jump to navigation

The Flying Monkey November 19, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness, People.
trackback

2014-11-17 12-05-45_0022Once upon a place and time, a monkey flew through the jungle, clinging and swinging from vine to vine.

Ignorant of his true nature, he clung to the belief that he could fly only when swinging and clinging from one vine to the next.

He swung as he clung and clung as he swung.

Afraid to “let go.”

Until the day he woke up and remembered who he was.

No longer attached to the vines and entwined beliefs that had held him back, he found his wings and soared.

FlyLike a flying monkey, the Mind swings from thought to thought until we wake up and “let go.”

No longer attached to stories about the past or future fears, we fly through the Eternal Now.

And live happily ever after on a moment by moment basis.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. BunKaryudo - November 19, 2015

But wait a minute, aren’t the flying monkeys the baddies? I remember my Wizard of Oz.

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

No, no, no . . . the flying monkeys started out as free creatures living in the jungles within the Land of Oz. They were a rather carefree bunch, and also very mischievous by nature.

And then . . .

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winged_monkeys

BunKaryudo - November 19, 2015

I see, so they were naughty and then were cursed for it. I wish I had that cap. I’d command the monkeys to take me to work on the morning and then I wouldn’t have to go by commuter train. Of course, I could only use it three times, so I’d back in the train again by Thursday.

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

What a way to go!

2. Rainee - November 19, 2015

Reblogged this on Welcome to allaboutwordswa! and commented:
I love this post from Nancy at Spirit Lights the Way and the freedom it suggests ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Thanks for sharing, Rainee. Here’s to “letting go” of anything that no longer serves us.

3. Rainee - November 19, 2015

Nice one Nancy. I have reblogged it :-).

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Thanks!

4. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - November 19, 2015

โค Great reminder!

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Here’s to waking up and remembering we can fly!

5. Under the Oaks - November 19, 2015

Great post, Nancy! Living happily ever after works for me… ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Sounds perfect, Pix.

Unburdened by stale beliefs (and overflowing wheelbarrows), we flow through the Now without getting caught up in the undertow.

6. Jill Weatherholt - November 19, 2015

Monkey see, monkey do!

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Haha! Yes! Monkeys unite!

7. anotherday2paradise - November 19, 2015

Great reminder, Nancy. I love happy endings. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Me too!

8. wheremyfeetare - November 19, 2015

Letting Go today! Thanks Nancy.

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Excellent! Have fun . . . one moment at a time.

9. Carol Ferenc - November 19, 2015

I’ve never thought of my mind as a flying monkey. Here’s to letting go and happily ever after!

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

Here’s to letting go of thoughts which tether us to stale regrets and grievances instead of allowing us to sail lightly through life.

10. diannegray - November 19, 2015

I’ve seen those monkeys fly, Nancy. We should all let go ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

Yes! As we allow Ego concerns to fade away, we enter more fully the flow of life ~ no longer weighed down by jealousy, anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, fear, and other concerns of power-hungry and fragile Egos.

Fly! Fly, my pretties!

11. Jacqueline King - November 20, 2015

This is a vivid analogy of how we allow our conditioning to hold us back, Nancy. So glad the flying monkeys awoke and remembered they could fly unaided, anyway! ๐Ÿ˜Š

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

Yes! Once we let go of the unnecessary baggage weโ€™ve been carting around, we feel calmer and more peaceful, ready to journey through life and allow the path to unfold before us in its own way and its own time.

And we fly through the air with the greatest of ease . . .

12. Val Boyko - November 20, 2015

Great post Nancy! Lets soar form moment to moment ๐Ÿ˜Ž

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

Here’s to letting go of the constant chatter streaming through our monkey minds ~ thoughts which tether us to the past and separate us from THIS moment.

Awake and aware, we sail through life on the crest of the Now.

13. L. Marie - November 20, 2015

I’ve never heard that story! That’s a really good one! A great reminder to be who we were meant to be.

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

That’s because I just wrote it . . . last week.
It’s an original, baby! :mrgreen:

14. Tiny - November 20, 2015

A great original, Nancy! And I love the concept of Eternal Now. Flying through it feels wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 20, 2015

We went to a car show in Tampa today and I didn’t allow my thoughts to get in the way of the experience. Not even once.

Instead of judging things as “good” or “bad,” I stayed in the moment and went with the flow. Without a constant ticker tape of analysis and commentary, I experienced no resistance. I accepted and released each moment as it arrived. I remained awake and aware without getting lost in thought.

I look forward to more days like this . . . with fewer thoughts.
And fewer cars. ๐Ÿ˜›

Tiny - November 20, 2015

You did well, Nancy! I am trying to practice that as well. After my best ability… And amen to fewer cars ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 21, 2015

I guess all my mindfulness practice on the beach and while chopping carrots is starting to pay off!

Now I can be calm in the midst of chaos and confusion. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

15. Behind the Story - November 20, 2015

Your analogy really got the point across. I could feel myself letting go of the vines and soaring.

nrhatch - November 21, 2015

I’m focused on “letting go” of anything that is no longer serving me. “Too much thinking” is at the top of the list!

Here’s to letting go of the need to overthink everything. Just be.

16. Debra - November 22, 2015

Occasionally I blurt out to friends or family, “thinking is over-rated.” I will think of these swinging monkeys next time I find mindfulness elusive! ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 22, 2015

Perfect! Another favorite of mine ~> “Don’t believe everything you think.”

17. beeblu - November 25, 2015

Don’t try this at home. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

nrhatch - November 25, 2015

Here’s to flying through life with the greatest of ease!

18. jannatwrites - November 28, 2015

Letting go is difficult sometimes, but the moments of soaring are nice ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - November 28, 2015

Those moments are worth the time and energy devoted to the practice of letting go.


What Say YOU?

