber beneficial given the onslaught of info tossed our way every day.

Hope you can tune in. I’ll let folks know if there is a link to listen to the webinar at a more convenient time.

9. Tiny - September 10, 2016

Thanks Nancy! This looks like something I will check out on Tuesday.

nrhatch - September 10, 2016

I’m looking forward to seeing what he has to say.

Tiny - September 10, 2016

Me too.


What Say YOU?

