jump to navigation

V is for Visualize January 25, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Health & Wellness, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

Close your eyes.
Visualize.

Mickey-SurferVisualize the life you want to live AS IF you’re already living it.

* See yourself hitting a hole-in-one.

* Feel yourself balancing on a paddleboard, wind in your ears.

* Picture yourself at your healthiest & happiest.

Creating new synapses helps prune away the “dead wood” that weighs us down.

No longer choked by weeds, our lives burst into bloom.

IMGP2608b

Aah . . . that’s better!

On a related note: ย How to Become a Luckier Person Overnight (Raptitude)

Comments»

1. BunKaryudo - January 25, 2016

I’m visualizing a doughnut. No luck yet, but it’s only a matter of time. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Reach for the stars . . . and sprinkles! ๐Ÿ˜›

BunKaryudo - January 25, 2016

Hmm… sprinkles… ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Visualizing helps the mind flow free ~ like a river, the wind, a breath, or a cloud with no hesitation.

When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. ~ Lao Tzu

Mmm . . . sprinkles!

2. Under the Oaks - January 25, 2016

Visualize… it really is amazing. I have been changing my blog theme, in hopes it would motivate me to blog, and this morning as I was preparing a picture for the header my stomach was “all a worry” over my changes. I clicked over here, read your post, and visualized a happy scene I use for calming the worries and just like that the stomach was silenced. Ah-mazing! I know that visualization helps, I just forget to use it. It’s almost just too easy… ๐Ÿ™‚
Good Morning!

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Morning, Pix! Thoughts can be calming and soothing . . . or anxiety producing. It’s up to us to pick the right channel.

I look forward to seeing a bit more activity on YOUR blog. You shoot such great photos ~ clean, crisp, and bursting with color.

Under the Oaks - January 25, 2016

Aww, thank you for the nice words about my photos, Nancy.

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

De Nada! Blogging is great way to hibernate all winter. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

3. anotherday2paradise - January 25, 2016

A beautiful scene to visualise, Nancy. I’m visualising a good hair day. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Some days we sport a “hair do” . . . other days a “hair don’t.” :mrgreen:

anotherday2paradise - January 25, 2016

Hehehe. Love it! ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

And then, of course, there’s Mr. A . . . with NO hair and a BIG grin! ๐Ÿ˜€

4. Jill Weatherholt - January 25, 2016

As I sit in my freezing office, I’m visualizing sitting on a warm, sandy beach…aah…that’s better.

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

I did that a few years back on a cold day in November . . . it was just the push I needed. Four weeks later we moved to Florida!

5. brickhousechick - January 25, 2016

Visualizing is great! Today, I am visualizing myself sleeping all day (and it’s actually happening) because I overdid this weekend and my body aches! Ahhhhh, that’s much better! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Sometimes I visualize myself getting a massage while allowing my aches and pains to melt away in the ether.

And if it doesn’t work, I take a nap! Feel better, Maria.

6. Carol Ferenc - January 25, 2016

Visualization is a tool I haven’t really used but I think I’ll give it a try. I had to smile when I did visualize Mickey’s ears blowing in the wind. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Visualization is limited only by our imaginations ~ we can use it to calm down, motivate ourselves, improve our perspective, etc.

Mickey is a positive spokesmouse!

7. NancyTex - January 25, 2016

“The body achieves what the mind believes.”

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Yes! Mind over matter. A wonderful post I read this morning about how our thoughts shape our lives:

http://www.raptitude.com/2016/01/be-lucky/

8. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 25, 2016

End of last year I created my affirmation board, it really helps me visualize what I want as if I already have it and put me on a good vibrational pathway! (and apparently vibrational isn’t a word… I’m keeping it though!)

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Yay! It’s amazing the things we can do . . . to do amazing things!

9. Val Boyko - January 25, 2016

Visualizing and imagining going through the motions is the secret of athletes…. and awesome people like you Nancy! Great post.

nrhatch - January 25, 2016

Thanks, Val! Practice makes perfect . . . even if the practice involves visualizing ourselves practicing.

Here’s to seeing things with great clarity! ๐Ÿ™„

Val Boyko - January 25, 2016

โ˜บ๏ธ

10. Tiny - January 25, 2016

It actually works! Maybe not in the case of a doughnut, but definitely if you visualize a glass of champagne ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - January 26, 2016

Bubbles! We did a visualization/meditation at Aluna Wellness involving bubbles:

* We dumped our toxic thoughts (sludge) into a big bubble.
* We siphoned the “liquid gold” from the sludge into bubble 2.
* We shot bubble 1 (now toxic ash) to the far reaches of the galaxy.
* We reabsorbed “the good” from bubble 2.

Amazing and peaceful and restorative.

Tiny - January 26, 2016

I like that meditation!

nrhatch - January 26, 2016

It felt wonderful walking out of there ~ light and free of stale detritus that was no longer serving us.

11. Behind the Story - January 25, 2016

The way athletes have used visualization is encouraging. Like “Under the Oaks,” I just forget to use it. I’m going let my mind wander in the shower tonight and come up with some things I want to visualize.

nrhatch - January 26, 2016

Yay! Even if no profound change occurs, it’s a relaxing way to unwind our mind.

12. Grannymar - January 26, 2016

I am visualising my healed finger after a clash with a sharp knife yesterday. Blood thinners and cut fingers do not a pretty picture make. The kitchen looked like there had been a murder! Resting it today.,,, back to one finger typing!

nrhatch - January 26, 2016

That is NOT an image I wish to visualize. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Heal fast!

13. diannegray - January 26, 2016

I used to sit in a cold stuffy office visualizing living in the tropics in a beautiful house on a farm with some faithful hounds and a lovely creek. Hang on – I’m here! I’m not really sure how it happened, Nancy, but it did! ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - January 26, 2016

Yes! Me too! When I was THERE, I imagined being HERE. And NOW I am HERE. Shazam!

14. ayietim1 - January 27, 2016

Visualizing enhances creativity and it is an important problem solving tool. A beautiful post.

nrhatch - January 28, 2016

I agree. Visualizing calms the mind and de-stresses the body which helps clear out the underbrush to make space for creativity and problem solving.

15. Debra - January 28, 2016

I 100% believe this is the secret to getting along well, no matter the circumstances. I don’t think we should expect anyone else to think better of us or our circumstances than we can imagine for ourselves!

nrhatch - January 28, 2016

And if there is something we must do that is giving us cause for pause, visualizing increases our proficiency and confidence ~ e.g., we can visualize ourselves presenting a STELLAR speech, or flying CALMLY from point A to point B, or navigating rush hour traffic with EASE . . . or anything else.

And even if it doesn’t “manifest magic,” it calms the mind and de-stresses the body which is ALL GOOD!


What Say YOU?

