jump to navigation

Yes . . . We Have Some Tomatoes! May 17, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Exercise & Fitness, Food & Drink, Home & Garden.
trackback

Yes . . . we have some tomatoes.  We have some tomatoes today!

2016-05-13 11-56-30_0048

Each year, in May, Hunsader Farms invites folks to come out and pick their own tomatoes before the fields close for the summer.

2016-05-13 11-14-35_0042

The cost for hand-picked juicy red ripe tomatoes that deliver REAL tomato flavor?

$2 for a 5-gallon bucket!

This year, I hand-picked two buckets (approximately 125 tomatoes) in about 40 minutes.

2016-05-13 11-20-18_0045

I picked the second bucket because the weather was gorgeous, I was enjoying the exercise, and I wanted to have enough tomatoes to share with others.

2016-05-13 15-03-21_0051

On Saturday, I got more exercise by hand-delivering tomatoes on my “produce mobile” (a/k/a bike) to neighbors who can’t get out and pick their own because they are less mobile than me.

I also bought a box of 25 butternut squash for $5!

2016-05-13 11-20-29_0046

Plus 6 ears of corn.  Plus an enormous cantaloupe.

How do you spell summertime? ~> D~E~L~I~C~I~O~U~S!

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Kate Crimmins - May 17, 2016

The fields close for the summer? Too hot to grow? Everything looks wonderful. The produce we are getting is still shipped from out of state and doesn’t have the fresh picked taste, especially the tomatoes.

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

Yup. Most Farmer’s Markets, Farm Stands, and Fields are closed during the hot humid summer months. We start getting fresh produce again in late September. That took a bit of getting used to when we moved here.

In Maryland, our CSA distributed shares from May to November.
Here, the CSA distributes shares from November to May.

These tomatoes are good . . . but JERSEY tomatoes are better!

2. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - May 17, 2016

Oh how yummy!!! What a fun way to get such great deals!

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

A neighbor hooked us up with this deal two years ago. So this was our third visit to the U-Pick Tomato Fields. Something fun to look forward to every May before the summer sun sizzles skin.

3. Patricia - May 17, 2016

Yum! Nothing better than truly fresh veggies. Since I live too far away for you peddle my way I will go to the Farmer’s Market.

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

Farmer’s Markets are great!

I love picking my own tomatoes at just the right time. Before moving here, we always grew our own. Here, I’ve had no success in providing tomato plants with enough sun (no southern exposure) and water (lots of evaporation). So I gave up and O.D. on tomatoes once a year, courtesy of Hunsader Farm’s hard work.

4. Ally Bean - May 17, 2016

Your bounty is amazing. Around here I won’t see anything like that until August. Enjoy.

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

We are indulging our tomato cravings to the MAX! We gave about 1/2 of the tomatoes away and have used another 20 or so to make Brushetta topping, tomato sandwiches, and Lecho (cooked with onions, peppers, paprika, and cayenne).

Today, I’m planning to make a batch of curry using tomatoes for the sauce.

5. Jill Weatherholt - May 17, 2016

What a bargain on the butternut squash!

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

One of our favorites!

We’ve eaten one ~> delicious with just salt and pepper and a dot of butter. We’ve also given a few to neighbors. Last year, the butternut kept well for a couple of months in our pantry.

6. Under the Oaks - May 17, 2016

They are beautiful. We just cooked down a bunch of tiny cherry tomatoes (bought at the store) last night and spooned over noodles! They were good but nothing like REAL tomato flavor… 🙂

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

Last week, we bought 2 tomatoes at a farm stand. They tasted more like cardboard than tomatoes. Very disappointing.

This week, we’re enjoying our harvest to the MAX. Like you, we cooked some down (with onions, peppers, paprika, and cayenne) to serve over rice. YUMMY!

Wish you were here to share the bounty!

7. NancyTex - May 17, 2016

What a bargain! Well done, NH.

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

It’s become an annual tradition ~ a rite of passage from spring to full on SUMMER!

8. Carol Ferenc - May 17, 2016

My mouth is watering! What a beautiful harvest, Nancy. Our local tomatoes won’t be ready for months ~ it’s hard to wait. BTW ~ now I have that silly “banana” song going through my head. 🙂

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

Haha! Sorry about the banana song getting lodged in your noggin, Carol. I’ve been waiting for these babies for the past month or so. Now that they are here . . . MANGIA!

Today I made a big pot of curry with onions, peppers, tomatoes, cabbage, cayenne, and curry. Our supply is dwindling.

Carol Ferenc - May 18, 2016

Enjoy while they last!

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

Thanks, Carol. So far, so good.

9. Barb - May 17, 2016

That’s an impressive haul Nancy, good for you, and wonderful that you share it around (with the aid of your bike), to those who can’t get out and about.

nrhatch - May 17, 2016

I’m glad the weather and tomatoes cooperated with my plans to pick 2 buckets this year. Last year, it took forever to pick one bucket due to so many tomatoes stricken with blossom end rot ~ I’d pick one, turn it over, and toss it aside because the back end was black.

This year, all but 2 tomatoes I picked landed in the bucket.

10. Debra - May 18, 2016

The summer squash is just starting to come in but I haven’t had any fresh tomatoes yet. I think we’re about a month off! I just love summer fruit and vegetables and get so excited when the farmer’s markets begin to really flourish. What a good deed to take the tomatoes to others. I’m sure that’s appreciated by all! Very curious about how much butternut squash you can eat and/or deliver. Those things are heavy! 🙂

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

The squash are small, on average. I was able to pick up the whole box . . . so I’m guessing about 25 lbs. total.

We gave several away and they keep well in a dry, cool place. I keep my eye on them and if they develop a soft spot, I cook and eat (or freeze) immediately.

11. diannegray - May 18, 2016

I love fresh picked tomatoes. I don’t know what they do with them in the store, but they never taste as good. The store ones irritate my arthritis as well but home grown, no problems at all! 😉

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

Tomatoes are often sprayed with a ripening agent that makes them turn red even thought they aren’t really ripe. Hence the cardboard taste and texture.

Before moving to Florida, I always grew tomatoes in the garden. Here, we don’t have a spot that gets enough sun. Bummer!

12. suzicate - May 18, 2016

Awesome! I see lots of salsa and tomato sauce in your future; summer is yummy! That is so kind of you to deliver fresh tomatoes to the housebound; everyone deserves a delicious summer tomato!

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

Summer is yummy!

We’ve been enjoying this bounty of tomatoes. So glad the cooler weather allowed me to pick a 2nd bucket to share with neighbors.

13. Bun Karyudo - May 18, 2016

Hope you like pasta, ketchup and tomato soup! It was nice of you to take some produce to your less mobile neighbors. 🙂

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

Pasta ~> yes! My mom used to make ketchup, but I always preferred Heinz. Tomato soup ~> maybe. I’ve never made it, but I have a good recipe for it.

So far, I’ve made bruschetta topping, lecho (with peppers and onions), curry (with assorted veggies), and we’ve sliced some for sandwiches. Next, I might make a paella.

Bun Karyudo - May 20, 2016

Woah, you’re versatile! It sounds like you’ve already been putting those tomatoes to good (and delicious) use. 🙂

nrhatch - May 21, 2016

This has been a red letter (and a red fed her) week.

14. Barb - May 19, 2016

Holy guacamole and salsa. I wish I lived close to you. Gorgeous veggies!

nrhatch - May 19, 2016

Most of the year we rely on canned tomatoes for salsas and sauces because store-bought tomatoes are so insipid. Once a year, we enjoy this haul of a harvest.

Wish you could swing by to share the bounty.


What Say YOU?

