jump to navigation

Playing Tug-Of-War with Elephants January 19, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

2015-03-04 14-23-45_0027Having had more than a few “dark days” when my sense of humor was MIA, I’ve learned to stop wrestling with thoughts that threaten to drown me in the abyss.

Instead of playing a losing game of tug-of-war with elephants, I “let go” of my end of the rope and walk away.

Trusting the Universe to unfold as it should until I am once again ready to steer into the wind.

Aah . . . that’s better!

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road.”  ~ Henry Ward Beecher

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - January 19, 2016

That is one really cool elephant Nancy! I wouldn’t mind rollerskating with him.
What a great reminder to let go of those thoughts that pull us down, and reconnect with our sense of humor.
Life is serious enough without getting too serious about it 😉

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Yes! When we overthink things, our thoughts can spiral out of control, spinning us around in circles without getting us anywhere. It’s just as productive to find something to laugh and smile about ~ like rollerskating with elephants ~ until life decides what it’s going to do.

2. BunKaryudo - January 19, 2016

He looks like rather a well-mannered elephant to me. Perhaps you should invite him round for a cup of tea instead of competing with him in athletic events.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Do you think an elephant would be satisfied with a cup of tea?

I’ve never invited one to tea for fear that it might quaff the entire pot and still leave unsatisfied. 🙄

BunKaryudo - January 19, 2016

Well that is true. They can be quite demanding. Also, when there’s an elephant in the room, everybody knows it’s there but nobody likes to talk about it.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Haha! True dat.

3. Under the Oaks - January 19, 2016

A sense of humor goes a very long way!

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

My most valuable possession!

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 19, 2016

Love this – I’m currently in the midst of what could possibly be a massive shift in my life – I’m learning that it is okay to have less than sunshine-and-unicorn feelings and to acknowledge them, but not fight with them, instead let them flow, take what they reveal and learn. 🙂

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Wise words, Kate. Wrestling with imaginings is exhausting and seldom leads to satisfying conclusions. Far better to kick back, relax, and go with the flow until we see what will be.

5. Jill Weatherholt - January 19, 2016

Ever notice how good it feels to do a deep belly laugh? It’s like a jolt of caffeine. I love to be around people who laugh.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

I love to laugh. Whenever I resigned from a job, co-workers would say ~> “We’re going to miss your laugh.”

Not me. Just my laugh! LOL!!!

6. L. Marie - January 19, 2016

My thoughts have definitely spiraled out of control lately. Trying to rein them in like the bucking broncos they are.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

It’s exhausting to wrestle with the little beasties! Far better to do something else until they get tuckered out.

7. NancyTex - January 19, 2016

Love the analogy of dropping the rope in the tug-o-war. Reminds me of a meme I saw, “Let go or be dragged.”

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

That’s perfect, NT! Playing tug-of-war with recalcitrant thoughts is a DRAG! :mrgreen:

And sometimes we’ve got nothing to show for it but rope burn.

NancyTex - January 19, 2016

Indeed!

8. Kate Crimmins - January 19, 2016

Humor is like Valium only better.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

And Humor + Valium = Perfect Together!

9. aFrankAngle - January 19, 2016

That pic made me laugh … and cheers to a sense of humor.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Yes! Here’s to tickling our funny bone chakras!

“A well-developed sense of humor is the pole that adds balance to your steps as you walk the tightrope of life.” ~ William Arthur Ward

10. suzicate - January 19, 2016

That is one cool elephant!
Yes, overthinking can make humor take a walk…I’ve definitely been guilty of this.

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

My week is not complete without gales of laughter. This afternoon, I said something “stupid” without thinking ~ it gave me a real case of giggle gut!

11. Cynthia - January 19, 2016

The roller skating (on square wheels!) elephant is wonderful. It’s not easy to let those elephant thoughts go. Good for you!

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Good eye! As many times as I’ve looked at that elephant . . . I never noticed the square wheels on the his skates.

12. Eileen - January 19, 2016

Love the metaphor of tug of war with an elephant….that is what it feels like. Also, like the life without humor is like a wagon without springs……Good ones!!

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Thanks, Eileen. Here’s to hanging on to our sense of humor . . . even on the bumpiest roads!

13. Tiny - January 19, 2016

Here’s to trusting that the universe will unfold as it should even when we’re not trying to steer things!

nrhatch - January 20, 2016

Hear! Hear! It’s OK to pretend that we are not Master and Commander of the Universe. 😛

14. anotherday2paradise - January 20, 2016

Life without humor is as unthinkable as a life without music. Thanks for the wise words today, Nancy. A tug of war with an elephant can never be won. 🙂

nrhatch - January 20, 2016

Music, Laughter, Chocolate ~> Essentials! :mrgreen:

anotherday2paradise - January 20, 2016

Oh yes, I almost forgot the chocolate. How remiss of me! 😳

nrhatch - January 20, 2016

An innocent oversight. 😛

15. Carol Ferenc - January 20, 2016

Letting go of the end of the rope and walking away ~ love it! Very wise words, indeed.

nrhatch - January 20, 2016

It really makes all the difference when I want to stop spinning my wheels because I’m not getting anywhere.


What Say YOU?

