jump to navigation

Natural Resolutions & Remedies December 29, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Gratitude, Health & Wellness, Humor.
trackback

If your New Year’s Resolutions focus on Health and Wellness, here are a few natural remedies to consider:

catlady

Turmeric has been touted as a “brain health miracle.”

I’m not surprised.

I’ve eaten turmeric and curry for most of my 121 years.

And my memory is still as sharp as a pillow.

* * *

237px-Kustodiev_Merchants_Wife

I’ve heard that 2 Tbsp. of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar may aid digestion.

That makes sense to me given the enzymes and the acid which help to break down ingested matter.

But life is uncertain . . .

So eat dessert first!

OPA!

* * *

Mickey-OKAnd last, but not least . . .

Switching the broadcast from “gripes” to “gratitude” ALWAYS pays B~I~G dividends.

Gratitude magnifies happiness.

And it’s HEART healthy.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Related posts:  Calcium in Plant-Based Diets (PCRM); Honey & Cinnamon (Snopes)(great for everything from colds to cancer); Space for Gratitude (Find Your Middle Ground)

 

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - December 29, 2015

Love these tips Nancy!!!
Thanks for the re-blog too 💛

nrhatch - December 29, 2015

To Gratitude!

Val Boyko - December 29, 2015

I’ll drink to that Nancy 🍷

2. Jill Weatherholt - December 29, 2015

Gratitude is the best natural remedy…and it’s free!

nrhatch - December 29, 2015

Gratitude rocks! We have a message board on an antique desk. Today’s Message: YAY!!!

3. NancyTex - December 29, 2015

Turmeric also aids in detoxifying your liver! It’s a multitalented spice!

nrhatch - December 29, 2015

Awesome, NT! Especially for those of us who have “pickled” our liver a time or two . . . hundred.

NancyTex - December 29, 2015

guilty!

4. Under the Oaks - December 29, 2015

I am not a fan of curry but I should try tumeric!

nrhatch - December 29, 2015

When we cook rice, we toss a tsp. or two into the water and end up with beautiful yellow rice.

5. William D'Andrea - December 29, 2015

On TV I’ve seen ads for a brain supplement named Prevagen, which is supposed to help improve memory. It’s made from a substance taken from jellyfish. While it sounds good, a jellyfish is not something that I’d want to put in my mouth. While it might help make you smart, it depends what you mean by “smart”.
If anyone would like to check it out please go to
https://www.prevagen.com/
A Happy New Year everyone!

nrhatch - December 29, 2015

Happy New Year! And enjoy the tail end of 2015.

6. Debra - December 30, 2015

I believe that keeping a positive attitude is probably the best health trick there is. I have never seen it fail in the people I’ve admired over time. Even older family members with chronic illness lived beyond expectations because of the way they embraced positivity and declined to slip into griping and complaining. It’s so easy to take on negativity because it’s almost everywhere you turn, but it really can be canceled with practice! 🙂 I think turmeric is a good supplement as well…so positivity and lots of curry in 2016! Happiest of New Year’s to you and BFF, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 30, 2015

I agree 100%. Positive vibrations make us feel better right NOW and keep the doctor away tomorrow.

The habit of reaching for negative news as a conversation starter is ubiquitous. Yesterday, at water aerobics, someone couldn’t wait to tell me about something bad that happened to someone who moved away a couple years ago ~ someone I never knew well.

I nodded and moved away from the “constant bearer of bad news” b/c I’m convinced that circulating negative news through our brains in an endless loop is like bathing in toxic sludge.

OK . . . my gripe is done!
Happy New Year, Debra!!!

7. BunKaryudo - December 30, 2015

Oh, I really like that last point. It’s so true! A bit of positive energy can lift everybody up, and of course constant griping just drags everybody down. 🙂

nrhatch - December 30, 2015

I had a friend who kept me in check if I ran off the rails:

STOP YER BELLYACHING!!!

But he said it in the nicest possible way! :mrgreen:

BunKaryudo - December 30, 2015

Yes, I also have my grumpy moments, but moaning never seems to make me feel any better about things. I usually have more success with changing to a more positive subject and talking about it instead (probably to everybody else’s relief too). 🙂

nrhatch - December 31, 2015

What we focus on expands . . . gratitude lifts us UP and griping drags us DOWN.

Complaining about this, that, and the other thing = Hot Air!

8. diannegray - December 30, 2015

Happy Gratitude New Year, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 30, 2015

Thanks, Dianne! I’ve got a big pot of Hoppin’ John on the stove to bring us health, happiness, luck, and good fortune in the New Year. I added turmeric to mine instead of ham::

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hoppin%27_John

9. L. Marie - December 30, 2015

Great advice all around, Nancy! (Adding tumeric to my list if I don’t forget to do so.) 😀

nrhatch - December 30, 2015

We throw a tsp. or two into curries and also into rice or potatoes while they’re cooking. It adds seasoning and color. Enjoy!

10. Patricia - December 30, 2015

Good advise from you as usual.

nrhatch - December 30, 2015

Thanks, Patricia. Happy New Year!

11. Carol Ferenc - December 31, 2015

Switching from gripes to gratitude ~ the best natural remedy there is! Happy New Year, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 31, 2015

When we got gratitude going for us, we’re golden! Hope you end the year on a HIGH note, wreathed in smiles.

12. Tiny - December 31, 2015

Thanks for this great health advice, Nancy, with perfectly fitting images 🙂

nrhatch - December 31, 2015

Thanks, Tiny. I love ending posts with a wink from Mickey!

13. reocochran - December 31, 2015

You are so kind to give your sources and so funny: always! 🙂
I fell behind even on my own replies on my blog. There was a whole 12 (forgotten dozen) that I missed on a December post. Take care and you certainly look fantastic for 121 years, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 31, 2015

Thanks, Robin! Hope the coming year is full of happy moments for you . . . even if you “fall behind” on your To Be Dones.


What Say YOU?

