jump to navigation

7 Reasons Retirement Rocks! April 2, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Humor, Joke.
trackback

Mickey-LoungingRetirement rocks!

At last, I have everything I wanted as a teenager . . .

#1 ~ I don’t have to go to school or work.

#2 ~ I get to set my own allowance every month.

#3 ~ I have my own pad.

#4 ~ I don’t have a curfew.

Mickey-Surfer#5 ~ I have a driver’s license and my own car.

#6 ~ I have ID that gets me into bars and liquor stores.

#7 ~ And I don’t have to worry about getting pregnant.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  E-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.)

Bonus Benefit:  No Rushing Around (except to wait on the cats)!  Thanks, Kate.

 

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - April 2, 2016

Sounds great to me, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

I got a kick out of this list when Joe sent it ~ it made me think back to what I “prized” in my teen years.

2. Under the Oaks - April 2, 2016

LOL, Nancy! Good Morning! Can’t tell you how much I would like to be walking the beach with you two today and having a slice of Rise Pies pizza… 😀

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

Morning, Pix! That sounds like a plan! We may head to the beach today (if the weather holds) for the inaugural Beach ‘n Food Truck Festival ~> one of the food trucks does wood-fired pizzas.

Harbour Isles is also holding a Grand Opening Celebration with music, food, entertainment, and tours of the new “high rises.”

Under the Oaks - April 2, 2016

FOOD and checking out Harbour Isles… sounds perfect!

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

The weather is the biggest “IF” . . . both events would benefit from sunny skies which may not be in the cards.

But, after watching “ROOM” last night, I’ll maintain an attitude of gratitude no matter what. Can’t imagine being stuck living in a shed for 7 years, dependent on my abductor for everything.

3. anotherday2paradise - April 2, 2016

There are certainly lots of benefits to aging, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

All things considered, I’d rather be 37 . . . but it is nice not having to go to work.

anotherday2paradise - April 2, 2016

Hahaha You can’t have your cake and eat it. Well I suppose some people can, but maybe they don’t appreciate like we do.

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

Yes! I’m happy to be Here . . . Now!

4. suzicate - April 2, 2016

Ah, now that’s the life! I hope to take an early retirement in three more years…but I don’t know; maybe I’ll get a fun creative part time job.
Glad you are rocking retirement!

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

We never intended to “retire” when we did . . . we just never got around to going back to work!

5. L. Marie - April 2, 2016

Ha ha! Great list, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 2, 2016

I thought so ~ Joe sends me some funny stuff. Perfect for my Silly Saturday Series.

6. diannegray - April 2, 2016

Haaaaa! I love number 7, Nancy, that’s one of my favourites as well 😀

nrhatch - April 3, 2016

Ya, mon . . . no worries!

7. Patricia - April 2, 2016

I still don’t like my allowance!

nrhatch - April 3, 2016

Make friends with Paris Hilton & get her to share hers with you!

8. Tiny - April 2, 2016

Amen to that 🙂

nrhatch - April 3, 2016

It’s great to flow from activity to activity, setting my own schedule. Congrats on the new addition to your family.

9. Carol Ferenc - April 3, 2016

LOL!! I think this covers all the important stuff, Nancy!

nrhatch - April 3, 2016

It’s good to be the boss of me!

10. ericjbaker - April 3, 2016

There’s an Italian villa on the Amalfi coast overlooking the Mediterranean sea just waiting for me to retire. I haven’t quite figured out how to pay for it yet, but those are just details.

nrhatch - April 3, 2016

Once you get the details sorted, have your people call my people and we’ll set up a meet at your villa. *mwah*

11. Behind the Story - April 4, 2016

A good laugh!

On the other hand, when I was a teenager, I liked school; I didn’t need much money since boys always payed for the dates; I had my own room, and Mom cooked dinner; I had a driver’s license and drove the family car; and I seem to remember than back in those days, they served us fancy mixed drinks without asking for ID. (I’m not sure about that one.) #7 is a definite benefit.

Being too literal really spoils a joke. I shouldn’t read it twice.

nrhatch - April 4, 2016

Haha! On first reading, it’s “just a joke” . . . but the best jokes may also offer fodder for thought.

There are aspects of being a teen that I remember fondly ~ sleeping like a log, less responsibility, fewer aches and pains, no bills to pay, etc. ~ I’m not sure I’d willingly go back and re-live those years. A short visit might be fun . . . especially if mom cooked all my favorites!

12. Debra - April 4, 2016

That’s a pretty great list! It doesn’t take any more than that to make me quite content! 🙂

nrhatch - April 4, 2016

These days, contentment requires: a comfy bed, a convenient bathroom, a well-stocked pantry/fridge, something to laugh about, someone to share the laughter, warm and sunny skies, and a good book! Everything else is “gravy.”

13. Val Boyko - April 4, 2016

Such a good list/ Thank for the smile Nancy!

nrhatch - April 4, 2016

My pleasure, Val. To gratitude for all the good!

14. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - April 4, 2016

LOL!!! That was great – I love when you share those that you like, I enjoy them all!!

nrhatch - April 4, 2016

Yay! I toss chain letters, political diatribes, and evangelizing e-mails into the cyber wastebasket.

I’d rather post jokes.

15. Ally Bean - April 5, 2016

Cute. But it does gloss over all those annoying, depressing AARP missives and magazines that they insist on sending! I swear those things alone are enough to make a body want to go back to work.

nrhatch - April 5, 2016

AARP sends that stuff as soon as we turn a “certain age” (i.e., 37) . . . even if we are still working our ass off.

Ally Bean - April 5, 2016

I know! Shocked me to the core when I first saw my name on one of their publications. Very off-putting, I tell you!

16. BunKaryudo - April 7, 2016

Those do sound like things to celebrate when I reach retirement age. To be fair, though, I never worried much about number 7.

nrhatch - April 7, 2016

I bet you’ve already reached a few of these “milestones” . . . with a few more looming on the horizon.

The flip side of #7 ~> worrying about getting “her” pregnant.

BunKaryudo - April 7, 2016

I’m certainly working my way through them. Excellent point about number 7, by the way!

nrhatch - April 7, 2016

Frees up time to worry about keeping your cacti alive and well.


What Say YOU?

