jump to navigation

An Amazing Super Power June 18, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

Donald-Duck-MadOnce, when trapped on an elevator in the courthouse with a VERY ANGRY person who was spewing venom at a judge who had just ruled against him (as his “sister” nodded along and kept the vituperative juices flowing) . . . I decided to use my most amazing super power in a death-defying feat.

First, I stated the obvious:  “You said the F-word.”

Then I flashed a B~I~G grin.

Donald-Duck-LaughingInterrupted mid-tirade, he swiveled in my direction, glared at me, opened his mouth to tell me to mind my own fucking business . . . and then the grin on my face registered and he burst out laughing!

Humor may not be able to leap tall buildings in a single bound, but it can diffuse the ticking time bomb of ANGER with a single grin.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 18, 2016

I think it was Mark Twain who said, “Humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.” Happy Saturday, Nancy!

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Twain twas right! Humor is a mood elevator ~> without my sense of humor, I’d be stuck on the ground floor.

2. Under the Oaks - June 18, 2016

Humor gets me through every single day!

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Same here, Pix.

Humor = a “Get Out Of Jail Free” card.

3. Kate Crimmins - June 18, 2016

Most times, humor is the safest reaction. No one has ever died from it.

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Yes! Humor helps to even out the potholes in life . . .

E.g., “X” called me on Monday. After chatting about anything “X” wanted to chat about for 30-45 minutes, I said I didn’t see the point in discussing “Y” with her. Instead of switching gears, she hung up on me. No good-bye, just *click* ~ hanging up has become her modus operandi whenever she doesn’t “get her way” during a conversation.

Instead of being insulted, I laughed ~> her decision amused me. It felt more like a reward than a punishment.

Kate Crimmins - June 18, 2016

Kudos to you on many levels. I hate being on the phone past 10 minutes! Some things are not worth discussing especially when you know you are on opposite sides of the issue.

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Exactly! What she wanted to discuss doesn’t really concern her. She wanted to ‘second guess” someone else’s decision ~ a decision which has NO direct impact on her. I didn’t see any reason to waste time “dribbling that ball” with her.

The fact that being honest with her angered her confirmed that I’d made the right decision to not engage.

4. Waywardspirit - June 18, 2016

good one

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Glad you enjoyed!

5. anotherday2paradise - June 18, 2016

I found that a couple of my teachers didn’t appreciate humor at all. I was accused of being facetious, and landed up in a few detention sessions, 🙂

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

I landed in the principal’s office more than a few times for similar reasons . . . I enjoyed chatting with Mr. Morris, so I didn’t mind.

Detention sessions were less to my liking since it meant MORE time in class/school, not LESS.

6. L. Marie - June 18, 2016

Wow! Laughter is the best medicine!

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

We went to a lecture at a Buddhist Temple last night. The teacher (a Buddhist nun) laughed frequently as she shared examples of “human foibles” ~ e.g., following an “incorrect” path (anger or resentment) to reach the sought after destination of more happiness / less suffering.

“If it hasn’t worked before . . . why do we think it will work now?”

The class laughed right along with her.

7. Tippy Gnu - June 18, 2016

Perhaps the State Department should hire you and your disarming smile to help negotiate a few peace treaties. 🙂

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Or I could just be Trump’s right hand man ~> pointing out each obvious faux pas as it passes his lips.

Of course, working in close proximity to Trump might cause me to lose my sense of humor and B~I~G Grin.

8. JOriginal Muse - June 18, 2016

Way to go, Super Hero…! I do this as often as I can think of a good diffuser in similar situations. Humor is my elixir of life. However, the dynamics are slightly different with flesh and blood.

So, all week I’ve been preparing and rehearsing my best lines, ready for later on today when I’ll be at my niece’s wedding.

My adult son will be there (who just last week caused a scene outside of a cafe where we had just finished a pleasant meal for his wife’s birthday). At what point does a 37-old son finally get over divorced parents (since1995).

Since he’s not interested in family therapy, my go-to is humor… Facetious or not, wish me luck with my lines 😉

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Best of luck with your lines this afternoon, Joanne. And have fun at the wedding. Our niece is getting married in December ~> 1st of 10 nieces and nephews to tie the knot.

Sounds like your son wants to blame others for his continued internal angst. Some people never really accept responsibility for their own life and happiness ~ even with the best role models, like YOU.

JOriginal Muse - June 18, 2016

Thanks, Nancy… This is my fifth niece tying the knot. Ironically, my nieces have been more emotionally supportive than he ever was. I think someone up there messed up, and my sister and I got the wrong kids. Lol.

It is what it is for now, but won’t be in the future… when his kids grow up 😉

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

Gotcha! Of course, maybe as they grow up, he’ll grow up too.

9. Barb - June 18, 2016

A smile can work wonders – and it costs nothing!

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

If I see someone looking glum or grim, I often flash a smile their way. Sometimes they smile back.

But this guy’s perspective shifted in an instant. Such a treat.

10. diannegray - June 18, 2016

Well done super hero! Making someone laugh when they’re furious is not an easy task. If you bottled that, you’d make a million 😀 😀 😀

nrhatch - June 18, 2016

That’s an idea . . . I could pitch the idea on Shark Tank to see if I can get bottling backers!

11. Debra - June 18, 2016

I’ll bet the judge was impressed, and relieved the episode didn’t continue! Good for you! It wouldn’t have occurred to be to do anything but hope I could escape. 🙂 Humor is a wonderful tool and I think it’s great you shared it in this circumstance!

nrhatch - June 19, 2016

Some judges got a kick out of my sense of humor. On this occasion, it was only the 3 of us on the elevator ~ angry man, his “sister,” and me. The judge was still in the courtroom . . . except that angry man hadn’t been able to “leave him there.”

Humor helps us “let go” of less productive emotions like anger, resentment, embarrassment, guilt, etc.

12. beeblu - June 18, 2016

Hahaha – like being picked out by a child. The element of surprise is a good weapon.

nrhatch - June 19, 2016

The element of surprise can *snap* us back to being present in the present, instead of lost in the labyrinths of the mind.

Humor helps us to rise above anger’s endless abyss.

13. Bun Karyudo - June 19, 2016

That’s a good superpower to have. I’ll bet it’s come in useful many times in the past. 🙂

nrhatch - June 19, 2016

Yes! Humor keeps my head above water better than a US Coast Guard approved life preserver.

14. Carol Ferenc - June 19, 2016

Aah . . . I love this, Nancy. Well done!

nrhatch - June 19, 2016

Up . . . Up . . . and Away!

15. Tammy - June 20, 2016

I love that tactic

nrhatch - June 20, 2016

When it works like a charm . . . it’s a charm!

16. Tiny - June 20, 2016

Oh, I so agree! Humor is such a powerful force, laughter heals almost everything 😀

nrhatch - June 20, 2016

Nothing like laughing until it hurts to give my mood a boost

17. Ally Bean - June 21, 2016

Humor is the best superpower. I try to arrive pre-amused wherever I go so that I’m ready just in case.

nrhatch - June 21, 2016

Heading out “pre-loaded” is a grand idea!

18. sufilight - June 22, 2016

Well done, Nancy! I like this super power. 🙂 Your grin must have been a friendly one, and not mocking (to his perception) for him to react with humor

nrhatch - June 22, 2016

Yes. Lucky for me, he picked up on my intent to “cheer him up.”


What Say YOU?

