jump to navigation

A Walk In The Woods April 13, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness, Nature.
trackback

Florida is NOT all Sun, Sand, and Surf . . . it’s also the silence we sense between each echoing splash.

2015-11-11 13-45-03_0001

It’s water and rocks and islands of pine shading soil from sun.

2015-11-11 13-45-18_0002

Florida’s ancient roots trace back to Africa before continents shifted from where they were to where they wanted to be.

2015-11-11 13-45-42_0003

If continents and trees are open to change . . . who are we disagree.

2015-11-11 13-54-51_0007

Just be . . . and let the future unfold.

2015-11-11 14-04-14_0009

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - April 13, 2016

Enchanting Nancy 💛
Cool shade and running water are always pleasant as the heat begins to build!

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

We went hiking in Hillsborough State Park on a warm day. The shade was delicious.

Val Boyko - April 13, 2016

I bet!!

2. Jill Weatherholt - April 13, 2016

What a beautiful place to escape the heat.

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

We enjoyed our visit, Jill. Now we want to head to NC and enjoy a long hike through the Great Smoky Mountains, punctuated with pit stops at pristine waterfalls.

3. Kate Crimmins - April 13, 2016

So peaceful!

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

We met a few people wandering in the woods that day . . . just enough to keep the snakes away!

4. L. Marie - April 13, 2016

So glad you posted these photos. You are so right. We get a mental image in our heads of a place and think it is only like that image. Very lovely!

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Wandering through the woods allowed us to enjoy another facet of Florida ~ shade! We used to hike in NC, VT, Virginia, Maine, Pennsylvania, etc. ~> cascading waterfalls for picnic stops.

L. Marie - April 14, 2016

I have hiked in Vermont and Pennsylvania too. 🙂

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

One of our favorite hiking things to do . . . sit on big boulders in the middle of the stream while enjoying cocktails!

5. anotherday2paradise - April 13, 2016

Gorgeous photos, Nancy. It looks so cool and shady there. 🙂

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Shade is delicious on a warm day ~> a respite from the summer oven!

6. Morgan - April 13, 2016

Thats my kind of Walk 🙂 Looks so wonderful!

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Thanks, Morgan. Florida has set aside lots of land as State Parks, County Preserves, etc. We look forward to exploring more of them.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 13, 2016

Oh how lovely!

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Great place to walk on a warm day.

8. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com - April 13, 2016

Thank you for this lovely spot’s history. This is a Florida facet that I could lovingly embrace.

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Thanks! I love that when the continents shifted that Florida waved good to Africa to hook up with North America. It makes for different topography.

9. Carol Ferenc - April 13, 2016

Thanks for sharing this lovely slice of the OTHER Florida, Nancy.

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Florida will keep us busy exploring for years to come.

Carol Ferenc - April 13, 2016

Yes! I’m intrigued by the Everglades but have never been there.

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

We haven’t been either . . . we’re waiting until they clear out all the invasive snakes. 😉

10. suzicate - April 13, 2016

I knew there had to be more to Florida than sand and water! Can you tell my Florida time was spent at a beach?

nrhatch - April 13, 2016

Before moving here, I’d seen very little of the interior of the state, except for Orlando and Mickey Land!

suzicate - April 14, 2016

I am probably the only person on earth who has never been to Disney!

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

What is wrong with you?!

Haha! My sister has lived in Orlando since 1987 and we’ve lived in Florida since 2009. In all that time, we’ve been to the Magic Kingdom once or maybe twice. And about the same for Epcot, Universal, Sea World, Busch Gardens, and Animal Kingdom.

Theme Parks are OK. Nature nurtures!

11. Under the Oaks - April 14, 2016

Some great pictures, Nancy. We tend to forget about that part of Florida. It looks a lot like the area where CH’s Mom and Dad stayed when they would go down to Florida with their travel trailer. It was interesting to visit them and sit under the trees, it was a whole other world.

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

My grandparents (both sides) wintered in Florida . . . but I never visited with them down here. My first trip to FL was a “business trip” to Captiva circa 1985. And we “beached it” that trip.

I’m glad you had a chance to sit a spell in the shade.

12. Ally Bean - April 14, 2016

I forget about being in the shade in FL. I remember wandering around on a some boardwalks in swampy areas and feeling like I was primordial. Of course I had on a lovely hat and was wearing Birks, so I was still civilized on the outside. One mustn’t go over the edge!

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

Primordial is exactly the feeling we get in the swamps and marshes . . . especially if we see gators sunning themselves.

And you’re right to keep your toes ensconced in modern attire.

13. diannegray - April 14, 2016

I absolutely love this kind of walk, Nancy 😀

nrhatch - April 14, 2016

When we wander the woods in FL, I think about the Native Americans (and park rangers) who blazed trails through marsh, mangroves, and thick underbrush. I’m happy to follow in their footsteps.

14. Behind the Story - April 15, 2016

Beautiful, refreshing pictures. I especially like the last one. I can imagine sitting on the flat place on that tree overhanging the water–not too close to the water in case an alligator comes along.

nrhatch - April 15, 2016

That bottom shot was my favorite spot, Nicki. I could definitely imagine sitting there to watch the water (and gators) float past.

15. Debra - April 16, 2016

This is just beautiful, Nancy. I love seeing an attribute of Florida we don’t often see. And your reminder to adapt and let life unfold is particularly well stated when we stop to think about the changing and adaptable landscape. Just looking at the photos is relaxing, too!

nrhatch - April 16, 2016

Thanks, Debra. I’ve met folks who act as if the goal of life is consistency ~> decide who you are and don’t color outside those lines.

I think we’re meant to be “works in progress” ~> go with the flow.

16. Tiny - April 16, 2016

Beautiful captures of our wonderful nature. Now I know why I always felt home in Africa too.

nrhatch - April 17, 2016

Thanks, Tiny. That sense of “coming home” is wonderful.

When we moved to Florida, I felt I belonged. And Morocco is forever calling my name.

17. pix & kardz - April 21, 2016

oh how lovely is this…. not how I envision Florida at all. thanks for the share 🙂

nrhatch - April 21, 2016

Florida has some interesting topography, including springs and underwater caves. The only thing missing is mountains.

18. The Secret Life of a Vagabond - August 13, 2016

People forget that florida has much more to offer than beaches and a giant rat. Good to see other posting about florida side.

nrhatch - August 13, 2016

Thanks for stopping by! I gave your snow tubing post a quick glance. Sounds like you had a blast. I went snow tubing in Florida in flip flops. I was the only adult slip sliding away.


What Say YOU?

