jump to navigation

What Does Green Mean? December 15, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

Frog-CircusIf we are busy thinking, analyzing, judging, comparing, contrasting, or ruminating on Rumi, we have stepped out of pure awareness.

Instead of experiencing “this moment” directly, we are filtering “this moment” through the cloudy lens of past experience and future expectation.

We lose touch with the Now.

As we SIFT through Sensations, Images, Feelings, and Thoughts, a ticker tape of memories broadcast from the cluttered storehouse of our monkey minds causes our consciousness of experience to SHIFT.

No longer fully present in the fullness of the present moment, we hurl through crowded mental corridors populated by echoes of the past.

Now, let’s mindfully shift gears.

Imagine trying to explain “green” to someone who is color blind and has never experienced any of the colors of the rainbow.

Wow!  That would be . . . challenging.

We’re apt to become “lost in space” as we consider what “green” might mean to Hueless Hugh.

It’s no wonder we get bogged down when we ask questions like, “Who Am I?”

Instead of experiencing “I” directly, by letting go of thought (perhaps while meditating on the mantra, “I am that I am”), we engage in amusing musings about what “I” might mean.

But if we can’t explain what something as simple as “green” might mean to someone who has never experienced it, how can we hope to comprehend what “I” might mean without first experiencing it?

Green-Yin-YangTo shift back to pure awareness, we might follow Lao Tzu’s thread instead:

Just remain in the center, watching.
And then forget that you are there.
~ Lao Tzu (c.604 – 531 B.C.)

Aah . . . that’s better!

Attempting to understand consciousness with your mind is like trying to illuminate the sun with a candle. ~ White Fire, Mooji

Related post:  Mindfulness is the Opposite of Neediness (Raptitude)

Comments»

1. Rainee - December 15, 2015

Wise words Nancy 🙂

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

It’s wonderful to relax into the unfolding of life, without demands or expectations. Just allowing this moment to be as it is.

2. Jill Weatherholt - December 15, 2015

“If we are busy thinking, analyzing, judging, comparing, contrasting, or ruminating on Rumi, we have stepped out of pure awareness.” This is so true, Nancy. It’s exhausting too!
I love the Mooji quote.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Ruminating on Rumi and musing about Mooji => great fun. Even if we must step out of awareness to wander through crowded thought corridors to ponder echoes.

3. jannatwrites - December 15, 2015

Love that last quote. Too much thinking isn’t productive and it is debilitating and disorienting.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

The way we desire to “think things through” is such a habitual response to life.

I’ve been practicing “not deciding” . . . just going with the flow of the present moment to see where it leads. When I’m awake and aware in the present moment, I know exactly what to do, be, or say without “deciding.”

Eat when hungry. Sleep when tired. Move when restless.

4. Hariod Brawn - December 15, 2015

“Colourless green ideas sleep furiously” Chomsky’s sensible bit of nonsense – a bit like the idea of the ‘self of me’ making sense, but only up to a point. When we examine it closely, it dissolves into meaninglessness. o_O

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

That’s one for the Jabberwocky! 😛

5. Val Boyko - December 15, 2015

..or describing the sky to someone who can’t see. Love this Nancy!
Its easy to get lost in head space and forget about being in the now.
Love this Mooji quote 💛

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Glad the post resonated. It’s hard to encapsulate concepts to someone who has not experienced them directly ~ whether it’s the expansiveness of the sky or of the eternal spirit within

6. Don - December 15, 2015

That quote by Lao Tzu is profound, Nancy.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Practicing mindfulness with that quote in mind reminds me to remain awake and aware . . . until I forget that I am there.

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 15, 2015

This gave me chills! I am working very hard on letting go of my filters, and this provided some validation, and I may be coming at it backwards… instead of working to let go of the filter, I should work more on experiencing me. 🙂 Good thoughts for my morning! Thank you!

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Now, while practicing “being in the moment,” I focus on the senses ~ feeling the breeze, watching the leaves sway in the trees, etc. I try to turn off the rest of the inner commentary.

Chop wood. Carry water. Here, Now.

8. anotherday2paradise - December 15, 2015

I had to read this through a few times, Nancy. Lao Tzu was a great teacher indeed.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Yes! Lao Tzu => a grounded guru . . . present to the present of the present.

9. Under the Oaks - December 15, 2015

Lao Tzu quote… BIG!
Last night I was flirting with clouding up my now with future fears and I pulled back to the now… listening to Christmas songs and enjoying the lights on the tree.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Yay, you! The more mindful we are, the quicker we notice the clouds rolling in, threatening to obscure our view.

Awake and aware, we watch each cloud drift away as we return our attention to Here, Now.

10. Tiny - December 15, 2015

Right now I am. Enjoying your piece. Just letting it float in something soft, which might be my consciousness.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Awesome sauce! I’ve been more mindful of “going with the flow” and it is paying H~U~G~E dividends. I’m no longer the prisoner of my past or the architect of the future . . . I am here. Now.

Tiny - December 15, 2015

Sounds wonderful Nancy!

11. wheremyfeetare - December 15, 2015

What I strive for everyday…staying in the present moment. So hard to do Nancy. I’ve never see the SIFT acronym before, Thanks!

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

I saw SIFT on a video I watched a few weeks ago. I would give you the link, but it’s “lost from view.” 🙄

12. William D'Andrea - December 15, 2015

I find my memories and expectations, either pleasant or unpleasant, much more interesting, than contemplating how just bored I am at this particular moment.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

When I am firmly ground in the moment, I am never bored because I have never experienced “this moment” before.

William D'Andrea - December 17, 2015

The reason I was bored, is that the monitor on my home computer had ceased to function. I’ve had to use only the computers at my local library, where my time is very limited. I’m only able to write short messages like this. At home, I can take all the time I want to compose everything I want.
Last Thursday, I purchased a refurbish monitor, using the facilities of amazon.com. It was finally delivered yesterday evening, when I set it up.
Now everything is back to normal, and I am now able to enjoy life without doing a thing.

nrhatch - December 17, 2015

Excellent! Glad you can enjoy life again.

13. colonialist - December 15, 2015

There is, of course, no such thing as the present. By the time you have said ‘This is present’ it has become past. I like the present that comes in the future, though – like my Christmas one! 🙂

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Here, we part ways, Col. For me, there is no time BUT the present. The past is but an echo and the future but a dream.

We are Here and it is Now . . . Now . . . Now . . . Now.

colonialist - December 15, 2015

But as soon as you say ‘Now’ it is Past. Only the past and future exist in our consciousness, because by the time the present registers it is already past. You can, however, live in the immediate past and the immediate future!
Old song from a musical:
‘Though folks there be who never foresee
That the future holds anything pleasant,
Who grimly cast their eyes on the past,
And who gaze with dismay at the present,
The golden rule for sage or fool,
For prince or poet or peasant,
Is come what may at work or play
Live, just live for today!’

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Sorry. Still not persuaded. For me, it is always . . . NOW.

14. Carol Ferenc - December 15, 2015

I read this twice and will be re-reading a few more times. Very inspiring and wise. I love both quotes too.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Glad it resonated, Carol. I love those quotes ~ a good teacher points us in the right direction, but doesn’t tell us what we’ll see.

Carol Ferenc - December 15, 2015

That’s the best kind of teacher.

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

I agree. Who needs a “holier than thou” lecture when we can experience the truth for ourselves.

15. diannegray - December 15, 2015

Float with the stream and not against it is my mantra, Nancy. I just enjoy the ride no matter where it takes me (although some the awful stuff is great writing fodder!) 😉

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Just so! It’s easier to go with the flow and live in a state of acceptance, no longer needing to characterize everything as “good” or “bad” (as if we had omnipotent vision).

Barn’s burnt down ~ now I can see the moon. Masahide (1657-1723)

diannegray - December 15, 2015

Oh – what an awesome quote, Nancy. That’s right up my alley 😀

nrhatch - December 15, 2015

Thought it might resonate for you, Dianne. Another favorite before I head off to the land of Nod:

Embrace all with joy ~ anything can be a gift of gold in disguise.

16. L. Marie - December 16, 2015

“Instead of experiencing “this moment” directly, we are filtering “this moment” through the cloudy lens of past experience and future expectation.” So very true, Nancy! I find myself pulled away quite often out of worry or frustration instead of letting things go.

nrhatch - December 16, 2015

Worry and frustration can tug at the corners of our thoughts until we are dizzy. Even 5 minutes of “letting things go” each day can pay H~U~G~E dividends.

Be Here Now!

17. NancyTex - December 16, 2015

I have reread that Mooji quote 3x now. Some good food for thought for me this evening.

nrhatch - December 16, 2015

Here’s to noodling over Mooji ~> HO~HO~HO!

18. Debra - December 16, 2015

There’s nothing like really letting go, is there, Nancy? Sometimes life gets really in a knot and I have to recall how good it feels to float and go back to that. Thanks for the reminder…it comes at a very good time. 🙂

nrhatch - December 17, 2015

This fall, I’ve been focused on letting go of anything and everything that no longer serves me (which includes recycling habitual thoughts that don’t bring me JOY). This change acted as catalyst for other changes. Bottom line, I’ve even “let go” of a few extra pounds on the bathroom scale. :mrgreen:

So life literally is LIGHTER!

19. Behind the Story - December 17, 2015

Color is such a pleasure. Green just is. There’s no way to explain it. It has to be experienced. I love green, blue, red, yellow, and all the colors and shades in between.

nrhatch - December 18, 2015

Colors, sights, sounds, aromas, textures, tastes . . . life is such a cornucopia of gifts!

20. livelytwist - December 18, 2015

Lol @ ruminating on Rumi 😄

nrhatch - December 18, 2015

Ego is a funny beastie. :mrgreen:

21. BunKaryudo - December 22, 2015

Love the Lao Tzu quote.

nrhatch - December 23, 2015

It’s wonderful to relax into the unfolding of life, without demands or expectations. Just allowing this moment to be as it is.

And the older I get, the easier it is to forget where I am. 😉

BunKaryudo - December 23, 2015

I guess that’s true. When I was a teenager, I was so self-conscious, I thought that every single thing I did was being watched and evaluated with marks out of ten by the rest of the world. I’m a bit less like that nowadays, although I’m not sure if I’d go as far as to say that I can lose myself in the moment. Maybe that will come eventually. 🙂

nrhatch - December 23, 2015

That sounds like me as a teen.

“We see the world behind our eyes” ~> if we evaluate every thing we say and do, we assume other people are doing that too. But 9 times out of 10, they aren’t focused on us at all because they’re focused on themselves.

Now, I WATCH moments unfold one by one. With quiet confidence. I get so engrossed in watching what’s happening, that I forget that I am there. BLISS!


What Say YOU?

