jump to navigation

Learn To Be Still January 21, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Books & Movies, Music & Dance.
trackback

Alan Rickman, David Bowie, and Glenn Frey died this week, each of them taking a final bow before reaching their 70th year.

Alan Rickman flew under my radar until he sneered on screen as Severus Snape.  Like Dumbledore before him, Snape will live on in my imagination.

And now three favorite songs from musicians who helped transform me from who I was then to who I am now.

David Bowie ~ Rebel Rebel

David Bowie ~ Changes

Glenn Frey & the Eagles ~ Learn To Be Still

My only uncle died this week too . . .

IMGP3559b

But not until after he had a chance to celebrate his 91st birthday last summer!

2015-03-21 16-04-47_0003

We don’t have forever.  Only the time we are here.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. jannatwrites - January 21, 2016

That last line says a lot. In my mind, I added ‘so make the most of every moment.’ I’m sorry you had to say goodbye to your uncle, however 91 is a long life. I’m glad you had him here for that long.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

He had a good life with regular interactions with his kids, grandkids, and great grandkids. He stayed healthy by doing lots of walking, including an early morning walking paper route around dirt roads in Vermont. He enjoyed being the baseball coach for the Windsor High School, leading them to two state championships.

http://www.vnews.com/sports/20608824-95/recalling-the-eagle-windsor-legend-royce-dies-at-age-91

beeblu - January 28, 2016

A spirited soul to the very end. I’m sorry your family has to be without him now, Nancy.

nrhatch - January 28, 2016

Thanks, BB. To be able to participate for all 9 innings is a great gift. “Play ball!”

2. Jill Weatherholt - January 21, 2016

I’m sorry for your loss, Nancy. How nice you were able to celebrate your uncle’s 91st birthday.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

We got together with him every year here in Florida when he came down to watch Red Sox spring training.

He breathed baseball!

http://www.wsesu.net/news/2016/1/20/leon-c-royce-1924-2016

3. Val Boyko - January 21, 2016

It was quite a week Nancy. I’m so sorry your uncle has died … May the memories bring smiles and comfort 💛

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Val. Lots of great memories ~ picnics on the hill, riding around dirt roads, being “at bat” in the batting cage in his back yard. Baseball was his thing!

http://www.timesargus.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060504/NEWS/605040363/1004/EDUCATION05?template=printart

Val Boyko - January 21, 2016

Leon Royce? Sounds like a great guy!

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Yes. Leon Coolidge Royce . . . “the Eagle.”

4. Under the Oaks - January 21, 2016

It was very nice you were able to celebrate your Uncle’s 91st birthday and he looks like he enjoyed the moments… and the day.
Alan Rickman has long been on my radar… I have had a teeny crush on him for years. I didn’t watch the Harry Potter movies but CH loved them.
Bowie always fascinated me and I loved the song he co-wrote with John Lennon… Fame. I also loved Let’s Dance. Sad about Glenn Frey. The Eagles were played frequently… college music for me.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Music is such a big part of growing up. When I listen to bands from my teens, it’s almost like Time Travel.

My uncle was always fun to be around. He’ll be missed.

http://www.vnews.com/news/townbytown/windsor/20608824-95/recalling-the-eagle-windsor-legend-royce-dies-at-age-91

5. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 21, 2016

I’m very sorry for the loss of your Uncle, but it looks like y’all got to spend some good time together and I know that you’ll have dear memories to hold onto when you need.
And yes, I’ve just been heartbroken over the loss of such legends!

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Kate. We had wonderful times with Uncle Leon, both here and in Vermont. A good man with a big heart.

It’s nice that these legends left pieces of themselves behind.

6. Carrie - January 21, 2016

What a lovely post. I appreciate the appreciation you so beautifully expressed for each of these creative and courageous souls. Blessings to you as you enjoy the memories of your beloved uncle.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Carrie. He had a great life. Until the last 2 days before he died, he remained active, healthy, and alert. Not bad for 91.

7. NancyTex - January 21, 2016

May they all rest in peace.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Yes . . . while they live on in our hearts and memories. ❤

8. Kate Crimmins - January 21, 2016

It’s been a helluva week. I am sorry for your loss but glad you got to see him regularly. Enjoy your time.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Kate. I shed a few tears this week when I learned that Uncle Leon had died. Sorrow is the price we pay for joy.

But I enjoyed listening to some Bowie and Eagles tunes during Happy Hour ~ a blast from the past we can still enjoy.

9. suzicate - January 21, 2016

I’m sorry your uncle died.
Yes, those master musical magicians touched me too! This was a sad week for rock and roll.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Suzi. My uncle was tons of fun. So many good memories. And I’ve been enjoying listening to iconic tunes from these master musicians, during Happy Hour(s) this week.

Rock on!

10. anotherday2paradise - January 21, 2016

It’s been a bad year so far for losing some of the icons of my youth. Yes they all certainly had an influence on me too. Your uncle looks like he was a happy man. I’m sure you have many fond memories of him. Condolences to you and the rest of his family.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Sylvia. My uncle had a good sense humor and a heaping helping of common sense.

A great combination for a happy life.

11. Carol Ferenc - January 21, 2016

So sorry for the loss of your uncle, Nancy. Being active and spending time with family at age 91 ~ it doesn’t get any better than that.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Carol. He stayed active for all of his 91+ years ~> a great RX for mental and physical well being.

Carol Ferenc - January 22, 2016

Oh, yes, I really believe that’s the key!

12. L. Marie - January 21, 2016

My condolences on the loss of your uncle, Nancy.
What a week! My cousin died of cancer recently too.

nrhatch - January 21, 2016

Thanks, Marie. Sorry to hear about your cousin. Cancer takes too many too soon.

13. Debra - January 22, 2016

I was already in a “mood” with David Bowie and Alan Rickman, and then when Glenn Frey died this week I really thought about how wealth and fame aren’t any protection from disease or illness. None of us can say with certainty that we’ll see 91 like your dear uncle. What a gift to have that long life as well as a gift to your family to have had him so long. I’m still sorry for your loss. It always feels too soon.

nrhatch - January 22, 2016

Uncle Leon seemed younger than his stated age ~ closer to 70 than 90. He kept in great shape and stayed active, and he was 100% “with it” ~ sharp and alert right up until this week. I thought he might outlive me.

None of us knows how long we have. Best to enjoy the day.

On that note, I sent you an e-mail with a link to a story I thought you might enjoy. Here’s the link:

https://savingplaces.org/stories/bay-area-chinese-maritime-history#.VqIwYZorJkg

14. diannegray - January 22, 2016

I’m so sorry for the loss of your uncle, Nancy. What a lovely long and productive life he must have had – something we all wish for xxx

Changes is my favourite! I’m listening to it now as I write this and have goosebumps all over 😀

nrhatch - January 23, 2016

Thanks, Dianne. He had a full life ~ living in a small Vermont town, married to my aunt for 67 years, raising kids, coaching baseball, and (since retirement) heading south for the winter.

Changes really resonates . . . even after all these years.

15. Behind the Story - January 23, 2016

Although we mourn every loss of a loved one, it sounds as though celebration is more appropriate for the long and full life your uncle lived.

Thanks for the videos. I wasn’t familiar with Learn to Be Still. I like it.

nrhatch - January 23, 2016

A celebration of life would be just the thing!

When I heard that Glenn Frey died, “Learn To Be Still” started playing in my head. That afternoon at Happy Hour, I listened to the Hell Freezes Over CD and enjoyed the beautiful lyrics ~ “. . . waiting for your heart to awaken . . . and someday it will . . . learn to be still.”

I sent you an e-mail yesterday with a link to a story I thought you might enjoy about Chinese shrimpers in San Francisco Bay. Here’s the link:

https://savingplaces.org/stories/bay-area-chinese-maritime-history#.VqIwYZorJkg

Behind the Story - January 23, 2016

Thank you for the link, Nancy. I just got around to reading the article this morning. Very interesting!

nrhatch - January 23, 2016

Glad you enjoyed. I thought it might strike a chord with you.

16. livelytwist - January 23, 2016

My condolences Nancy. I hope your uncle lived well.

nrhatch - January 23, 2016

Thanks, Timi. My uncle, like many Vermonters, had an understated stoic charm ~ a refreshing quality that allowed him to live well no matter what happened around him.

17. BunKaryudo - January 23, 2016

I was sorry to hear about your uncle. Your last line gets it exactly right. We have to make the most of the time we have.

nrhatch - January 23, 2016

Thanks, Bun. Here’s to making the most of the moment at hand.


What Say YOU?

