jump to navigation

How To Get A Good Night’s Sleep July 13, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Health & Wellness, Humor, Life Balance.
trackback

Grumpy gusDuring the day . . .

* Rise and shine at the same time.

* Get some exercise.

* Cut out afternoon caffeine.

* Limit alcohol.

* Don’t go to bed hungry.  Don’t go to bed stuffed.

220px-Pig_roastbeef

Go to bed at the same time each night . . .

Having a schedule (e.g., 11 – 7) helps your body transition from wake time to sleep time.

As does following a certain routine.

An hour before bedtime . . .

Snoopy5* Turn off the computer, TV, and other tech devices.  No blue lights before light’s out.

* Get things set for the morning ~ put out clothes, plan or pack lunches, set up coffee, etc.

* Let it go.  Put anything circulating or percolating through your mind on your To Do List for tomorrow.

Keep a notepad by your bed for Late Breaking News and Worries.

Follow a bedtime ritual . . .

* Put on your PJ’s.  Dim the lights.  Plump the pillow.

* Turn down the thermostat.

* Do some light stretches, yoga, meditation, visualization.  Write in your journal.

At the Arch

Once in bed . . .

* Don’t read anything too “compelling.”

* Allow your thoughts to settle down.

* Let go of the day’s cares and worries.

Still awake?  

Mickey-In-HammockPractice self-hypnosis ~> Imagine walking down the stairs one step at a time . . . 10 steps . . . counting backwards . . . 9 steps . . . from ten . . .  8 steps . . . to one . . . 7 steps . . . getting . . . 6 steps . . . sleepier . . . 5 steps . . . and sleeper . . . 4 steps . . . with . . . 3 steps . . . each . . . 2 steps . . . one . . .

Aah . . . that’s better!

Do you nod off as soon as your head hits the pillow?  Or does it take time for you to settle down before you head off to the Land of Nod?

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - July 13, 2016

This is why I wake up at 4:00 a.m. on the weekend too. My body clock is set.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

Aah . . . you’re an “early bird” ~ I tend toward “night owl.” But once in awhile I arise before dawn to watch the sun rise.

Jill Weatherholt - July 13, 2016

Definitely…I’m at my day job at 6:00 a.m. 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

That’s an early start time ~ before dawn at certain times of the year.

2. Tippy Gnu - July 13, 2016

I’ve found that sleep methods work very well, for about a week, then they wear off. The best advice I’ve ever read was, “Eat when you are hungry and sleep when you are tired.” I think the Buddha said that.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

Yes. Eat when hungry. Sleep when tired. Respect your hunger. Obey your thirst. It pays to listen to our inner signals and satisfy needs as they arise instead of internalizing external chatter.

If we are happy where we are, pushing, stretching, pulling, tugging, and reaching for the next “brass ring” seems to be both a counter-productive and counter-intuitive practice.

Eat when hungry. Sleep when tired. Move when restless.

Tippy Gnu - July 13, 2016

Seems like sound advice, all around. I especially like “Move when restless.” Much as I enjoy naps, I don’t like them all the time.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

When we are “in tune” with ourselves, we always know the right thing to do . . . NOW.

3. Kate Crimmins - July 13, 2016

I read this twice and no where did I find “eat pizza.” Everyone knows that makes everything better.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

Eat Pizza . . . yes! I don’t know if it will make me sleep better, but it’s what’s for dinner tonight.

4. Eileen - July 13, 2016

I particularly like the one about Late Breaking News and Worries. Good list.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

When I practiced law, I often would be in bed and find myself thinking about something I needed to do. Instead of turning on the light to write myself a note, I speed dialed my office and left myself a voice message . . . before drifting off to sleep.

5. anotherday2paradise - July 13, 2016

I don’t have much trouble falling asleep. Must be because I have a clear conscience. 😀

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

I should add that to my list . . . “act in ways that promote having a clear conscience.”

Guilt is NOT conducive to sound sleep.

anotherday2paradise - July 13, 2016

That’s for sure. 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

Even if we have nothing to feel “guilty” about.

6. suzicate - July 13, 2016

Getting up at the wee hours (4 or 5 am) sure establishes good sleeping patterns! I discovered that not by choice but necessity these days. I don’t miss the tossing and turning, but I am ready for bed earlier than I used to be.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

Excellent ~> I’m glad your schedule results in less turning and tossing. I often read until 1 am (especially if a mystery is compelling me forward) which means I get up at “odd hours.”

I know better, but sometimes I just have the discipline to turn out the light. 💡

7. Ally Bean - July 13, 2016

It’s been suggested to me by my most beloved husband that my X-Man character should be Snooze. I excel at falling asleep. It’s my superpower, he claims.

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

That is a GREAT superpower to have, Ally Bean. I also envy those who can get by on 5 hours sleep with a few short cat naps during the day. For me, falling asleep can be a struggle at times.

8. Debra - July 14, 2016

I’m absolutely blessed with an easy time of it when it comes to getting enough sleep. I have so many friends for whom this is a highly battle and I can’t imagine. I will have to share this wonderful list with them. All good rhythms to follow!

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

Lucky you! At times, I slip into slumber with the greatest of ease. Other nights are punctuated with turning and tossing and flipping and flopping. When sleep is elusive, changing our bedtime routines and rituals may help us get to sleep . . . and stay there.

I should add ~> “If you’re awake, don’t worry about being awake, because worrying about being awake will keep you awake.”

Good luck to your friends.

9. Under the Oaks - July 14, 2016

I fall asleep on the couch early and then can’t get back to sleep till one or two. I use some zen type music to clear my thoughts and I usually get back to sleep. Definitely a routine for me and I work at trying to change it. But I kind of like the quiet time… 😀

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

If it works, it works. Einstein nodded off for catnaps during the day and slept just a few short hours at night. Winston Churchill did the same (and also consumed a fifth of Scotch to relax each evening). So if your schedule suits you . . . enjoy your quiet time.

10. diannegray - July 14, 2016

Some nights are diamonds and some nights are stones for me. I’m not sure what I do wrong or right, Nancy. I just put it down to the gremlins (and trying to clear my head ‘before’ it hits the pillow). You’ve got some great tips here 😀

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

I’m the same, Dianne. I have no problem falling asleep and staying asleep . . . some nights. Other nights, I am battling windmills all night long.

diannegray - July 14, 2016

Wow – “battling windmills” I love it!

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

Call me Dona Quixote!

11. Patricia - July 14, 2016

Good advice. If only I would follow it. My sleep habits are erratic at best now that I don’t work 40+hours a week.

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

Yes! Since I no I don’t HAVE to get up at a set time, I give myself a fair amount of latitude surrounding Lights Out!

But if I have a string of “sleepless” nights ~> I apply a tip or two.

12. Behind the Story - July 14, 2016

I like your list. I find that it’s especially useful to keep all those points in mind now that I’m older. I used to have no trouble falling asleep and sleeping through the night. Now I have to observe most of the items on your list. As soon as I get in bed, I need to control my thoughts and my breathing. Otherwise my asthma kicks in and I start coughing. Not as much margin for error these days.

nrhatch - July 14, 2016

It’s tough to go to sleep if you’re coughing. I’m glad you have a game plan to keep your asthma from kicking in.

Some tips I always follow ~ not eating too much at night, no caffeine late in the day, exercising every day, and allowing my thoughts to settle down BEFORE I get in bed. Others I incorporate when sleep is not coming easily and I find I’m “dragging” through the day. Then I send clear bedtime signals by getting into my PJ’s early, turning off the computer, etc.

Most of the time it works . . . except when it doesn’t.

13. Bun Karyudo - July 15, 2016

The big one for me is not having caffeine before bedtime. It’s amazing the number of times I’ve forgotten and then regretted it until about 4.30 a.m.

nrhatch - July 15, 2016

If you find yourself awake at 4:30 AM . . . DO NOT CALL ME!

Bun Karyudo - July 15, 2016

Okay, I promise! 🙂

nrhatch - July 15, 2016

Thanks!

14. Val Boyko - July 15, 2016

Good advice Nancy! Having a game plan is always good … so I can use it when sleep eludes me. 💛

nrhatch - July 15, 2016

It’s good to have a few tricks up our sleeve when sleep eludes.

15. L. Marie - July 15, 2016

Very good advice, Nancy. I have to wind down for an hour before bed. Otherwise, I can’t get to sleep. I love my bedtime reading!

nrhatch - July 16, 2016

Me too! I rarely read novels during the day, but enjoy reading a chapter or two before sleep descends.

16. Tiny - July 17, 2016

I could never be so “orderly”! If I stay up until I’m very tired, I will just hit the pillow and fall asleep sometime after midnight …

nrhatch - July 17, 2016

As long as I’m getting enough sleep, I’m pretty sloppy about following a bedtime routine. But if I’m having a tough time falling and staying asleep, I use more bedtime cues.

17. livelytwist - July 18, 2016

Lol @ Keep a notepad by your bed for Late Breaking News and Worries. 😉

nrhatch - July 18, 2016

Beats having to get out of bed when “X” pops into my head.


What Say YOU?

