jump to navigation

The Finger Is Not The Moon July 21, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Magick & Mystery, Meditation, Mindfulness.
trackback

Chinaman-fishingTruth has nothing to do with words.
Truth can be likened to the bright moon in the sky.
Words, in this case, can be likened to a finger.

The finger can point to the moon’s location.
However, the finger is not the moon.

To look at the moon, it is necessary to gaze beyond the finger, right?

The Laughing Hotei

snoopy-&-linus-pumpkin-path“I am a finger pointing at the moon.  Don’t look at me; look at the moon.” ~ The Buddha

“Barn’s burnt down.  Now I can see the moon.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Under the Oaks - July 21, 2016

Brings back memories of my mother telling me I couldn’t see any further than the end of my nose… 😀

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

How short-sighted of her! 😀

Under the Oaks - July 21, 2016

LOL!

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 21, 2016

I remember, as a child, telling my sister the moon looked like a giant fingernail in the sky. 🙂

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

The moon is quite the shape shifter ~ from full orb to silver sliver.

3. Tippy Gnu - July 21, 2016

Which reminds me. I have a physical coming up.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

In case you need any pointers:

brickhousechick - July 21, 2016

Ha,ha,ha!! 🙂

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Isn’t this video a hoot! I’m “howling at the moon” . . . !

4. Kate Crimmins - July 21, 2016

Reminds me of the time my girlfriend’s husband had just enough drinks to moon everyone at their picnic…twice. (I asked for a replay since I missed the first act.) I didn’t want to look beyond the moon.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

His moon eclipsed the picnic!

Kate Crimmins - July 21, 2016

You’re right. I remember nothing else from that picnic.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

I can hear your GF’s hubby now, “My work here is done.”

5. L. Marie - July 21, 2016

The full moon (in the night sky, rather than that video 🙂 )has been lovely!

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Yes! The full moon inspired this post . . . even if the post’s point about fingers pointing at the moon has been eclipsed by the other type of “mooning.”

6. suzicate - July 21, 2016

I enjoy night “mooning” but not the “mooning from behind”. I remember lots of people talking about mooning throughout the teenage (ish) years…can’t say I ever participated in any of that and really not sure I missed much…oh yeah, I might have missed a big lot!

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

I never hung around with mooners . . . but I did date someone who streaked across campus wearing nothing but a ski mask. 😀

suzicate - July 21, 2016

Haha, back in your wilder days!

nrhatch - July 23, 2016

“To be wild again . . . full of fire again ”

7. joannevalentinesimson - July 21, 2016

Good one, Nancy! As a word-lover, this hit home with me.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Yay! Glad you enjoyed “la bella luma.”

8. anotherday2paradise - July 21, 2016

This is wonderful, Nancy. 🙂 Love to see the moon.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Me too! Even when the world seems to be spinning out of control, its presence is a soothing influence.

9. brickhousechick - July 21, 2016

Haven’t been around lately, happy to be mooned upon my return! 🙂

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Haha! This post’s reception took a wicked left turn. Welcome back.

10. Ally Bean - July 21, 2016

My goodness these comments deteriorated to the lowest common denominator quickly… and I’m over the moon with laughter.

nrhatch - July 21, 2016

Haha! Glad to hear that you’re over the moon!

11. diannegray - July 23, 2016

I absolutely love “Barn’s burnt down. Now I can see the moon.” 😀

nrhatch - July 23, 2016

I love that too ~ a reminder that how we view things is ALWAYS a matter of perspective.

12. Debra - July 23, 2016

Wise, wise words…love the quotes!

nrhatch - July 24, 2016

Me too! Another one I like:

No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path. ~ The Buddha

13. Bun Karyudo - July 26, 2016

So that’s what happened to the barn!

nrhatch - July 27, 2016

Yup. Burnt down. Down to the ground. Down to the ground.

Bun Karyudo - July 27, 2016

Alas, poor barn…


What Say YOU?

