jump to navigation

It’s Great To Be A Bag Lady! June 13, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Humor.
trackback

The Friends of the Island Library hold a book sale every year to raise funds for speakers and other expenses.

At the end of the sale, any unsold books get donated to Goodwill.

2016-02-27 15-34-18_0017

That is, they donate any books that don’t get snagged during the Bag Sale ~ when books are sold at the rock bottom price of $2 a bag!

That’s right . . . grab a bag, stuff it full of books, pay $2 and leave.

2016-02-27 15-34-25_0018

I love being a Bag Lady at the book sale!  I fill a couple of bags with books and give them a quick look before donating the vast majority to Goodwill.

Everyone wins!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related post:  ¿Cómo se dice? . . .

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - June 13, 2016

What a great idea!

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

The number of books donated to the book sale grows each year. Now, instead of having the sale in a single room at the library, it’s spread out in 6-7 rooms at a local church.

Donating the “leftovers” to Goodwill keeps it “fresh.”

2. Kate Crimmins - June 13, 2016

That’s great. With electronic readers, book sales like this are seen less and less in our area. We used to have Green Books where you could buy books for a dollar but they couldn’t make it. There is something sad about that (although I have an electronic reader too).

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

This book sale draws crowds of readers each year. And gets tons of donations ~> from people who now have e-readers and no longer hoard print books.

We usually go the 2nd day rather than battling crowds day #1.

Kate Crimmins - June 13, 2016

I still buy books when I find authors I like for cheap prices. Then I read and pass them on. Back in the day, I was a hoarder with dusty bookshelves lining every room in my house. No more.

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

Same here, Kate. I used to keep every book. Now I circulate them, only hanging on to a few “keepers.”

3. William D'Andrea - June 13, 2016

I now have four books available for very reasonable prices @ amazon books.com; but less than a half dozen of them have ever been purchased.
However, when I post them on writers websites, such as webook.com, fanstory.com, ABC Tales.com and others; a large number of my fellow website members read them and leave very positive reviews.
That’s led me to decide that while those books will remain on sale on the internet, I’ll also keep posting them for free on writers websites. While I don’t get paid for them that way, I at least know they are being read; and there is a lot of satisfaction in that.

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

Here’s to getting satisfaction from sharing our words!

4. Under the Oaks - June 13, 2016

It’s a wonderful idea!

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

But dangerous for people who are prone to hoarding books. At this point, I allow most of them to flow through my fingers.

5. suzicate - June 13, 2016

I want to be a bag lady at the book sale. I’d love to get together a bunch of people just to trade books; I need to get on that!

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

That’s a great idea ~ BYOB (Bring Your Old Books)!

When I finish novels, I drop them off at the lending library in our clubhouse. Recent non-fiction gets donated to the library for next year’s sale. And older books get dropped off at Goodwill.

But I would save up books so I could attend your BYOB event!

suzicate - June 14, 2016

Last night I told the ladies in my book club we should all get together and have a sale and use the money to go out to dinner or buy new books! Really, it would be need to trade books with other book clubs to save us all money!

nrhatch - June 14, 2016

A book swap with another book club would be great as long as most folks don’t want to hang on to the books after discussing.

6. L. Marie - June 13, 2016

I would be a bag lady too! Two dollars is a great price!

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

It’s a great way for them to clear the shelves (and make a few extra bucks) before they have to pack ’em up and move ’em out.

And it’s fun for shoppers ~ we get to “glean” the shelves for “hidden treasure.”

7. Val Boyko - June 13, 2016

Now that’s a bargain and a good cause 😃

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

It’s a Win-Win-Win scenario. I plowed through most of the books in short order, but still have one or two to peruse further before donating to Goodwill.

8. Carol Ferenc - June 13, 2016

I’m involved in our local Friends of the Library and we put on two book sales a year. It’s always amazing to see the mix of titles that are donated, and the number of buyers who show up. And when someone like you, Nancy, buys and then donates elsewhere, it’s a huge win-win for everyone!

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

This one is put on by the Friends of the Library too! It’s great to see all the interesting books donated for the sale.

Almost all the books we bought ended up at Goodwill (or are in the to-be-donated pile), but I gave 3 Wedding books to a niece who is getting married in December. Lots of ideas for her to ponder and peruse.

Carol Ferenc - June 13, 2016

Wonderful, especially since bridal books and magazines tend to be so expensive.

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

The cover price was about $90 . . . so a BIG savings.

9. diannegray - June 13, 2016

What a fabulous idea, Nancy. I think I would be a ‘two-bag lady’ in this situation. And it’s all for such a great cause – win-win! 😀

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

Yup. Definitely a 2 bagger here!

10. Tiny - June 13, 2016

Sound like a win-win! Bag lady is cool 😎

nrhatch - June 13, 2016

This is the best kind of Bag Lady to be.

11. Behind the Story - June 13, 2016

It’s a great way to pass books around. Another thing I see springing up every day are the little free sidewalk libraries. It’s good to share.

nrhatch - June 14, 2016

It’s great seeing those little lending libraries pop up. Our library installed a free sidewalk library in the lobby for book swaps.

12. Bun Karyudo - June 14, 2016

I agree with your other commenters. That does sound like a win-win. 🙂

nrhatch - June 15, 2016

And I might even have learned a thing or two from those stacks!

13. brickhousechick - June 14, 2016

Nice! It’s like getting home with a bag full of candy, isn’t it? How fun! 🙂

nrhatch - June 15, 2016

Yes ~> Reading is FUNdamental!

And a book should be arriving today from L. Marie. More fun!

14. mybeautfulthings - June 15, 2016

Brilliant idea, will pass that on! Happy reading. 🙂

nrhatch - June 15, 2016

Thanks! Hope your life is full of good reads.

mybeautfulthings - June 16, 2016

Just finished All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Do you know it? If not I can certainly recommend it. 🙂

nrhatch - June 16, 2016

Glad you enjoyed; It got some stellar reviews.

The book discussion group had it on the roster this year but at the time I was tired of reading WWII novels. Perhaps I’ll pick it up down the road.

15. Debra - June 18, 2016

What a great way to just keep books circulating! I love bargain books! I can be a bit of hog. But I do my fair share of donating, too! 🙂

nrhatch - June 19, 2016

Letting go of books used to be hard for me. Even if I never planned to read a book again, it would be stashed with the rest of my stash. I owned enough books to open a small bookstore. I dreamed of floor to ceiling book shelves lining a library.

And then we had a small flood in the smallest room of our house and I had to empty the room of 3 long bookcases with hundreds of books. As I stared at the growing pile of displaced refuges, I decided to let them go. No more hoarding.

Now books come and go with the flow . . .


What Say YOU?

