jump to navigation

No Need To Reply August 9, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Less IS More, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

IMGP3881A few weeks ago someone said something “unkind” to me.

I had no idea why.

As I pondered her comment, I realized I didn’t need to reply.

So I didn’t.

I just looked at her.
Until she slunk away.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  Stolen Quote: Silence (Chasing Unicorns)

* * *

If you enjoy quotes (stolen or otherwise), check out Chasing Unicorns ~> Tippy Gnu steals quotes to share . . . after adding a humorous twist or cynical tweak.

Comments»

1. L. Marie - August 9, 2016

Sometimes silence is the best reply!

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Yes! And it’s such an easy tool to put into practice.

2. joannesisco - August 9, 2016

Just looking at her was a great reply! 🙂

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Worked like a charm . . . and she didn’t have to wonder whether I heard her or not.

3. Jill Weatherholt - August 9, 2016

You certainly don’t deserve that, Nancy. Ignoring her rude comment was the best way to handle it. Mean people stink!

Jill Weatherholt - August 9, 2016

I just got this quote in my email…perhaps you can share it with your “friend.”
Kind words do not cost much. Yet they accomplish much. ~ Blaise Pascal

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Her comment surprised me until I remembered she’s one of the “Gilmore Girls” who hang out at the pool and gossip about anything that moves. She gets a lot of practice being unkind.

Love the quote. Kindness echoes.

Jill Weatherholt - August 9, 2016

‘Gilmore Girls’…LOL! Doesn’t she realize, the people she gossips with, are gossiping about her when she’s not around? Oh brother!

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

They do! They often make “snide” comments about each other to anyone who will listen . . .

It’s amusing and sad in equal measure.

4. Morgan - August 9, 2016

That old saying “sticks and stones” is so wrong, but demonstrating silence in non-response shows your strength in the face of blunt weakness. Stand strong and proud of who you are 🙂

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

What do “they” know about the path I’m on?

Morgan - August 9, 2016

Precisely 🙂

5. NancyTex - August 9, 2016

What a brilliant move! I’ve got to remember that for my next encounter with a meanie.

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Hi NT! Long time no see. I’ve missed seeing you around here, there, and everywhere.

Her reaction to my silence was priceless ~> she wanted to get into an argument but I took away all her ammunition! Another way I’ve precluded further discussion is with . . . “Duly noted.”

JOriginal Muse - August 9, 2016

“Duly noted”… That’s my line…! Wish I would have remembered that yesterday and the day before when I got unkind words from two different people 🙄

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

“Duly noted” is great to have in your “tool belt” when dealing with “opinionated people.”

The silent stare also works well. 😯

6. suzicate - August 9, 2016

Great response; I will remember no response (with eye contact) is sometimes the best response. Sadly, there are many people like her who try to make themselves feel better by making someone else feel badly.

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

At first, remaining silent wasn’t a conscious decision. I just didn’t know what to say. And then I realized I didn’t have to say a thing.

7. anotherday2paradise - August 9, 2016

Brilliant response, Nancy. That must have taken the wind out of her sails. 😀

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Silence = a very effective tactic when we wish to “disengage.”

anotherday2paradise - August 9, 2016

Absolutely, because there’s no repartee to silence. 😃

8. Kate Crimmins - August 9, 2016

So much better than engaging. That never works anyway.

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

Exactly right. Sometimes the best “defense” is silence.

9. Barb - August 9, 2016

Great response Nancy! Quite often, silence says it louder than words can ever express and is so much more effective.

nrhatch - August 9, 2016

If I had said anything, she would have been thinking how to respond to me . . . instead of evaluating what she had said.

In this situation, silence was the best response.

10. Debra - August 10, 2016

It takes a lot of inner strength not to retaliate when someone is deliberately rude or unkind, Nancy. To respond in silence was really excellent. I’m glad you shared your story, and you set a good example. 🙂

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

Tippy Gnu reminded me of the incident with his Stolen Quote post ~> silence can be quite effective . . . especially when one is at a complete loss for words.

11. sufilight - August 10, 2016

Good response! Sometimes, silence speaks louder than words.

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

Her comment caught me by surprise. I thought I must have heard her wrong. Then I wondered “why” she’d said what she said. By the time I began considering an appropriate response, l I realized I didn’t HAVE to respond at all.

After all, it was only her “unsubstantiated opinion.”

sufilight - August 12, 2016

I shared this quote on Facebook and thought of you: Self-control is strength. Right thought is mastery. Calmness is power.- James Allen

nrhatch - August 12, 2016

Love it! Calmness IS power ~ we are no longer shaken by the slightest breeze.

Thanks for thinking of me and sharing it here, Marie.

12. Bun Karyudo - August 10, 2016

Good, it sounds like you found a perfect way to deal with the situation. 🙂

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

Silence works great . . .
Especially when a “quick comeback” arrives too late.

13. Under the Oaks - August 10, 2016

A friend of mine told me a few years back that no reply is a reply. I follow a 24/7 kitten/cat rescue on Livestream and it has a chat. The chat has the worse case of the feeling I used to get in the high school cafeteria where the mean girls made you feel terrible if you were at the wrong table! I am sorry it happened Nancy but great response. I am tucking away “duly noted” for future unkind behavior.

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

This was just like that, Pix!

She (and the rest of the Gilmore Girls) act like they are still in High School . . . even though they’re all in their 50’s and 60’s. (Or older.)

“Duly noted” is purrfect when responding to Catty McCats!

14. earnestlydebra - August 10, 2016

LOVE IT!

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

Yay! Thanks for your concurrence.

15. Tippy Gnu - August 10, 2016

Thanks for the plug! Now that I have your support, I’m sure I’ll become rich and famous in no time.

nrhatch - August 10, 2016

All part of the master plan! I’ve been enjoying your Stolen Quotes and parallel commentary.

16. livelytwist - August 20, 2016

Excellent response!

nrhatch - August 20, 2016

Silence can be an extremely effective tool.

When I was a kid, there was a show about a talking horse, Mr Ed. In the theme song, some pertinent lines:

“People yakkity yak a streak and waste your time of day . . .
but Mr. Ed will never speak unless he has something to say”


What Say YOU?

