jump to navigation

“X” Am In Your Beliefs February 3, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

IMGP1472aSome of our beliefs are lurking about in the dark.  Let’s call these sub-conscious unknown beliefs “X.”

“X” am in your beliefs.

At a sub-conscious level, “X” guide our actions and interactions with others.

It’s up to us to sort through the detritus of societal conditioning and weed out beliefs that no longer serve us by shining a spotlight on them so they can no longer lurk about in the shadows.

“X” Am In Your Beliefs . . . unless and until you Examine Your Beliefs.

Don’t believe everything you think.

The Beauty of Nothingness . . .

Aah . . . that’s better!

 

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - February 3, 2016

LOVEly reminder Nancy 💛
I am a big fan of Alan Watts too… Thank you. xo

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Glad you enjoyed, Val. Getting lost in his words, letting them sink in to my sub-conscious, seems to create space for NOW.

2. Jill Weatherholt - February 3, 2016

If I believed everything I thought, I’d be a basket case. Great reminder, Nancy!

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Yes! When beliefs we’ve absorbed from others are at variance with who we are, that dichotomy creates internal stress and strife. We may have the sense that who we are is not who we were meant to be. To be free (and avoid becoming a basket case), we need to let go of those outdated stale beliefs that never belonged to us in the first place.

Aah . . . that’s better!

3. Carrie - February 3, 2016

Awesome. Thank you.

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Thanks, Carrie. I’m glad you pointed us at Roxi’s recent post, Good Enough. If we try to please everyone, we lose our center.

http://roxistclair.com/2016/02/01/good-enough/

4. Under the Oaks - February 3, 2016

No way I better believe everything I think!
Great post, Nancy!

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Morning, Pix!

Most of us are raised with notions of what it means to be a good daughter, son, sister, brother, wife, husband, member of the community, etc. Sometimes it’s impossible to fulfill all those competing expectations without losing ourselves in the process.

* If we try to comply with beliefs we don’t believe, we may grow resentful, angry, or depressed.

* If we ignore ingrained beliefs, without excising them from the shadows, we may feel guilty, fearful, or anxious.

Happiness is when what we think, what we say, and what we do are in harmony.

5. anotherday2paradise - February 3, 2016

Great reminder, Nancy. Our thoughts can really run away with us. 😕

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

When we use someone else’s yardstick to measure our actions, we are apt to come up short.

6. BunKaryudo - February 3, 2016

My kids started not believing everything I think before I even had a chance to doubt myself. I’m sure it’s true, though, that there are forgotten little notions tucked away in our brains that influence our actions in unhelpful ways.

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Many of us are “people pleasers” and “approval seekers” because it felt good when our parents, teachers, and peers approved of our actions and bad when they didn’t. Over time, we became conditioned to look to them to guide our actions.

But there are so many of them.
And they don’t always agree.

And it’s exhausting to keep looking over our shoulders for approval and external validation.

When we reclaim the reins, and start using an internal compass to guide our actions, life becomes so much easier. Especially once we’ve dumped all their “baggage” on the side of the road.

BunKaryudo - February 3, 2016

That’s true. Strangely, your comment reminds me of a scene in the TV adaptation of the Martian Chronicles in which a Martian shape changer died because he couldn’t cope with the strain imposed by trying to appear as everybody wanted him to be. One woman saw him as Jesus and that was the image that finally finished him off.

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

That’s an awesome “analogy,” Bun ~> if we are constantly changing shape depending upon who we’re with, when do we get to be who we really are underneath it all?

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - February 3, 2016

I’m working changing my thoughts! This was beautiful!

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Kate, if you’ve got time, I recommend this post by Roxi St. Clair, a new-to-me blogger:

http://roxistclair.com/2016/02/01/good-enough/

She encapsulates the precarious path we’re on when we use their beliefs to guide our actions.

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - February 3, 2016

That was beautiful!! Thank you for sharing, that article had so much truth, but I loved the real world examples… I had to follow her!

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

i felt just the same, Kate.

8. Eileen - February 3, 2016

Couldn’t say it better. And Alan Watts……a blast from my past.
I’m always amazed when I really listen to my thoughts. Scary…didn’t know all that was going on in there! 🙂
Very challenging and well done post. Thanks.

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Thanks, Eileen. When I first tuned in and heard all the “crap” (technical tantric term) running through my brain, I was HORRIFIED. I said things to myself that I would never have let someone else say to me unchallenged.

Once we eject that insecure critic (who’s always looking to others for validation), we hear the whisper of our inner voice.

9. Eileen - February 3, 2016

PS. Something I believed that I had to re-examine and tweak some.
I believed the church was a spiritual support group and was disappointed when it didn’t always turn out that way. Finally, realized that God was weaning me from depending more on people than God herself. Yes, we do sometimes need God to have skin, but God can use anyone anytime for that…not limited to “religious” people. What I’ve come to recognize in my own journey is that I love my family even when I don’t like them. Generally, if someone annoys or hurts me outside family, I can avoid them. But when I get really involved in a particular congregation, then the challenges come to learn to love even those that irritate, anger and sometimes hurt you. Like and love aren’t that same and I am gradually actually learning to love those that irritate the shit out of me…..:) perhaps that’s exactly the point. 🙂

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Your last sentence made me laugh out loud, Eileen.

“Those who annoy us are our teachers” AND its corollary ~> “Those who irritate the shit out of us are our gurus!” Namaste!

10. mybeautfulthings - February 3, 2016

Well, that set me thinking! Sometimes my thoughts are far too busy, full of whatifs. I do know these are thoughts that I should chase away and mostly I can. Thank you for your timely reminder. 🙂

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

I’ve been making a concerted effort in recent weeks not to “hang on” to thoughts that linger . . . and it’s paying HUGE dividends in peace of mind and mindful presence.

Namaste.

11. L. Marie - February 3, 2016

This is one reason why we have a brain. To consider deeply about what we believe, rather than relying on what we hear through various media.

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Yes! For every truth there is a corresponding counter-truth, as indicated by conflicting adages like:

The early bird gets the worm . . . but the early worm gets eaten.
Good things come to those who wait . . . but he who hesitates is lost.
Out of sight, out of mind . . . but absence makes the heart grow fonder.
A rolling stone gathers no moss . . . but haste makes waste.
Etc.

Trying to hang on to both sides of the coin makes us cross eyed! 🙄

12. diannegray - February 3, 2016

I love the ‘preparation for nothing’ idea and ‘conditioning for a desperate need for the future’. WOW
I’ve never heard of Alan Watts (which rock have I been hiding under my entire life?!) 😀

nrhatch - February 3, 2016

Watts is worth a look and a listen ~ many of his recorded talks and lectures are available on the Internet.

One of my absolute favorites is this one:

diannegray - February 6, 2016

I just watched it – thank you! Fantastic 😀

nrhatch - February 6, 2016

Adopting a “maybe mind” ~> bliss!

13. Debra - February 4, 2016

I wasn’t familiar with Alan Watts, Nancy. I”m glad you included the videos, I’m really interested in exploring his ideas even further. I do think we grown and change and some of our beliefs have to adjust right along with us. It sometimes feels very good to throw away some old beliefs and move along a little lighter!

nrhatch - February 4, 2016

Listening to Alan Watts is a treat ~> great ideas accompanied by a fabulous sense of humor. His mirth is barely contained so that it bubbles up and erupts into laughter with great regularity.

Listening to him is a reminder that we don’t have to take life (or death) so seriously. Here’s to living (and breathing) lighter.

14. Charlie@Seattle Trekker - February 4, 2016

So much to ponder and think about, I will carry this with me through the day.

nrhatch - February 4, 2016

Happy pondering!

15. Tiny - February 5, 2016

Great videos, Nancy! Thanks for sharing.

nrhatch - February 6, 2016

Glad you enjoyed, Tiny. Happy Travels!

16. beeblu - February 6, 2016

“..an orgy and a great banquet” 😂 Seriously, though, a very interesting clip on how we are conditioned to not live in the moment. If we are lucky, we eventually learn this trick. Thx Nancy.

nrhatch - February 6, 2016

Yes! Instead of an orgy & a great banquet, people pop a Banquet TV dinner into the oven. :mrgreen:

I love the quote he ends on:

“Making plans for the future is of use only to people who are capable of living completely in the present.”


What Say YOU?

