jump to navigation

Maintaining Balance March 21, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness.
trackback

Sometimes feelings are “off kilter” because the thoughts we’ve attached to the “what is” are not balanced.

2016-03-12 12-51-11_0057

We tell ourselves stories about how others “should” act (or how the world should be) and then get upset when reality doesn’t meet our expectations.

2016-03-12 12-51-18_0058

If we change our thoughts, our emotions and feelings follow suit.

2016-03-12 12-51-26_0059

Our “upset” dissipates into the ether.

2016-03-12 12-49-43_0056

Stepping into the role of detached observer allows us to let things be as they are while maintaining our balance.

2016-03-12 12-49-25_0054

We learn that we are stronger than we “thought.”

ec6cfa4e8cd69439e72750e638844c19

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Patricia - March 21, 2016

Love the pictures you chose to illustrate your thoughts. Perfect.

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Thanks, Patricia. I merged photos from last weekend’s Celtic Festival with a draft post that had been hanging out behind stage . . . no doubt waiting for these shots to arrive. 😀

2. BunKaryudo - March 21, 2016

I agree with Patricia about the way you used the pictures to support your theme. I also wouldn’t mind trying that contraption, although I have a feeling I may not within the intended age group. 🙂

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

I want to give it a S~P~I~N myself . . . to see if we should buy one for our living room . . . but the long line of eager young faces waiting for their turn dissuaded me.

Had there been no wee ones waiting, I would have asked for permission to climb aboard!

BunKaryudo - March 21, 2016

Haha! Love the idea of having one for the living room. That would certainly be one way to view the world in a different way: watch TV while upside down.

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

We’d be the most popular kids on the block!
No kidding! 😛

3. Under the Oaks - March 21, 2016

Oooo, I had an exercise in maintaining balance this weekend. I bobbled around and finally got it together.. 🙂
Good Morning!

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Sounds like you managed to “right yourself.” Woo Hoo!

Every time we do, it’s easier than the last time because we’ve reconfigured a few more synapses from “resistance” to “acceptance.” Go you!

4. jo(e) - March 21, 2016

What great photos to illustrate what you’re saying!

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Thanks, jo(e)! I would have enjoyed taking that contraption for a test drive . . . I bet it would clear out a few cobwebs.

5. Jill Weatherholt - March 21, 2016

I seem to be most off kilter, first thing in the morning. As the day progresses, I typically get my bearings…of course Monday is always the toughest.
That thing looks like fun!

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

I tend to wake up bright-eyed and optimistic about the state of the planet. There are days I stay on that plane ~> “it’s all good!”

Other days, I slide d~o~w~n a slippery slope. 🙄

I would have enjoyed hopping on board that baby and twirling around above the fair grounds but the line of kids waiting dissuaded me.

6. anotherday2paradise - March 21, 2016

Dr. Seuss had the right idea. Great photos, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Dr. Seuss rocks!

7. suzicate - March 21, 2016

Love me some Dr. Seuss; he was a wise one! I tackle with that balance issue sometimes…

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

When we feel off-kilter, it pays to take a peek at the thoughts were thinking . . . “is this true?”

Dr. Seuss and his cast of characters are the best!

8. L. Marie - March 21, 2016

This is very apt for me. I’ve felt out of kilter ever since my car wreck over a week ago. So I feel like the girl in those photos. I’m hoping to achieve a state of balance at some point.

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Sorry to hear you were in an auto accident. Even without physical injury, they’re S~C~A~R~Y.

Hope you regain your equilibrium soon. Happy Spring.

9. Carol Ferenc - March 21, 2016

Perfect photos and I love the Dr. Seuss quote, too. It does feel like things spin out of control when we listen to the wrong thoughts.

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

They do, indeed. Dr. Seuss has the right idea ~ it’s up to us to steer in the right direction.

10. Ally Bean - March 21, 2016

One can be off-kilter, but can one be on-kilter? And if one is neither extreme, then is one kiltered? Seems like Dr. Seuss should have covered this topic somewhere along the line! Regardless, love the photos. Would never try that myself.

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Excellent questions, Ally Bean. You had me reaching for my dictionary. :mrgreen:

Ally Bean - March 21, 2016

Didn’t mean those questions as an assignment! Just thinking out loud I guess. Of course, if you figure out the answers…

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Words and their anomalies fascinate me.

In this case, since “kilter” means “proper condition,” I’m guessing we can be off or out of kilter . . . or on or in kilter.

While wearing a kilt remains optional!

11. brickhousechick - March 21, 2016

This is so very true. Oftentimes I feel that the less you expect, the less the disappointment. Not in a cynical way but realistically. Then when something good happens it’s a nice surprise. 🙂

nrhatch - March 21, 2016

Yes! I like to “anticipate” events without hinging my happiness on having others meet my expectations. Flexibility allows us to allow things to be as they are . . . and sometimes results in pleasant surprises!

12. Tiny - March 21, 2016

This is a perfect combo of words and images! And all of it is true… Although detachment is sometimes easier said than done.

nrhatch - March 22, 2016

Thanks, Tiny. As with all life skills (music, dance, photography, painting), we gain proficiency when we practice, practice, practice.

13. Behind the Story - March 22, 2016

That fairground ride looks like fun … if the rider goes with the flow and accepts the off-kilter feeling of sometimes being upside down and sometimes spinning helplessly around before landing upright again. I’d love to see the ride in action. Does the driver have some control? How fast can she go?

nrhatch - March 22, 2016

Doesn’t it? I believe the ride (rather than the rider) controls speed, direction, pitch, and yaw. The speed (with this rider on board) elicited giggles and smiles rather than terrified screams.

14. jannatwrites - March 22, 2016

This is true, our expectations cause a lot of grief. Love the Cat in the Hat poem 🙂

nrhatch - March 22, 2016

Yes . . . and often we’re upset that someone hasn’t met our UNSTATED expectations.

Guess we expect them to be Mind Readers. 😛

15. Val Boyko - March 22, 2016

Love this Nancy! When we loosen up our body we can loosen up our mind… Turn our body upside down and we see things differently…
We can change our thoughts by using our whole being 😊

nrhatch - March 22, 2016

Thanks, Val. The Mind-Body Connection ~> NOT a figment of our imagination.

Here’s to shifting our perspective!

Val Boyko - March 23, 2016

🙃

16. Debra - March 25, 2016

I have had a boatload of opportunities to practice these principles lately, Nancy! I would be on complete emotional overload right now if I didn’t believe that being a detached observer provided the best shelter from meltdown. I also think I’d enjoy being on that apparatus and the opportunity to practice a literal balancing act! Fun!

nrhatch - March 25, 2016

Life is like that, eh? It gives us lots and lots of opportunities to practice. Stepping into the role of detached observer gives us an immediate break from the tumult and chaos of daily challenges.

I would LOVE to try that spiro gyra (or whatever it’s called)!


What Say YOU?

