jump to navigation

A Summer Bucket List July 5, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

Watch Fireworks * Stay up late * Look up at the Stars * Ride a roller coaster * Hike Mt. Everest * Visit the Farmer’s Market * Picnic on the Beach * Buy a Watermelon * Host a Seed Spitting Contest * Cannonball into the pool *

2015-05-02 14-16-54_0117

Bake Bread * Swap Books * Dance under the stars * Plan a Date Night * Make Friendship Bracelets * Whip up a big batch of Margaritas * Do Tequila Shots * Grill Pizza * Camp out in the backyard * Toast marshmallows * Make S’mores *

Sail paper boats * Fly a Kite * Go to the Drive In * Eat corn on the cob * Go hiking or biking * Write love letters to your favorite Pen Pals * Play miniature golf * Clear clutter * Visit a museum . . . and let it all hang out *

Go on a nature walk * Plan a scavenger hunt * Play hopscotch * Eat breakfast for dinner * Run a marathon * Make popsicles or ice cream sandwiches * Plan a sleep-over and movie marathon * Paint a picture *

Aah . . . that’s better!

What’s on YOUR summer bucket list?

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - July 5, 2016

Mount Everest eh? … it would be good to cool down somewhere! Thanks for you ideas for family visiting next week 💛

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

I don’t have anything as ambition as Everest on my list ~> when I want to cool down, I head to the ice cream aisle at Publix and soak up the arctic blast. Brrrrr . . .

Have a wonderful time with your family next week, Val.

2. Jill Weatherholt - July 5, 2016

Yep…that about covers it. I had no idea you were an artist, Nancy. I love the picture! Do you still draw?

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

I enjoy playing with paints ~> choosing colors, allowing the watercolors to flow, twirl, swirl, and mix.

That said, I’m less an artist and more a “copycat.” I see a photo, cartoon, etc., that appeals to me and “re-create” it. I don’t usually sketch from scratch.

3. ClearDope - July 5, 2016

Hmm.. 😉

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Ohm . . .

ClearDope - July 5, 2016

Hahaha, good one

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Couldn’t resist.

4. Tippy Gnu - July 5, 2016

Take a nap. Snooze. Catch some z’s. Inspect the inside of my eyelids.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

I sense a theme here . . .

5. anotherday2paradise - July 5, 2016

I think Mt. Everest and running a marathon are a bit ambitious. How about finishing the house renovations. I’ll settle for that. 😀

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Yes ~> the sooner the reno is done, the sooner you can claim your piano.

anotherday2paradise - July 5, 2016

….and the sooner we can go on our travels again. 🙂

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

You don’t need a “home base” . . . you need a private jet!

6. Kate Crimmins - July 5, 2016

My summer list is try to absolutely nothing as often as possible.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Yesterday, at a 4th of July cookout, one of the other guests asked, “What do you do?”

I laughed and said, “As little as possible.”

Kate Crimmins - July 5, 2016

My kinda girl!

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Especially during the lazy hazy days of summer.

7. suzicate - July 5, 2016

With the exception of hiking Mount Everest, it’s sounds like a wonderfully fun summer bucket list!

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Agreed. Mount Everest is NOT in the cards for us.

We were just watching a show on the Earth’s core which included Cave Jumpers (who jump into cavernous spaces with parachutes on their back) and runners who compete in marathons in subterranean spaces ~> two more activities that will NEVER get added to / crossed off our bucket lists.

8. Under the Oaks - July 5, 2016

I am with Kate… especially during summer 😀 All those FOOD things sound good up there Nancy BUT I have to get moving and lose 5 pounds!!!!!

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Everything’s a trade-off . . . especially when it comes to food and weight. Good luck dropping those 5 pounds, Pix.

9. Tiny - July 5, 2016

Mt. Everest? All the other ones could, potentially, be on my list too. On the top of my list: going to see my almost 93 y.o. dad in August and spending some time at the most peaceful lake in the world.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

As long as Mt. Everest is on the list, my bucket will never run dry.

Glad to hear that you’re able to head over to Europe to visit your dad at the lake. I loved the shots you shared from that peaceful oasis.

10. colonialist - July 5, 2016

The only one which might take more than one day to cram in would be the hike. Problem is getting there. The rest is a breeze – if one sticks to the very lowest bits!

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

We can “aim high” with Everest . . . while making lots of progress on the rest of the list! Summer = FUN in the sun.

colonialist - July 5, 2016

While we enjoy the chilly gale season …

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Not jealous! Although slightly less humidity might be a relief.

11. livelytwist - July 5, 2016

I like plan a sleep-over and movie marathon. Have you done it yet?

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

I had a mini movie marathon matinee yesterday before diving into Independence Day festivities ~> L.A. Confidential (starring an all star cast) and The Dutchess (Kiera Knightly).

Other than BFF . . . no sleep-overs yet.

12. beeblu - July 5, 2016

Seed-spitting contest?! You Southerners… 😆 Joking aside, your bucket list is full of delights. I’m taking some tips.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Haha! I grew up with 3 siblings; we enjoyed impromptu watermelon seed spitting contests long before we’d ever been south of the Mason Dixon line.

Glad it gave you a few ideas.

13. L. Marie - July 5, 2016

That’s quite a list! And is that your illustration? It’s awesome!
One item on my list includes finishing my middle grade novel and getting it to my beta readers. Anything else depends on whether the publisher to whom I submitted my novel has said yes or not.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

That sounds like a good item to include on your list. Best of luck with your beta readers and the publisher.

I painted that bottom shot while studying for the bar exam in NJ in 1992 . . . I needed a study break.

14. Ally Bean - July 5, 2016

I like your bucket list. I’ve never tried to compile one, trusting more in the whims of fate to guide me rather than an intentional list. But now that I see yours, I may need to re-think this bucket list idea. It’s cool.

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

Mine are “loose lists” ~ reminding me to remain open to the infinite possibilities available. That way if inspiration wanes, I have some ideas “at the ready.”

Have fun thinking of some summer fun to enjoy.

15. Patricia - July 5, 2016

Well, definitely not Mt Everest or a marathon!

nrhatch - July 5, 2016

No. To be honest, those two are not likely to happen this summer . . . or ever. I like to hike in the mountains, but Everest is a long ways away and a bit too far in the clouds for me.

16. diannegray - July 7, 2016

I like “let it all hang out” 😀 And I love your art work – I never knew you were an artist! xxx

nrhatch - July 7, 2016

I’m a “copycat artist” ~> no inner angst or inspiration screaming to be expressed to the world. But I do like to paint (even if it’s a paint by numbers painting). It’s very relaxing to just pick the next color, and the next color, and the next color.

Others must feel the same. Hence the increased demand for Adult Coloring Books.

diannegray - July 7, 2016

I would love to paint (I can’t even copy-cat) and admire anyone who has this skill 😉

nrhatch - July 7, 2016

Painting is EASY . . . as long as you don’t worry about colloring outside the lines. 😀

17. Jacqui Murray - July 8, 2016

Summer bucket list–it seems to have gotten away from me. I need to come up with one!

nrhatch - July 8, 2016

Well . . . you’ve got “book release in August” ~> that’s a good start!

18. Tammy - July 11, 2016

Learn about Women Ángel funds. Go to Montreal.

nrhatch - July 11, 2016

Good luck with both, Tammy. It’s been decades since I’ve been to Montreal . . . so no travel tips from me. But have fun.

19. Debra - July 13, 2016

What a wonderful bucket list! There’s nothing on here I wouldn’t want to enjoy, too! Roasting marshmallows would be very high on that list. 🙂

nrhatch - July 13, 2016

In Maryland, BFF built a campfire ring in our backyard (2nd photo above) on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay. We enjoyed many a marshmallow roast while listening to the waves.


What Say YOU?

