jump to navigation

Inside Out December 9, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Meditation, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

Grumpy gusInside Out provides an Insider’s perspective on the competing emotions in our brain ~ Joy, Sadness, Fear, Disgust, and Anger.

Immersed in thoughts sent by Joy, Riley exudes joy. When Sadness takes the helm, Riley sinks.

If Fear grabs the controls, caution prevails.  With Anger calling the shots, Riley snaps at her parents.

Thoughts season our experiences and expectations.

As a quick experiment, follow one of these thoughts and observe how your reaction shifts:

Donald-Duck-BaseballA.  “I can’t believe she said that!  Who does she think she is?  I am so tired of listening to her go on and on and on about . . .”

B.  “Another terrorist attack?   Why would someone do that?  What is wrong with them?”

C.  “My To Do List is a mile long.  I’ll never get it all done.  Something’s gotta give . . . ”

Mickey-LoungingD.  “This is going to be fantastic fun!  It’s going to be a blast to catch up with everyone after all these years.  I can’t wait to see what . . .”

E.  “Om.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

When we put peace of mind ahead of all else, we discover the power that lies within. ~ Joseph V. Bailey

 

Comments»

1. Under the Oaks - December 9, 2015

I think we need to get Inside Out from netflix!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

I enjoyed it, Pix. In addition to the charming caricatures of our competing emotions, I loved seeing someone’s vision about how memories are stored (or trashed) and how they fade with time (or become tinged with sadness).

Much more thought provoking than movies packed with gratuitous sex, violence, and profanity.

2. Val Boyko - December 9, 2015

I appreciate the guide for checking in with my emotions today. Yes they are still there. Good to know 😉
I loved the premise of the movie and how it has helped peeps connect with their inside world of emotions. But also I couldn’t sit through all that drama! Whew!!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Don’t yoga instructors encourage students to “sit through” the discomfort of any pose? 😛

Val Boyko - December 9, 2015

Smiling – yep. I also tried breathing into it to go with the flow!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Perfect!

Variety is the spice of life. If we all liked doing, being, and saying the same things, Boredom would speak up: “Hey! Been there. Done that. Change the channel!”

3. wheremyfeetare - December 9, 2015

I need to see Inside Out. Yes to D and E! I also like ‘move a muscle, change a thought.’ Have a great day, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

I found the movie charming ~> some very clever scenes about our “core memories” and how quickly our perspective shifts depending on thoughts we perpetuate (which give rise to the emotional filters through which we view the world). Nothing skews our perspective on life faster than a stale emotion.

Great quote. When non-productive thoughts linger, clouding our perspective and darkening our day, we can chase those dreary clouds away if we just get up and M~O~V~E.

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 9, 2015

I liked the experiment of checking in with the emotions as I read through the list, it was good for me to feel and recognize and then make a deliberate shift to a better thought! I’ve been working on that. 🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

A valuable practice, Kate. It’s hard to “be free” when we are imprisoned by stale thoughts and emotions. If we think fearful thoughts, we feel fear. Trying to change the emotion without first changing the thought is inefficient.

When we change our thoughts, we change our life because we can more and more easily “let go” of any fear, guilt, resentment, anger, etc., that is no longer serving us. Unblocked by stagnant reservoirs of pain, we’re free to flow like a river, the wind, a breath, or a cloud . . . with no hesitation.

We always know what to do because we’re steered in the right direction.

5. anotherday2paradise - December 9, 2015

This is great, Nancy. I’m so looking forward to my Christmas in England with people I rarely see. I’m sure we’ll all have such a jolly time, and it doesn’t really matter that it’s going to be too cold to wear my flip flops. 😀

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

You might enjoy this description of Old Merry English Weather from T.H. White’s, A Sword in the Stone:

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/old-merry-english-weather/

Have a jolly good time! Your flip flops will await your return.

6. BunKaryudo - December 9, 2015

That’s a fun experiment. It’s also a fun movie. I went to see it with my younger son earlier in the year and had a good time. Which reminds me, I really have to get back in touch with my emotions. I lost their address ages ago.

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Well, you may be out of touch with them, but Joy was right by your side on your “lucky day.” 🙄

BunKaryudo - December 9, 2015

Yes, that’s true. She made a good job of it too. 🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Joy rocks!

7. Jill Weatherholt - December 9, 2015

Everything is easier when we’re at peace. 🙂
Thanks for sharing the background on Inside Out…very interesting.

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Peace flows like a river, ever present. When we go within and bathe in its soothing energy, our power is restored.

Aah . . . that’s better!

8. L. Marie - December 9, 2015

Inside Out was a great movie. I saw myself in a lot of ways–not always a good thing.

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

I found it thought provoking . . . e.g., how Anger closes us off from others, and how Sadness (often, not always) makes us more open to reaching out to others.

Disgust made me laugh out loud more than a few times. And Fear cracked me up as it gravitated toward “what’s the WORST thing that could happen if I do X.”

But my favorite was JOY! Big surprise, eh?

9. tlryder - December 9, 2015

I liked this movie much more than I expected to. Too often these sorts of movies are preachy and twee. This was thoughtful and entertaining, a great combination!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Agreed! Entertaining, thought-provoking, FUN, & no preaching.

10. Debra - December 9, 2015

I haven’t seen “Inside Out,” but I was so glad my granddaughters did and really enjoyed it. I hope to watch it with them at some point and see how they respond to the different emotions. I don’t have too much trouble being in touch with my emotions. LOL! I do need to ask them to be a little quieter once in a while!

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

I bet they will JUMP for JOY at the chance to watch it again with you. :mrgreen:

The more mindful we are about the connection between our thoughts and emotions, the more easily we manage/master both.

11. Behind the Story - December 11, 2015

A perfect time to put peace of mind at the top of our lists. Peace!

nrhatch - December 11, 2015

Last night, we went to the Van Wezel to see Celtic Angels’ Christmas ~ wonderful show with Irish singing, dancing, fiddling, and an aerialist. Best of all . . . Peace filled the theatre.

12. Carol Ferenc - December 11, 2015

Just last week I watched Inside Out for the first time and I thought it was charming and creative. I was so glad that Joy was such a determined character and saved the day.

nrhatch - December 11, 2015

Me too. I enjoyed it and Joy is my favorite emotion . . . inside out and through and through.

13. reocochran - December 12, 2015

I like yoga and saying, “Om.” I would choose the Mickey Mouse location, add palm trees and feet up with a book to escape, Nancy. Not much we can do about the world and worry just takes years off of lives. . . Great quote! 🙂

nrhatch - December 12, 2015

“The News” is designed to keep us in a perpetual state of fear so we alternate between hiding under the covers and shopping for stuff we don’t need to tranquilize the fear.

When we look within, peace like a river awaits. Om . . .

14. diannegray - December 12, 2015

I’m hoping to catch up with D and E very soon, Nancy. Actually, why wait? I’ll start today! 😀

nrhatch - December 12, 2015

That’s the ticket!


What Say YOU?

