jump to navigation

Plugged Into The Source December 3, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Magick & Mystery, Mindfulness, Spirit & Ego.
trackback

220px-TaleofPeterRabbit8Intuition.  Gut Instinct.

The Sixth Sense.

A little birdie.  God.

The Universal Internet.

Having a hunch.

The Still Silent Voice.

Call it what you will, intuition grabs what the conscious mind cannot grasp and clues us in.

Guided by intuitive impulse, I flow with effortless ease from where I am Now to where I am Now.

Unconcerned about veering off course, I “let go” and “go with the flow,” confident that intuition will speak up if a course correction is needed.

Instead of a white-knuckled death grip on the rudder, I allow myself to be steered . . . like a river, wave, cloud, or breath.

IMGP3885

In Practical Intuition, Laura Day describes 7 Steps to harnessing intuition ~> Opening, Noticing, Pretending, Trusting, Reporting, Interpreting, and Integrating.

Of course, intuition isn’t a horse to be harnessed.  Like a cat, our sixth sense arrives on silent paws at its bidding, not ours.

To encourage it:

  1. Be Open ~ Remain awake and aware.
  2. Notice ~ Pay attention.  Listen.  Observe.
  3. Trust ~ Accept that sometimes “we just know.”

If you hear a whisper in the wind, relax.  And give the Universe some room to work its magic.

IMGP3134d

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 3, 2015

Giving the Universe room to work is a big part of that… does no good to be open if you’re going to then try and control it! LOL. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything!! But being able to “let go” is a skill/talent that I have to keep practicing, and I enjoy it more and more!

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Letting go and going with the flow is relaxing . . . unless you find yourself approaching tall falls without a paddle. 🙄

I’ve taken to flipping a coin to help access my intuition when I’m not getting a clear sense about what to do ~> e.g., if “heads” comes up, but I feel an immediate visceral resistance . . . I take that to mean that intuition is telling me to go with “tails.”

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - December 3, 2015

That’s a great thing to do – I heard somewhere that when you can’t make a decision flip a coin… because the thought that enters your mind as the coin is flipping, and you are going “I hope it lands on head” is the one that you really wanted! Apparently the act of flipping that coin must trigger something in us!

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Maybe it’s because we are focused and paying ATTENTION without allowing any distractions?

So we hear our gut as it shouts, “NOOOOO . . . not heads!”

I like the approach you shared too.

2. anotherday2paradise - December 3, 2015

Yes very good advice, Nancy. I think we mostly do tend to want to control everything. I love your photos too. Kite surfing must be such a great experience. 🙂

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

That Kite Surfer was F~L~Y~I~N~G! Swept over the waves and into the air, fueled by the breath of the wind.

He knew what he was doing . . . even when the wind took control of the kite and pushed him along.

3. Jill Weatherholt - December 3, 2015

When I feel I’m veering off course, I’ll pray. So far, it’s kept me from crashing and burning. 🙂

Jill Weatherholt - December 3, 2015

I agree with Sylvia, the kite surfer photo is nice. Have you ever tried it, Nancy?

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Watching kite surfers and windsurfers is a blast, but the only “board work” I’ve done is paddleboarding.

Glad your prayers have kept you from crashing and burning.

4. Under the Oaks - December 3, 2015

I so trust my gut instinct!

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Me too! Especially when it whispers, “you should have a piece of chocolate!”

5. Kate Crimmins - December 3, 2015

My spidey sense is NEVER wrong. I don’t know why. Sometimes it guides me in areas I have no experience at all but it works. Maybe my intuition picks up things my conscious self doesn’t.

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Woo Hoo! That’s been my experience, Kate ~ it’s able to see more of the “forest” when I’m still navigating individual “trees.”

Here’s to listening when our spidey sense tingles!

6. wheremyfeetare - December 3, 2015

I can usually tell when I’m trying to force something to have the outcome I want. When I let go and go with the flow I can usually hear that intuitive voice.

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

That’s a good point. Sometimes we KNOW which way we want to go but end up stymied. Taking a moment to relax allows the Universe to help us with the heavy lifting.

7. Carol Ferenc - December 3, 2015

I’m usually good at following my gut instincts. “And give the universe some room to work its magic.” If we do that, how could we go wrong?

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Intuition steers me in the right direction . . . IF I’m listening. Glad you’re tuned in to what your gut is telling you.

8. Don - December 3, 2015

“Instead of a white-knuckled death grip on the rudder, I allow myself to be steered . . . like a river, wave, cloud, or breath.” beautifully said Nancy. Such a meaningful post. I remember the symbol of the feather in Forrest Gump.

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Thanks, Don. And thanks for reminding me about that feather ~ it’s been a while since I watched Forrest flow with life from adventure to adventure.

9. NancyTex - December 3, 2015

I read a great quote recently by Byron Katie: “If you want real control, drop the illusion of control Let life live you. It does anyway.”

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Excellent quote, NT ~> life is gonna do what it wants to do and we don’t often get a vote.

10. Behind the Story - December 3, 2015

If I remember right, school was in impediment to intuition. In our youth, we spend many years learning rules and being told how to do things. Now don’t get me wrong, we need to learn some rules and methods. But in that environment we can hold on too tight to what we’ve been taught to the detriment of seeing and feeling and gaining insight in a more natural way.

nrhatch - December 3, 2015

Yes. We’re taught to be logical, rational, and responsible while being encouraged to “follow the herd.” Creativity, imagination, and intuition aren’t usually a part of the equation.

You might enjoy this video:

Behind the Story - December 3, 2015

Thank you, Nancy. I enjoyed the video–and his ideas.

11. diannegray - December 4, 2015

Ahhh – the magic of the universe. A beautiful thing indeed, Nancy xxxx

nrhatch - December 5, 2015

I love having a bit of magic in the mix!

12. Tiny - December 4, 2015

“Guided by intuitive impulse, I flow with effortless ease from where I am Now to where I am Now.” – I love that passage! Great advice, Nancy.

nrhatch - December 5, 2015

Thanks, Helen. Hope you are soaking up tons of serenity in your old stomping grounds.

Tiny - December 5, 2015

I did! Just back home…time flies when you’ve fun.

nrhatch - December 5, 2015

Glad you savored those wanders around the pond.

13. Debra - December 5, 2015

In times of stress I remind myself to “wake up” and pay attention, because I’ve learned that the answer to getting through a tough time will come to me if I listen. Being open, noticing, and trusting are all apart of navigating life without fear. This has been a very stressful, and somewhat fearful week for me, but I honestly slowed down to listen and be mindful. I’ve been here many times before, and I know “the voice” when I hear it, and I’m listening. Have a great weekend, Nancy!

nrhatch - December 5, 2015

Tough weeks are tough. They give us a chance to practice mindfully responding to life’s challenges by slowing down, listening, and (above all) breathing.

Peace!

14. Barb - December 6, 2015

I’m not quite sure what happened, but your blog stopped showing up in my email, so I had to go looking for you. I need your dose of “Aaaaah…that’s better” because you make it so. Thanks

nrhatch - December 6, 2015

Thanks, Barb. You comment made me smile. Welcome back!

15. BunKaryudo - December 6, 2015

Although I’ve never actually studied anything about intuition, I feel I know how to get the best from it. I just seem to have a sixth sense about stuff like that. 🙂

nrhatch - December 6, 2015

Haha! Innate wisdom at its best.

BunKaryudo - December 6, 2015

🙂


What Say YOU?

