jump to navigation

The Golden Apple December 7, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

The “best” thing about mindfulness is discovering who we really are under all the layers of societal and familial conditioning.

* We stop listening to our ANTs (Automatic Negative Thoughts).

* We no longer allow others to substitute their judgment for ours.

* We refuse to allow passers-by to manipulate us or derail our progress.

* We stop worrying about our reputation with mere acquaintances.

After all, they have an extremely limited (and skewed) perspective, whereas we have had a front row seat from Day One.

Don’t worry.  If you don’t have clarity when you begin looking within for answers, the necessary clarity will arise in due course. 

Just begin and the way will appear.

The second “best” thing that happens as we become more mindful is that we start to see others as THEY really are . . . behind their masks.

We see how people use guilt, fear, and other intimidation tactics to manipulate us to THEIR way of thinking.

For example:

If you would just STOP doing what YOU want to do and DO what I WANT you to do . . . then we could be best buds.

As subliminal messages of that ilk are issued, our internal radar perks up.

We realize we can be friends with them . . . as long as we’re willing to use their yardstick as an external reference point to guide our actions, instead of looking within to decide what to be, say, and do.

Watch out!

The proffered Golden Apple is as toxic as the shiny red orb the Wicked Queen offered to Snow White.

It’s designed to lull us to sleep.

This pretend “friend” wants us under her control and domination, looking to her for guidance!

If someone offers you a Golden Apple, don’t be fooled into accepting a bite.

(And if you do bite in, spit it out.  Fast.)

All that glitters is not gold.

The real treasure lies within.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Be who you are and say what you mean because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind. ~ Dr. Seuss

Comments»

1. anotherday2paradise - December 7, 2015

A great message for this Monday morning, Nancy. This Dr. Seuss quote is one of my favourites. 🙂 I love the “We have had a front row seat from day one.” 🙂

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Thanks, Sylvia! Holidays + Family + Friends = Perfect Together BUT, if we aren’t mindful, we can end up doing the “Queen’s bidding” while inwardly seething at “her” insistence that we do things “her” way.

Here’s to honoring our front row perspective on life.

anotherday2paradise - December 7, 2015

I’ll try to remember this over Christmas. 🙂

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

That’s the ticket! Here’s to steering clear of “bullies” and “bossy pants.”

2. Jill Weatherholt - December 7, 2015

Terrific way to start the week, Nancy. Of course, for you retired folks…there’s no real start…lucky duck. 🙂 Love the Dr. Seuss quote!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Quack! Quack! Quack! :mrgreen:

We try to delineate week from weekend ~ but the lines blur as the moments unfold one by one by one.

Dr. Seuss is the best!

3. ashokbhatia - December 7, 2015

So very apt!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Glad it resonated. Mindfulness pays dividends . . . especially during the holidays when we can become overbooked and unglued.

ashokbhatia - December 7, 2015
nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Thanks! I’ll check it out.

4. L. Marie - December 7, 2015

Wow! Great, wise thoughts. The ANTs acronym made me giggle, but it’s so true. They go marching across our minds. They need to go!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Eavesdropping on our ANTs can be a real eye opener! 🙄

Here’s a can of RAID!

5. Kate Crimmins - December 7, 2015

Too bad there isn’t a pill for that wisdom (Alice in Wonderland?). Dr. Seuss has the best quotes!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

When I look back to the “far less mindful self” that was “me” in HS and College, I am struck by glimmers and glimpses of inner wisdom ~> e.g., I knew not to buy in to idle flattery proffered by peers wearing masks designed to disguise hidden agendas.

Wow! That was a mouthful. Let me catch my breath.
Aah . . . that’s better.

Now, where was I?
Here. Now.
Grounded in the Present.

Dr. Seuss rocks!

6. The Golden Apple | Did That Just Happen Blog - December 7, 2015

[…] this blog by Spirit Lights the Way!  I have read a few of my blog friends who are reaching for their authentic selves and discovering […]

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Thanks for sharing . . . loved your preface!

7. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 7, 2015

So awesome, and a very timely message for me today! I had to share it, thank you Nancy!!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Yay! When we remain awake and aware, we are more able to flow from moment to moment . . . always knowing exactly what to do Here and Now. Have a great week!

8. NancyTex - December 7, 2015

I absolutely love that Dr. Seuss quote! Cheers to not giving a crap about what ‘the ones who don’t matter’ think!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

It’s amazing how un-intimidating people become when we switch to using an internal yardstick to measure our progress.

9. Val Boyko - December 7, 2015

With mindfulness I have also found that I can sense behind people’s masks.
I see the arrogant ones who are covering up their own insecurities and fear. The bullies who have been bullied themselves. The judgers who have been judged unfairly in the past….
People cause hurt because they have been hurt. When we see past their actions and open our heart and mind our sense of knowing expands… we just need to make sure we don’t take some of the apple!
After all, if we had different life experiences we may be just like them.
And looking back … I probably was!
xo

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Good points, Val. We see the world behind our eyes, based on our experiences and expectations.

Now, instead of being thrown off balance by “toxic people” (who are carting around a ton of baggage), we watch their ineffectual attempts to “stir the pot” with kindness, compassion, and detached amusement. :mrgreen:

Val Boyko - December 7, 2015

I agree Nancy. Detachment with compassion is the way 💛

10. Carol Ferenc - December 7, 2015

Keeping the ANTs at bay can be tricky, especially during the holidays. Love the Dr. Seuss quote, too. Great post, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Thanks, Carol. When I start to feel “off kilter” or “out of sorts,” especially if my sense of humor is M.I.A., I take a quick peek to see if an ANT stopped by for a “visit” . . . then send it on its Merry Way. HO~HO~HO!

Carol Ferenc - December 8, 2015

That’s a great way of looking at things, Nancy.

11. Patricia - December 7, 2015

I agree with the good Doctor.

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

Me too!

12. Behind the Story - December 7, 2015

Fifty some years ago I first heard “humility” described as truth, i.e. knowing one’s self as one truly is, I was surprised. We more frequently use the term meaning meekness or modesty. I like the humility is truth definition. And if we subscribe to it, what anyone else thinks of us is of no consequence.

nrhatch - December 7, 2015

I have never heard that definition but, like you, I like it!

And it makes sense. When we understand who we really are, we free ourselves from the illusions that hold us back.

“Know thyself.” ~ Oracle of Apollo at Delphi, Greece

13. Under the Oaks - December 8, 2015

Perfect for me this morning. “We stop worrying about our reputation with mere acquaintances.” and the Dr. Suess quote… Perfect. Can’t be what others expect of me, I can only be me. And people who judge me that know nothing about me didn’t/don’t really care about me in the first place. Oh My, I could get on a tiny rant… 😀

nrhatch - December 8, 2015

Yes!

It’s amazing how un-intimidating people become when we switch to using an internal compass to decide what to be, say, and do.

14. wheremyfeetare - December 8, 2015

love Dr Seuss quote, too, Nancy. What I’ve learned over the years is that most people are motivated by their own insecurities and fears. Still no excuse to be controlled. I try to remember “what other’s think of me is none of my business.”

nrhatch - December 8, 2015

That “none of my business” quote is one of my all time favorites!

Here’s to conquering our insecurities and fears. Cheers!

15. diannegray - December 8, 2015

I love that Dr. Seuss quote – a very wise man indeed! I’ve taken a few bites of that apple in my life, but I guess we have to so we can learn how poisonous it really is. No more… 😉

nrhatch - December 8, 2015

Yes. Some lessons require that we ourselves walk the path.

diannegray - December 8, 2015

Absolutely 😉

16. Debra - December 9, 2015

“ANTS” is a new one for me, Nancy! I like that…there are some “automatic” responses that can really usher in a tsunami of negativity and fear. It’s always really interesting to find out who can hang in there with you when even slight boundaries are in place. Change the dance even one step and some can’t keep up. It’s taken me a long, long time to realize that’s ok! This was a good week for me to read this. I’ve had some practice in this area–and it’s only midweek! 🙂

nrhatch - December 9, 2015

Yes! Changing the dance even one step can be a real eye opener. When I started to shift my perspective, I realized how resistant some people are to change . . . even positive change.

As we change, we become less predictable. 😎

17. Tiny - December 12, 2015

This is a great message and reminder, Nancy! Many “Saturday goodies” right here ~ my familial conditioning as a child: sweets only on Saturdays 🙂


What Say YOU?

