jump to navigation

Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure January 13, 2016

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Life Balance, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

IMGP3881On a walk, uplifting thoughts fell on stone deaf ears.

Happiness comes first to those who are already smiling.

Blind to the good, Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure mined a ponderous pile of grievances and gripes to regale with stale tales.

How refreshing the whinny of a pack horse fully unloaded! ~ Classic Haiku

Sometimes the teacher appears before the student is ready.

Aah . . . that’s better!

As shown by the parable of the Chinese Farmer, it pays to develop a “Maybe Mind”

 

 

Comments»

1. BunKaryudo - January 13, 2016

I liked the bit about happiness coming first to those who are already smiling. I walk around with a perpetual grin on my face to catch any available happiness at the earliest possible opportunity.

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Awesome sauce! It’s amazing how different our perspective is when we greet the world with a grin instead of a grimace.

BunKaryudo - January 13, 2016

I quite agree. 😀

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

I’m not surprised given that perpetual grin on your head bag.

2. Under the Oaks - January 13, 2016

Certainly being happy attracts happy. On days I have a cranky I notice it just keeps going downhill until I wake up and change my direction.

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Walking around with a smile pays HUGE dividends! Here’s one for YOU! 😀

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - January 13, 2016

I have felt a “teacher” around the corner, for the last several months, I knew this teacher was going to show up, no one believed me, but I could sense it. And last night it happened… have no clue what the lesson will be, but I’m showing up to learn! 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

If you learn something worth sharing . . . do tell!

4. Jill Weatherholt - January 13, 2016

It’s so easy to smile, and I think it burns a couple calories too. 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

It probably does . . . compounded by the extra calories burned due to the spring in our steps!

Val Boyko - January 13, 2016

I’m counting on it Jill 😃

5. L. Marie - January 13, 2016

That cranky looking statue cracks me up!
Lots of truth here!

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

I want that statue to post at our moat . . . to discourage riff raff! :mrgreen:

6. You Were Born To Succeed - January 13, 2016

So true. Some days I walk with Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure (such an apt name) until I’m tired of her rantings and with a mighty effort, as if throwing off a tremendous weight, change my perspective and leave her behind, jabbering in the distance until my new thoughts drown her out. Ha!

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Satisfaction breeds satisfaction.

7. anotherday2paradise - January 13, 2016

“You’re never fully dressed without a smile.” 🙂

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Well said!

8. colonialist - January 13, 2016

I have often noticed how fairly plain people become really attractive when walking with a smile, while those with perfect features often seem ugly when sullen or scowling.

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Yes!!! Except for toddlers who are cute even if scowling. 🙄

9. beeblu - January 13, 2016

Some just love being miserable.

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Maybe they think company loves misery? 😛

10. Val Boyko - January 13, 2016

Lighten up and share the light 💛

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

I tried . . . it fell on deaf ears. 🙄

Val Boyko - January 13, 2016

Thanks for the inspiration for a post about the angry monkey. Coming to a screen near your soon!

nrhatch - January 14, 2016

Bring it!

11. Grannymar - January 13, 2016

I read the post title: Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure and thought you were talking/writing about me! ROFLOL!

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

Bwahaha! Never YOU, GM.

12. Carol Ferenc - January 13, 2016

I’ve felt like that pack horse, on occasion, when I’ve slipped away from people like Our Lady.

nrhatch - January 13, 2016

YES!!! We’re content and going with the flow until they unload their wheelbarrow of woe onto our shoulders.

We have to be like that donkey in the well:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/the-donkey-in-the-well/

Carol Ferenc - January 13, 2016

Yay for the donkey ~ what an intelligent critter!!

nrhatch - January 14, 2016

Yup . . . a real smart ass. 😉

13. Cecilia - January 14, 2016

Wonderful, simply wonderful!

14. diannegray - January 14, 2016

A smile always confuses an approaching frown 😀

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

Yes! It makes them wonder what we’ve been up to. :mrgreen:

15. Debra - January 15, 2016

A friend of mine used to refer to a woman we both knew as “our Lady of perpetual complaint. I would laugh every time I heard it, and knew it to be true. So many are “blind to the good,” and that’s actually what sells today, so it’s easy to fall into that habit and not even hear ourselves. A great encouragement, Nancy!

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

Haha! I wonder whether Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure would hit it off with Our Lady of Perpetual Complaint? :mrgreen:

Would they bond over their “blind to the good” habitual response to the world? Or would they grow annoyed at having to share the spotlight?

I sometimes catch myself spiraling in the wrong direction. I try to reverse gears as soon as I notice the free fall.

16. Eileen - January 15, 2016

Is Our Lady of Perpetual Displeasure your creation? Can I use it if I give you credit? That is toooo good not to pass on.

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

As far as I know, it’s my creation ~> you can use it with or without attribution. Pass it on! :mrgreen:

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

I just gave it a quick google and the only reference that surfaced was back to this post. So feel free to use it as you wish!

17. Eileen - January 15, 2016

I have noticed a tendency in myself when around either a total Pollyanna or a Lady of Perpetual Displeasure to unconsciously take the opposite role, I guess for some sort of balance!!!

Eileen - January 15, 2016

Of course, that leaves the question of whom weighed in first and whom set about balancing. Maybe I need to become a bit more self aware. 🙂

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

I smiled as I read each of your comments, Eileen.

Maintaining balance is important, especially when people are threatening to bring us down.

18. Tiny - January 15, 2016

And you didn’t run away? I probably would’ve. Smiling.

nrhatch - January 15, 2016

Well . . . I didn’t run away that day, but I have made myself scarce ever since so as not to have another good walk spoiled.

19. reocochran - January 18, 2016

Nancy, your statue you featured is funny as well as your post uplifting. No displeasure here! 🙂 Robin

nrhatch - January 19, 2016

Yay! I love lawn statuary with “attitude.” That little guy is located at the Ringling Museum in Sarasota.


What Say YOU?

