jump to navigation

“I Got Your Dollar Right Here!” August 23, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Joke.
trackback

Donald-Duck-DrivingThere’s an auto insurance commercial that cracks us up ~ a woman receives a good driver rebate and uses it to buy an expensive handbag.

When a friend shopping with her calls out to ask her auto insurer for a rebate, Jerry Van Dyke (or a reasonable facsimile thereof) pops into the scene dressed in hip waders and a fishing vest.

He’s holding a fishing pole with a dollar on the line as “bait” as he calls out . . . “I got your dollar right here!”

When she tries to grab the dollar, he yanks it out of reach.

A few weeks ago, BFF recreated the commercial for my amusement using props from around the house.

2016-07-13 15-15-18_0012

When I walked into the kitchen and saw his “Just For Fun” vignette, I cracked up.

Then I pocketed the dollar.

2016-07-16 10-10-18_0015

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - August 23, 2016

Taking time to set up something that brings such a smile is true love Nancy! I wouldn’t throw this one back 😉

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

He’s a keeper!

2. Under the Oaks - August 23, 2016

Haha! BFF cracks me up!

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

Me too! I shared your comments with him . . . and gave him a High Five!

3. Jill Weatherholt - August 23, 2016

LOL! That’s hilarious!

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

BFF can be quite quiet and unassuming . . . then he’ll come out with a side-splitting one-liner that leaves me in stitches.

4. Kate Crimmins - August 23, 2016

He sure made you laugh!

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

He da man! Sharing life with someone who loves to laugh makes everything better.

5. L. Marie - August 23, 2016

I love that he took the time to set that up!

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

Me too! Being around someone who enjoys hearing us laugh is a good thing . . .

6. suzicate - August 23, 2016

Too funny! Now that was an easy buck!

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

The easiest!

7. anotherday2paradise - August 23, 2016

That’s absolutely hilarious, Nancy. Thanks for the smiles. 🙂

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

I got such a kick out of his efforts . . . couldn’t help but smile.

8. Don - August 23, 2016

Nice touch BFF! Clever and thoughtful fun. I’m coming to you for some lessons.

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

Hey Don! Here’s one of BFF’s tips ~> he writes short notes and inside jokes on the chalk board in the lanai. They often make me laugh out loud. More than once. I am easily amused.

Don - August 23, 2016

I like that, Nancy.

nrhatch - August 23, 2016

Yes! It’s a great way for him to show he’s been thinking about me and his handiwork gives me a chance to let him know that he still knows how to make me smile.

9. Barb - August 23, 2016

The thing that drew me to my hubby was that he could make me laugh; they are keepers Nancy, and I love the fact that BFF must have gone to a lot of trouble to set it up and see your reaction! Can’t beat laughter when shared.

nrhatch - August 24, 2016

You got that right, Barb. I’m glad your hubby makes you laugh.

I can’t imagine living with someone who didn’t share a sense of humor with me ~> laughter lifts us up.

10. philosophermouseofthehedge - August 24, 2016

The zebra’s sunglasses are perfect.
Nothing like a good laugh in the morning

nrhatch - August 24, 2016

Zebras rock . . . especially when they’re sporting sunglasses!

Laughter always gets the day off to a good start.

11. Tiny - August 24, 2016

Commercials can be fun, particularly if they are home-made and not “delivery” 🙂

nrhatch - August 24, 2016

Yes! Most commercials are tuned out by us . . . unless something about them makes us laugh.

12. colonialist - August 24, 2016

I would have pocketed the cash — and THEN cracked up!

nrhatch - August 24, 2016

Haha! A day older and a dollar richer!

13. diannegray - August 25, 2016

Wonderful, Nancy – you’re a winner all round! 😀

nrhatch - August 26, 2016

Ha! I lucked out in the BFF department, that’s for sure.

14. Debra - August 26, 2016

I’ve not seen the commercial but it does sound amusing! It’s so good to have laughter in a home, so good for BFF for adding in some inside humor! Love it!

nrhatch - August 26, 2016

Laughter is the best . . . it lightens our load.


What Say YOU?

