jump to navigation

Picture-In-Picture Dreaming June 23, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Home & Garden, Humor, Life Balance, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

IMGP3885While dreaming, I “woke up” in our home on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay and heard BFF say, “You might not have water aerobics today.”

Through the blinds, I saw nothing but blue sky and sunshine.  “Why not?”

“There’s an odd cloud formation tap dancing over the water and it’s headed this way.”

I opened the blinds more fully.  My brain went to Full Alert when it saw a tornado the size of Kansas waltzing toward us.

IMGP0848bmetallica

Oddly enough, I wasn’t scared.

Just determined.

I wanted to grab the camera and snap the juxtaposition of black storm funnel against the bluest sky I’d ever seen.

220px-1719_Tales_60Halfway across the room, the wind caught up with me.

The air grew dense.  I felt as if I were wading through water . . .

Making no headway.

I kept at it

trying

to get

to the other

side of

the room.

A task fraught with the same degree of difficulty as trying to reach the top of the staircase in one of M.C. Escher’s creations.

300px-Escher's_Relativity

Relativity is relative, eh?

As the wind shook the foundation, my perspective shifted.

I let go of the desire to capture the events on my camera, but I did want to see what was happening.

Confined inside the house looking out caused frustration to mount.  I felt constrained by my limited vantage point.

Where is Escher when you need him?

With that thought, a “picture-in-picture” screen appeared in the upper left corner of my dream . . . expanding my perspective to encompass the action unfolding outside the walls.

Awesome!

Settling back to watch Movies on Demand, I saw the house lift off its foundation and begin its ascent into the cosmos, no doubt inspired by Dorothy and Toto’s wild ride to Oz.

IMGP2751b

We twirled and whirled in the vortex until . . .

the house

tired of sailing

through the stratosphere

sans mast

settled back

down

on

terra firma

with a slight bump.

As we rejoined the land down under, the picture-in-picture screen provided expanded perspective . . . a balloon’s eye view.

Hot-air-balloonLike a stray leaf tired of waltzing in the autumn breeze, our house drifted back to earth and settled itself in the middle of a basketball court.

Great.  BFF’s been wanting to play some hoops!

Aah . . . that’s better!

No witches were harmed in the shooting of this dream.

Comments»

1. Rainee - June 23, 2016

what an amazing dream and post! I am tempted to ask what you were on 🙂
I loved your choice of pictures to go with the post!

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

Haha! No mind altering drugs or alcohol in my system before this dream. The dream just took bits and snippets of my day and arranged them in a pleasing way:

* We went to a park that day where we saw a basketball court
* I remembered to bring my camera with us on a nature walk
* Warnings about Tropical Storm Colin were being broadcast
* I wanted to wake up in time for Water Aerobics under blue skies
* We had checked out some of our previous homes on line
* Etc.

2. Jill Weatherholt - June 23, 2016

Holy Moly! This is crazy, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

I loved the Picture-In-Picture aspect of the dream . . . something I don’t remember happening before.

Also thought it was cool how my dream weaver combined bits and pieces of reality together to create a unified dream ~ see comment to Rainee for the tidbits tossed into the salad bowl.

3. Val Boyko - June 23, 2016

Now that’s some adventure Nancy! I really enjoy crazy daring dreams too! A part of me knows I will be okay so I go along for the ride 🐥

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

I loved the flying part of this dream, Val ~ the house sailed through the air like Peter Pan and Tinkerbell’s galleon.

Parasailing, wind surfing, kite boarding, and now house flying!

Val Boyko - June 23, 2016

Way to go Nancy! You aren’t thinking of moving soon are you? 😉

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

No serious thoughts to moving. We love living here, 3 miles from the beach. But we are always “open” to possibility.

4. Kate Crimmins - June 23, 2016

Blame it on the summer solstice. My husband and I had weird dreams this week although not quite as detailed (or our memories didn’t remember them).

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

I can’t pin it on the Summer Solstice or the full moon, Kate. I created a first draft of this post (and the dream posted on Tuesday) on June 2nd. So the dreams occurred on May 31st and June 1st as one month rolled into the next. Since then my dreams have been of the plain mundane flannel variety . . . which is too bad since I was enjoying the excitement of flying in cars and houses!

5. William D'Andrea - June 23, 2016

You are one vivid dreamer indeed! Ding-dong! Nancy the Wizard is alive!

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

Haha! Since June 2nd, my dreams have been of the Plain Jane variety. Just bits and pieces. And no Wild Rides.

Maybe tonight I’ll dream I’m a Pinball Wizard ~ bouncing around INSIDE a Pinball Machine!

6. Bun Karyudo - June 23, 2016

I was so relieved when I got to end and found out no witches had been injured in the making of your dream. It’s amazing what they can do nowadays with special effects.

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

Ha! I was glad to see that I hadn’t crash landed on a Wicked Witch wearing Ruby Slippers. Their siblings can be quite testy

Bun Karyudo - June 23, 2016

They tend to get so upset about little things like accidentally squashing their relatives. 😦

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

And don’t let them see you picking up a bucket of water within 10 feet of them . . . that’s a big no-no!

7. Ally Bean - June 23, 2016

I’m pleased if I manage to remember one little snippet of a dream, but you’ve got picture-in-picture going on! Well done. What an amazing mind you have there.

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

I’m the same, Ally. These two dreams were exceptions to the norm for me. Most of my dreams are strobe-like in nature with one thing morphing into something else and threads that are easily forgotten as soon as I surface from slumber.

8. Carol Ferenc - June 23, 2016

Wow ~ what an entertaining dream! Maybe our dreams really are just bits and pieces from our day cobbled together in some nonsensical way. I think we dream more vividly when our days have been relaxed and stress-free. Sounds like it’s been smooth sailing for you, Nancy.

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

I often see pieces of my life cobbled together in a hodge podge montage. But they aren’t usually as entertaining and lucid. And I’ve never seen a Picture-In-Picture screen before. Cool stuff.

I don’t really know whether I dream more when I’m stressed about things . . . or relaxed. In part, because I don’t remember most dreams unless I wake up in the middle of one. That’s why I got such a kick out of these 2 ~ almost like going to the movies.

Carol Ferenc - June 24, 2016

Pass the popcorn 🙂

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Exactly!

9. anotherday2paradise - June 23, 2016

A really psychedelic dream, Nancy. So happy that no witches were harmed and that your house came down in one piece.

nrhatch - June 23, 2016

Watching the house float down to earth was fun ~ like watching Peter Pan dock his galleon after flying it through the night sky.

Since having these 2 dreams at the beginning of the month, all has been quiet on the dream front. Just mundane flannel dreams.

10. Behind the Story - June 24, 2016

Only someone with an active, imaginative mind and an interesting life could come up with a dream like that. Fantastic! I’m amazed that you remembered so much and captured it so well in writing.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Thanks, Nicki. Maybe my imagination feels it’s not being put to good use during the day so at night it emulates “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.”

When I have dreams like this, they stick with me. But most of them evaporate on waking. And most would be difficult to capture in writing:

So then my father who wasn’t really my father but he was in the dream turned to walk into the pizza parlor but it wasn’t really a pizza parlor it was my house but not the house I live in now or ever but in the dream it was “my” house and he started to order an ice cream cone while looking around to see where my mother was when a school bus came flying down the road with mom behind the wheel and . . .

Behind the Story - June 24, 2016

Yes, that’s like some of my dreams.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

That’s the norm for me, Nicki.

11. Debra - June 24, 2016

I wish I could remember my dreams with so much detail! I usually know that I was dreaming, but they float away almost as fast as I wake. I am impressed that you stayed calm in this dream despite some threatening circumstances. You have fun, even in your dreams. 🙂

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Thanks, Debra. That’s what my dreams tend to do most of the time ~> any wisps that survive the night waft away on waking. Even if I wake up, remember a tidbit or two, and want to share it with BFF, by the time I see him, the dream is no where in sight. It’s flown off to NeverNeverLand with Tinkerbell.

You got me thinking ~> perhaps my imagination hasn’t been having enough fun during the day . . . so it signed up for the Night Shift!

12. sufilight - June 24, 2016

Wow! This dream is almost mystical. Wonder what Carl Jung would have said?

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

I often see bits and pieces of my day floating around my dreams, like croutons on a tossed salad.

I’ve never done any serious analysis of my dreams, Jungian or Freudian or Rastafarian, but Dianne said something about my last dream that seems apropos here as well:

If I were to interpret this I’d say you don’t feel like your in the driver’s seat of life at the moment, however things are not hurtling out of control at a great speed so that’s good

And my response to her there seems to apply here too:

There are lots of things in my life right now that are beyond my control ~> all I can do is wait for the dust to settle.

In this dream, the house settling may be the dust settling. And the fact that it landed somewhere “we wanted to be” is the Universe’s way of reassuring me that . . . “ev’ry little ting gonna be alright.”

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2016/06/21/over-and-out/#comment-107129

sufilight - June 24, 2016

Your analyzes seems right on. Speaking of dreams, I want to learn how to lucid dream as I have had a couple of them in my lifetime. Lucid dreaming can be used for healing, answering questions, etc.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Good luck learning lucid dreaming, Marie ~> that would be a handy skill to have. Plus it could be very entertaining.

13. Tiny - June 24, 2016

That was a wild ride, Nancy! Your calmness in the midst of it all was amazing. That “calm observer Nancy” reminded me of the fact that such calmness can also come over us when we’re awake and suddenly come into dangerous situations where we cannot actually do anything to change the outcome.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Eureka! Maybe my meditation practice is beginning to pay off, even in my sleep ~> instead of having a knee jerk re-action of F.E.A.R. when things get “out of control,” I step into the role of “detached observer” and F~L~O~A~T!

More and more in the daytime, I see myself take a step back from the midst of the fray to allow the path to unfold. It’s calming.

14. L. Marie - June 24, 2016

You have some incredible dreams, Nancy. At least you were calm throughout and determined to proceed.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

The calmness in both dreams pleased me ~> a reassurance that “ev’ry little ting gonna be alright.” Calm is good.

Since these 2 dreams, my dream state has been uneventful and uninspired until last night when I was a trying to smuggle a small bag of pot past a security checkpoint into a law firm . . .

I didn’t make it. Guess I’m not cut out to be a drug mule. Ha!

15. suzicate - June 24, 2016

You have been having some wild dreams and have remained quite calm upon waking; perhaps these are tests of patience, waiting, and looking at the bigger picture?
A picture within a picture, cool! Have you ever experienced a dream within a dream? I have a couple of times. It’s a strange sensation, definitely makes one ponder reality and illusions.

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

That’s what it seemed like to me, Suzi ~ a reminder to stay calm and carry on and let the “what is” be what it is.

I have dreamed I was dreaming . . . not often and not lately.

Dreams within dreams are like another Escher print of a man looking in the mirror at himself looking in the mirror at himself looking in the mirror at himself. Never ending depth.

16. Under the Oaks - June 24, 2016

Nancy, you are freaking me out with the dreams BUT I am a tad jealous. I never remember my dreams and when I do it is always the one where I have gone back to college and have to share a bathroom with 3 or 4 girls!!!!!!!! Or I have gone back to school and have forgotten to go to one of my classes the whole semester!

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Yes! I’ve had that one, Pix ~> realizing just before finals that I was registered for class, had missed it for the entire semester, and couldn’t figure out where it met so I could talk to the professor.

And then, of course, the purse locked in my locker with the combination to the locker inside the purse. Awkward.

17. diannegray - June 24, 2016

What an amazing dream, Nancy! I love these kinds of dreams 😀

nrhatch - June 24, 2016

Your analysis from the last dream “works” with this one too . . . see comment #12 above.


What Say YOU?

