jump to navigation

10 Weird & Wonderful Museums July 27, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Art & Photography, Humor, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

If you’re taking a road trip this summer and need to get out and stretch your legs or rid yourself of pesky “numb butt” . . . here’s a list of wild and wacky sites to see:

10 Weird Museums Worth Stopping For (Allstate)

So, what’s on the list?

Everything from Bad Art (Boston) to Bananas (Mecca, CA)

From Dummies (Kentucky) to Einstein’s Brain (Philadelphia)

From Superman capes (Illinois) to Toy & Action Figures (Oklahoma)

From Funeral History (Houston) to Matchstick Marvels (Iowa)

From Aprons (Mississippi) to Potatoes (Idaho)

IMGP3283b

Aah . . . that’s better!

Do you enjoy the weird and the wonderful?  The wild and the wacky?  Are any of these ten sites calling YOUR name?

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - July 27, 2016

Toys and action figures sounds like fun, but then again, those French fries look good too.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Toy and Action figures => right up Linda’s alley.

The Matchstick Marvels is my fave ~> amazing miniatures of Notre Dame, Eiffel Tower, Hogwart’s, etc., re-created from matchsticks.

Jill Weatherholt - July 27, 2016

I thought of Linda when I read that, Nancy. Perhaps we can all go together. 🙂

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

There’s an idea! A blogging road trip.

2. Under the Oaks - July 27, 2016

I’m not much for doing museum type stuff… just give me the ocean or a lake and let me zone out 🙂

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Just back from the beach, Pix. We enjoyed a nice walk, found a cool shell, and watched teeny tiny crabbies burying themselves in the sand. Bliss!

Under the Oaks - July 27, 2016

Sigh. Sounds wonderful, Nancy. We love the teeny tiny crabbies.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you and CH will make it down here this year.

3. Tammy - July 27, 2016

I’d visit them all.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

I love making quirky stops on road trips to break up the miles.

4. Val Boyko - July 27, 2016

Only in America …. 😎

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

We’re quirky!

Val Boyko - July 27, 2016

🇺🇸🐸🇺🇸

5. Tippy Gnu - July 27, 2016

Of course. I like anything wild and wacky. One of my favorites is the Mob Museum in Las Vegas.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Good one. And Vegas also boasts the Neon Graveyard!

Tippy Gnu - July 27, 2016

Never been to that one, but it sounds intriguing.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Visitors can attend the Boneyard Ball this fall or do Hot Yoga amid the neon signage this summer:

http://www.neonmuseum.org/happenings

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

And for those who want to wander the Mob Museum (which looks so cool):

http://themobmuseum.org/inside-the-mob-museum/

6. earnestlydebra - July 27, 2016

In Kansas even a ball of string can get a following, but my favorite is Big Brutus – you can’t even imagine how it looks towering over the treeline – hard to fathom of the scale. https://www.kansassampler.org/8wonders/8wondersofkansas-view.php?id=20

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Awesome! Big Brutus is a B~I~G one! Thanks for the link.

earnestlydebra - July 27, 2016

It’s crazy – they hang Christmas lights on the thing.

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Ha! Christmas lights and a HUGE wreath!

7. suzicate - July 27, 2016

Now, those are some odd “artifacts”…think I’ll stick to the hiking trail though those fries look great!

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Nature walks are the best . . . but we love stuff like this when we want a quick pit stop to “shake off the road.”

8. anotherday2paradise - July 27, 2016

Those French fries are definitely calling my name. 🙂

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

They were delicious!

9. Ally Bean - July 28, 2016

The National Mustard Museum in Wisconsin is quite something. Been there. Made me wonder about people with a lot time on their hands. 0.o

nrhatch - July 28, 2016

I’d go to the Mustard Museum . . . as long as they serve big fat Bavarian pretzels and beer too!

Oompah!

10. Bun Karyudo - July 28, 2016

These all sound pretty good, but where’s the paper bag museum?

nrhatch - July 28, 2016

There’s a business opportunity just waiting for YOU!

Bun Karyudo - July 28, 2016

Hey, good point! 🙂

nrhatch - July 29, 2016

If Paper Bags aren’t a broad enough topic (or a strong enough draw) consider branching out to include all things paper ~> paper mache, pinatas, paper airplanes, origami, chewing gum wrappers, maps, things that people can leaf through, etc.

It’s going to be a winner!

11. L. Marie - July 28, 2016

I love a quirky museum! Will have to pass this list on to the travelers I know. Hope to someday visit them myself!

nrhatch - July 28, 2016

Jill and I both thought of you when we saw the Toy & Action Figures museum on the list.

12. diannegray - July 29, 2016

I love anything wild and wacky and these look like they all deserve at least one visit (for the bucket list) 😀

nrhatch - July 29, 2016

For the next time you’re in the States with time on your hands!

13. Behind the Story - July 29, 2016

I’ll pass on bad art. There’s too much good art to see. Bananas might be interesting, especially if they give out samples. I’m fascinated by the varieties of bananas, the way new plants grow up from the old, the number of banana hands that grow on a single plant.

A funeral history museum isn’t a popular choice, but I’ll bet it has lots of new and interesting things to show us.

nrhatch - July 29, 2016

The banana museum celebrates all things banana ~ with style and kitsch. Some museums are more interesting than others, but I always seem to get “value” from a visit.

14. Debra - August 1, 2016

I do love these weird and wonderful sites across the nation! I find them amusing and oddly intriguing. I recently added one to my list that I can reasonably assume I’ll see before too long. Bubble gum alley in San Luis Obispo. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubblegum_Alley Oddly amusing to me. 🙂

nrhatch - August 1, 2016

That is too funny . . . like walking through a tunnel of saliva. At least they steam clean it once a month!

My grandmother used to berate me for saving a single piece of chewed chewing gum overnight. I should have said, “It’s an A`R`T project!”


What Say YOU?

