jump to navigation

The More The Merrier, But . . . May 14, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Less IS More, Life Balance, People.
trackback

The more the merrier, but . . .

The bigger the group, the harder it is to get around and talk to everyone without missing something or someone.

IMG_1738

“Hey, where’s Linda?”

As conversations merge and shift, with incomplete threads whipping about in the wind, edges blur and the end result may be just out of focus.

IMG_1735

That’s why it’s important to take time to recharge your batteries after a gathering of the clan ~ it restores clarity.

IMGP2615c

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Under the Oaks - May 14, 2016

Love gathering with the clan! Looks like you had fun!

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

We did . . . and also enjoyed eating at Rise Pies!

BTW: Cupcake Delights is celebrating its Grand Opening on the island today. Everyone who attends will be entered to win FREE cupcakes for a YEAR! If we win, you and CH have to come & eat some of them.

2. Ally Bean - May 14, 2016

I want to be on a beach sitting in colorful chair drinking a beer. Do I really have to deal with family members first before I get to that point? Couldn’t I just go directly there, asks the black sheep of the family!

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

Dear Black Sheep:

No . . . you do not have to deal with family first. Go directly to the colorful chair and quaff away!

Cheers!

3. Patricia - May 14, 2016

Great way to spend a day, “relating” and relaxing.

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

Yes. We had a nice “catch up” with our Vermont kin.

4. NancyTex - May 14, 2016

Couldn’t agree more. I love spending time with friends and family but I always need some alone time after.

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

I am happiest with 1-on-1 or 2-on-2 conversations. As the group size increases so does the time needed “unplug & recharge.”

But it’s nice to have a chance to “catch up” with kith and kin.

5. anotherday2paradise - May 14, 2016

Looks so relaxing there, Nancy. Beautiful people. 🙂

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

We had a great time chatting about this, that, and the other thing. But it was also nice to relax and recharge afterwards.

6. Grannymar - May 14, 2016

I am looking forward to a family reunion in July when My youngest sibling comes back from Melbourne for a holiday. Thirty five to forty of us covering three generations all spending a day in the home where we were born, I will definitely need at least a day of rest… before the visitors move around to spend a few day quality time with each family group scattered about the island of Ireland.

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

That sounds great, GM. A larger gathering with everyone, following by more intimate conversations in the ensuing days.

Enjoy it to the MAX!

7. Jill Weatherholt - May 14, 2016

Looks like fun! Cheers!

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

Cheers! Hope you’re having a terrific weekend, Jill.

8. diannegray - May 14, 2016

I want to be sitting in that chair as well, Nancy. It looks like a good way to unwind after a clan gathering 😀

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

Adirondack chairs are made for “2-chair conversations.” Very relaxing after following too many bouncing balls at once.

9. Carol Ferenc - May 14, 2016

It all looks so good, Nancy! Glad you had a little Island Time as well.

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

I enjoy getting together with siblings, nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, and cousins. But after all that “high energy,” some Island Time is just the thing.

Carol Ferenc - May 15, 2016

🙂

10. Barb - May 14, 2016

Just what’s needed after a busy and enjoyable day with family Nancy – you deserve it…….recharging our batteries is also fun!

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

“Multi-tasking” and “shifting gears” while conversing in groups depletes my batteries. I “unplug” to recharge. And it is fun.

11. Tiny - May 14, 2016

It looks like the clan had fun! But I am the same way, need time alone to regroup afterwards.

nrhatch - May 14, 2016

I notice the need to recharge more now than in my teens and early 20’s. (Probably because I no longer recharge by blaring rock music while driving down the highway.)

12. Val Boyko - May 15, 2016

Love this insight Nancy! I also miss the ability to drive and multi task while listening to rock music for relaxation.
Tuscany countryside is a wonderful alternative right now💛

nrhatch - May 15, 2016

Yay! Glad you’re absorbing the sights and sounds of Tuscany, Val. Have a slice of pizza pie for me!

I do listen to rock music when I drive, but I’m always driving from Point A to Point B. I no longer get in the car and drive around “aimlessly” to recharge my batteries.

13. Behind the Story - May 15, 2016

We just had a gathering of the clan in Maryland for my grandson’s First Communion–Church and brunch with a big crowd, then the Capital Steps in the evening on Saturday. Mother’s Day and my birthday and another brunch on Sunday. I stayed on for a few more days. And now I’m home. I’ve unpacked, done the laundry and bought the groceries, now I can recharge my batteries.

nrhatch - May 16, 2016

That sounds like quite a gathering, Nicki. I’m sure you all had a blast celebrating milestones and Mother’s Day over delicious meals. Enjoy your recharge too.

After a trip, walking through the front door starts the “recharge” process for me ~> unpacking, getting the laundry done, and restocking the fridge help solidify that “I’M HOME!” feeling.

14. Bun Karyudo - May 18, 2016

Looks like a nice place to recharge.

nrhatch - May 18, 2016

Yes. Putting my toes in the sand always helps me recharge.


What Say YOU?

