jump to navigation

Plan A Staycation November 25, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Sustainable Living, Travel & Leisure.
trackback

AirplaneInstead of taking out a second mortgage to travel halfway round the world on a gas guzzling jumbo jet (AFTER a heated argument with TSA agents about what constitutes unreasonable search and seizure), consider playing tourist in your own town.  Staycations can be a fun and budget-friendly way to explore the beauty of your own backyard.

Plus, you don’t have to pack, unpack, or endure TSA pat downs by Frisky McFrisk.

Not sure what to do?  You could . . .

* Seek out local tourist attractions, walking ghost tours, or cultural events.
* Catch up on reading or take a class.
* Try a local ethnic restaurant.

2015-04-28 17-28-41_0073
* Hold a family talent show . . . with prizes!
* Pursue an old hobby or a new interest.
* Plant a backyard garden (or hang out in a hammock).

Water lilies
* Take tap-dancing or limbo lessons.
* Dust off your accordion and perform at an “open mike” night.
* Snap shots on a nature walk.

Reflections
* Take a picnic to the park to explore scenic vistas.
* Take your bike for a spin around a lake.
* Play Scram Scrabble or charades.

IMGP0722a
* Volunteer for a favorite cause or help with a friend’s project.
* Watch movies. Pop popcorn.
* Build a snowman.

6305_544385575584947_1468173230_n

Aah . . . that’s better!

Have you ever “spent your vacation” at home?  Did it feel like summer break as a kid . . . with late nights and lazy mornings?

Does the idea of a Staycation hold any appeal?

Comments»

1. Grannymar - November 25, 2015

My staycation today will be a picnic in front of my real fire… Might even toast Marshmallows!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

That’s the ticket!

We did a full moon meditation on the beach last night. As I watched the flames flicker (turning our “bad habits” to ash), I wished we’d brought marshmallows. 🙄

Grannymar - November 25, 2015

Doing a full moon meditation on the beach would be almost impossible here, these days we have soggy sodden grey fog by day and night and goose pimples are not my best feature by any means!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

No. Don’t think I’d want to “beach it” right now in most areas of the country but today was gorgeous here ~ 80’s and sunny

Tomorrow should be the same ~ perfect for our Thanksgiving celebration..

2. Under the Oaks - November 25, 2015

We do staycations every day!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

I hear ya! But ordinary days (filled with chores, doctor’s appts., grocery shopping, paying bills, doing taxes, etc.) don’t feel like “staycation days” to me.

We pick a few days a month to ignore chores and focus on FUN!

Under the Oaks - November 25, 2015

Oh we do that! We head to St. Lou or a winery. Kansas City too.

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Now you’re talking! Hope you and CH have a relaxing and DELICIOUS Thanksgiving!

3. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 25, 2015

Pretty much all Mr. T and I have done are staycations, and I love it, we can do several a year and it doesn’t stress my budget!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Yay! Rewarding, relaxing, budget friendly and no worries about plunking down BIG $$$’s for a trip that’s a drip due to weather or health woes. Of course, if Mr. T wants to see a moose . . .

We haven’t taken an overnight vacation since moving to FL and we’re still finding fun (and new-to-us) things to do right in our own backyard. Last night, we did a full moon meditation on the beach. Sunday, we enjoyed Shakespeare “in the park” ~> “Twelfth Night” at Bay Preserve in Osprey.

Both FREE except for a couple bucks for gas!

4. anotherday2paradise - November 25, 2015

Oh, I love that snowman hitchhiker. 😀 The egret shot is amazing.

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Thanks, Sylvia. That egret was flying over a pond at Terra Ceia and I managed to snap fast enough to catch him.

I can’t claim credit for the hitchhiker ~ I stole that off Facebook last winter. :mrgreen:

5. L. Marie - November 25, 2015

Staycation–great idea! And that snowman cracks me up! I can relate!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

I love that snowman . . . that was me in 2008 when we finally decided to head south. Happy Thanksgiving!

6. Val Boyko - November 25, 2015

Love my staycations too Nancy! Now that Don is retired it feels more like every day is a staycation 😊
Except when we’re in Scotland or Italy of course …

Val Boyko - November 25, 2015

p.s. Love your ideas!!!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Thanks, Val. Hope you and Don have a warm and wonderful Thanksgiving with good food, fun, friends * family.

Val Boyko - November 25, 2015

You too Nancy! We are going over to join a family gathering with good friends. No cooking, just gratitude and fun 😍
I hope yours is heartwarming and fun! There’s so much to be grateful for 🙏

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Sounds perfect. I got most of the cooking done today so tomorrow should be a breeze . . . especially with no turkey to tackle. Gobble. Gobble.

7. NancyTex - November 25, 2015

I think you can have fun and make memories anywhere – so I’m all for staycations. Here in Vegas, even my workday often includes a hike in the mountains, if I manage my schedule correctly. 🙂

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Having moved around so much, I concur. We’ve always found each area a joy to explore.

Hmm . . . maybe if I’d been more stationary in the past, instead of living in 6 different states, I’d be more inclined to travel now. But this area still feels so “new” to me that I can’t motivate myself to wander far afield.

I know you already celebrated Thanksgiving in October . . . but feel free to partake again! Have a Happy.

NancyTex - November 25, 2015

Oh I plan to! Headed to Joshua Tree for some hiking tomorrow and then San Diego for the weekend. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you and the BFF.

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Have a blast! And a great hike.

8. jannatwrites - November 25, 2015

Great ideas. Less money and less hassle…. don’t see a downside there 🙂 Hope you have a nice Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Happy Thanksgiving to you and the boys, Janna. Hope your day is warm and filled with peace.

9. Carol Ferenc - November 25, 2015

Great photos, Nancy, and super suggestions. I’ve done staycations ~ they’re wonderful and so much better than dealing with Frisky McFrisk.
Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Have a wonderful day tomorrow, Carol. Your gratitude list is great.

10. Debra - November 26, 2015

I was big on “staycations” long before I knew the word. My husband held a seniority job with the railroad and the entire time our children were young and at home he didn’t have seniority for a summer vacation. He could take a nice long one in fall, winter or spring–but they had school! We made sure to “play” with what was at hand, and we just made sure to do the local things we knew tourists enjoyed. I think I still operate much the same way. I’m not the most comfortable traveler, but I would make a very good local tour guide! 🙂 I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving, Nancy.

nrhatch - November 26, 2015

You would be awesome as a local tour guide ~ I’ve see some interesting sights in your posts!

We started “staycationing” because most major holidays meant traveling to visit our far flung families and those “obligatory” visits never felt quite like vacations. In between holiday visits, we enjoyed mini-breaks for the two of us, soaking up sights within a few hours of home (often in our camper) ~> the Blue Ridge Parkway, Great Smoky Mountains, Cape May, Philidelphia, Ocean City, etc.. Always something interesting to see.

11. pix & kardz - November 26, 2015

i remember a staycation one summer which was triggered by a number of reasons, but it turned out to be very enjoyable. Vancouver has been a travel destination for so many visitors, and so we decided to enjoy this beautiful city of ours for ourselves.
 
it was in early July, and the weather was gorgeous. we spent our days at a local beach, watching whatever snow was left melting on the mountains in the distance… good books were at hand, and it was so relaxing.
 
it did not at all feel inadequate or like a second-best place to be.
 
it is so true – it’s not the price of the vacation or the distance of the location that makes for a relaxing time. sometimes the most surprising treasures are found right beneath our feet.
 
thanks for sharing. Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 26, 2015

Yes! Vancouver is a tourist destination with treasures “found right beneath [your[ feet.” Glad you had a chance to relax and enjoy the space around you.

BTW: Beeblu (comment below) just did a post on her visit to Vancouver Island and Butchart Gardens:

https://beeblu.wordpress.com/2015/11/23/extraordinary/.

And Nicki Chen did 2 recent posts on Butchart Gardens:

http://nickichenwrites.com/wordpress/travel/butchart-gardens-a-lesson-in-problem-solving/

http://nickichenwrites.com/wordpress/culture/the-serenity-of-a-japanese-garden/

pix & kardz - December 6, 2015

thanks for the links, Nancy. i have seen beeblu’s post, but Nicki’s were new to me. the story of the founding of Butchart Gardens, but it was wonderful to see the images she posted. my one and only visit there (so far) has been in the winter, and i am looking forward to visiting again when there are more blossoms in season.
 

nrhatch - December 6, 2015

I am partial to gardens in bloom. Enjoy your return visit.

12. beeblu - November 26, 2015

A staycation is exactly what we’re planning this December – cycling, golfing, fishing in the Big Smoke that is Sydney. And I plan to do the hop-on, hop-off bus tour, too.👍

nrhatch - November 26, 2015

That sounds perfect, BB! And the hop-on, hop-off bus tour will save you the time of finding places to park as you traverse Sydney. Have a BLAST!

13. Bill - November 26, 2015

Good advice. Tomorrow we’re going to visit a nearby museum. Despite being close by, we’ve never visited (while in the past having traveled thousands of miles to see more famous museums). When we became full time farmers we had to give up vacations that required us to travel to distant places. But it has helped us discover all the great places right here in our back yard. A lifetime of discoveries are still ahead of us. 🙂

nrhatch - November 26, 2015

Enjoy your museum excursion to the MAX!

Some people put up with the hassles and expense of long distance travel because they believe “the grass is always greener on the other side of the barn.”

But ~> wherever you go, there you are. So they arrive at their destination and find their “dissatisfaction” traveled with them ~ e.g., if they eat at restaurant A, they could have had a better meal at restaurant B. 🙄

When we are comfortable in our own skin, wherever we are is the place to be!

14. Jill Weatherholt - November 26, 2015

I love staycations, Nancy. I can get things done, but relax at the same time. Great tips! Happy Thanksgiving!

nrhatch - November 27, 2015

Thanks, Jill! We had a wonderful Thanksgiving overflowing with good food, sunshine, and lots of laughs.

Glad your procedure went well so you could enjoy the day.

Jill Weatherholt - November 27, 2015

Thank you, Nancy! I’m happy you had a day full of laughter and good …we couldn’t ask for more. 🙂

15. reocochran - November 27, 2015

I am at my Mom’s and we have read magazines that were piling uo, watched Hallmark movies spent time with my son and his wife with children. Mom loved the 3 month old baby great grandie. Life is fun in a local stay-cation, Nancy. I like local restaurants, museums and galleries, too. I went “back” three time in the past 15 years to the Cleveland Art Museum and yhe Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I write of Paul Simon’s entire room full of memorabilia on a blog. It even had a grade school lettee from Art Garfunkel to Paul who was at a week long overnight camp. Tonight, the Rusty Barrel Restaurant and tomorrow the big library. 🙂

nrhatch - November 27, 2015

Sounds like you’re having a great time! Perfect way to poke around during a local staycation.

16. beeblu - November 27, 2015

PS – did you give the hitch-hiker a ride?

nrhatch - November 27, 2015

Nah . . . I thought he’d get the carpet all soggy. 😛

17. BunKaryudo - November 29, 2015

Staycations are the kind of vacation I usually take, even though I can barely afford them. I enjoy the scenic splendor of the sky from my living room window and thrill at the local entertainment district in the corner where my TV and my sons’ playstation are located. 🙂

nrhatch - November 29, 2015

Haha! A mini entertainment district in the corner can be quite entertaining.

BunKaryudo - November 29, 2015

Yes, I do a lot of my traveling through TV. 🙂

nrhatch - November 29, 2015

Armchair traveling is the best ~> no worries about TSA agents or Montezuma’s Revenge. We’ve been all around the world without ever leaving home.


What Say YOU?

