jump to navigation

Beyond Thought November 23, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Life Balance, Meditation, Mindfulness, Nature.
trackback

Thoughts often pull us out of the Now, causing us to become distracted and discontent.

Unburdened by a steady stream of chatter, we experience life without a filter ~ awake, aware, alert, at ease.

IMGP2523b

Nature helps me shift from thinking, with its perpetual analysis, judging, and weighing, to “just being” ~> sensing sights, sounds, and smells.

Until . . . thoughts creep in on padded paws and begin to negate the state I’m trying to embrace by cluttering up the space with words.

IMGP2532b

Rather than following these passing thoughts, I allow each to drift away, and return my attention to “just being” with the wind and the waves.  Listening to life’s heartbeat.

Content again (for now), my mind settles down.

IMGP2578b

The waterfall flows.  The clouds part.  The sun shines.  As a detached observer, I watch the Eternal Now unfold without feeling the need to steer . . .

Here I am.
Alive. Awake. Aware.
Watching the “what is” as it is.
Allowing it to be.

Beyond thought.

IMGP2577b

Aah . . . that’s better!

Attempting to understand consciousness with your mind is like trying to illuminate the sun with a candle. ~ White Fire, Mooji

Comments»

1. Hariod Brawn - November 23, 2015

I don’t think that leopard is real . . . is it?

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Good eye, Hariod! You’re right. It’s not a leopard.
It’s a panther. Wearing leopard print pajamas. :mrgreen:

2. Val Boyko - November 23, 2015

These gardens are so beautiful Nancy. I visited there with my mother 3 years ago and found it so peaceful and renewing.
And what a great quote from Mooji!
So many ways to reconnect to greater Presence and consciousness, and dissolve our separate distracted self.
Thank you for such a lovely post ❤️

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Yes! The gardens are gorgeous and restorative ~> we arrived agitated and left with peaceful presence. Replenished with calm serenity. Glad you had a chance to visit with your mother.

Here’s to dissolving our distractions!

3. Jill Weatherholt - November 23, 2015

Oh, I love banyan trees! Great quote by Mooji.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Banyan trees are great . . . for L~A~R~G~E gardens. Mooji’s analogy puts the big picture into perspective.

4. BunKaryudo - November 23, 2015

Are the leopard print pajamas real, though? There are beautiful gardens, by the way. A great place to listen to life’s heartbeat indeed.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

That stationary statuary remained status quo the entire time we had it in our line of sight. And we couldn’t detect a heartbeat. It was as still as stone. Or ceramic.

The gardens are a great place to wander, wonder, and ponder.

BunKaryudo - November 23, 2015

Yes, I love places like that.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Mysteries abound in secret gardens.

5. NancyTex - November 23, 2015

Nature is so restorative, isn’t it?

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Yes! Nature nurtures.

6. wheremyfeetare - November 23, 2015

I just found out there’s a local hiking trail with a waterfall that I had never heard of. Will be going there to commune with Nature. Thanks for the quote, Nancy, it’s a good one.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Sitting by a splashing waterfall is so soothing. Enjoy your communing.

7. Kate Crimmins - November 23, 2015

OMG! I so want to wear shorts without freezing my tush off! Nice post! Great pictures.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Thanks, Kate! I wish you could come for a visit to warm up.

Today might not be a “shorts day” ~ we are having a “cold” snap with temps in the low 60’s this morning and an expected high of only 70. On Thanksgiving, we should be back in the 80’s.

Kate Crimmins - November 23, 2015

80s are my favorite numbers….

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Mine too! 😎

8. L. Marie - November 23, 2015

What a lovely place. I also feel more settled when I’m out in nature, especially near beautiful trees. 🙂

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Nature offers us So Much!

9. Don - November 23, 2015

I’ve always felt that trees are rooted in the now, So, that image of you Nancy in the midst of those trees is a kind of symbolic parable of what you are saying. Great post.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Thanks, Don. Trees are very grounded and uplifting. Glad you enjoyed the post.

10. Under the Oaks - November 23, 2015

Love the banyan trees! We just came in from sucking up oak leaves… it’s beautiful out there and smells like it should to me this time of November. We could hear all the birds and feel the sun warming us up. CH is going to go play golf in an hour… hard to believe!

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Glad you’re enjoying being “out and about.” I’m heading to a class at Aluna ~ a very relaxing spa on the island.

11. anotherday2paradise - November 23, 2015

Beautiful and tranquil thoughts and photos, Nancy. Nature is so clever at bringing us back down to earth. 🙂

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Nature is clever! Here’s to Here. And Now.

12. Carol Ferenc - November 23, 2015

What a pretty setting. Whenever I’m surrounded by nature, it has a way of keeping me in the Now ~ and I love that.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

Thanks, Carol. Nature has such a calming influence on our psyche.

13. brickhousechick - November 23, 2015

Right Here Right Now is my mantra. If only I could remember it more often. Nature definitely helps, unless it’s freezing outside in which case, who needs nature! LOL.

nrhatch - November 23, 2015

When it’s C~O~L~D outside, bring nature in:

When the weather outside is frightful . . . the FIRE is so delightful!
(Fire = Wood = Nature!)

brickhousechick - November 23, 2015

When the weather outside is frightful, under my covers is so delightful… 🙂

nrhatch - November 24, 2015

Stay warm! Temps should rise by Thursday.

14. Behind the Story - November 24, 2015

Beautiful, serene pictures. Rivers and large waterfalls are great spectacles, but I prefer streams and small waterfalls like the one in your third picture.

nrhatch - November 24, 2015

I so agree, Nicki. Babbling brooks and singing streams speak to me in a way that vast raging rivers cannot. And thunderous waterfalls, while impressive, never invite me to linger longer.

15. diannegray - November 24, 2015

Every afternoon I spend an hour walking through the rainforest, the stream and the cane fields, Nancy. This is the time I am at one with myself and the universe and any ‘chatter’ I’ve been feeling during the day gets swept away. We should all reconnect with nature 😉

That Mooji quote is wonderful, and I want some of those leopard print pajamas! 😀

nrhatch - November 24, 2015

We just got back from a Full Moon Meditation on the beach. A bit chilly but the moon cooperated by rising just as the sun set.

Nature swept our cares away on the outgoing tide.

You should add “Leopard Print PJ’s” to your Wish List. 😎

16. Tiny - November 24, 2015

Beautiful beyond thought! Love your winning pose under the trees 🙂

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Thanks, Tiny. Safe travels and Happy Thanksgiving!

17. Debra - November 26, 2015

Spending time in nature is absolutely the best way for me to quiet my mind and to reorient if I’m spinning! 🙂 I do love your photos!

nrhatch - November 26, 2015

Yes! Breathe in nature and release stress. Aah . . .

18. jannatwrites - November 27, 2015

I like the way you think… er, not think 🙂 nature does have a way of stripping away the mind clutter that trips us up. We do have to keep an eye out for things that creep, crawl and slither!

nrhatch - November 27, 2015

A new avatar! Looking good . . .

Watch out for the creepy crawlies.

19. beeblu - November 27, 2015

A friend of mine who has endured unimaginable horrors in her life says she has survived by being a detached but curious observer at the worst times.

nrhatch - November 27, 2015

It’s a great mind trick to have in our tool belt. Taking a giant step back allows us to be OK with the what is.


What Say YOU?

