jump to navigation

Love and Gratitude November 11, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Gratitude, Happiness, Life Balance, Mindfulness.
trackback

IMGP1472aWhen life seems too iffy (and precarious) or I feel off balance (and out of sorts), the easiest way for me to move from shifting sands of doubt to being grounded in the Here and Now is to meditate on two words . . .

Love and Gratitude

In that space, I stop rowing and put down the oars.

Peace surfaces.
Life flows.

And I flow with it . . .

As the path unfolds before me.
Here, Now.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - November 11, 2015

Such a peaceful meditation to start my day. Thank you Nancy 💛

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

My pleasure, Val. I experience an immediate inner shift when I shift my attention to these two words.

Val Boyko - November 11, 2015

My mantra recently is inhale peace exhale release. It allows my body to relax as well as my mind to let go. 🙏

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

Perfect! I’ve been using something like that, together with forming the intention to let go of all that no longer serves me, for the past month. I feel lighter already.

2. Jill Weatherholt - November 11, 2015

Great words to meditate on, Nancy.

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

Others I use ~> Peace, Joy, Serenity.

It’s hard to envision these words without entering into a peaceful place, state, and space to occupy. Here, Now.

3. jannatwrites - November 11, 2015

It’s awesome that you can change the course of your thoughts. I am still trying to figure out how to keep the crap from seeping in. It seems when I find a moment’s peace, I exhale and it’s gone. I think time and location may resolve some of that though

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

Sometimes we hang on to anger out of a sense of “entitlement” ~> we feel justified in our anger (often due to the stories we’ve woven which assign us the role of “victim”).

Instead of letting it go, we hang on tight. But, of course, we’re the ones who get burned.

When we reflect on words like Love, Gratitude, Joy, Peace, Serenity, Compassion, Kindness . . . we begin to inhabit those states more and more often. We develop “muscle memory.” And, with it, the ability to offer ourselves an instant respite.

Sometimes all we need is a “moment’s peace” to recharge our batteries and move on with our day.

4. wheremyfeetare - November 11, 2015

I try to remember to “practice gratitude,” Nancy. I love the visual of putting the oars down and just floating along with life. Thanks!

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

Gratitude reminds us to look at all the good flowing through our lives instead of becoming obsessed by what’s going “wrong.”

It enables us to focus on THIS moment and breathe in what’s “right” with the world.

5. NancyTex - November 11, 2015

Having had to hike in deep and shifting sands last week, I can testify that the sand always wins. Best to let go with love and gratitude. 🙂

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

NT rocked it! Right across the shifting sands. Glad you survived Boot Camp.

6. Pix Under the Oaks - November 11, 2015

Love, gratitude, peace, bliss.
Good post, Nancy!

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

I’ve kicked my practice into high gear (well, really, low gear) this past month with the intention of letting go of all the “stuff” that is no longer serving me.

I am happier, lighter, calmer, etc. So good.

7. anotherday2paradise - November 11, 2015

Love this, Nancy. I never was very good at rowing. 🙂

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

I have been known to try to change the direction of the tides, to no avail. Much better to flow WITH the current of life.

8. Tiny - November 11, 2015

Beautiful meditation to end my day with. Thank you Nancy.

nrhatch - November 12, 2015

Here’s to flowing on the razor’s edge of the Now!

9. diannegray - November 12, 2015

I look into the sky and say ‘thank you’ every day. I don’t know who I’m talking to, but I truly mean it and it feels good 😀

nrhatch - November 12, 2015

Yes! When joy percolates with abandon or I sense a *wink* of synchronicity tossed in my direction, I issue an immediate and resounding “THANKS!” to the Universe. It’s “all ears.” 😎

10. livelytwist - November 12, 2015

I usually say gratitude is the antidote to all that ails me. Doing what I know doesn’t always come easy.

nrhatch - November 12, 2015

Perhaps Ego encourages us to refuse the antidote?

It’s got “job security” when the waters are churning and we are hanging on tight to “all that ails us.” 😛

11. Carol Ferenc - November 12, 2015

Love and gratitude . . . what more do we need? Lovely post, Nancy.

nrhatch - November 12, 2015

Thanks, Carol. Here’s to accessing and acknowledging all the good in our lives.

12. L. Marie - November 13, 2015

I needed those words, Nancy. I’m grateful for the great medical attention my mom received this week. Grateful also that I was able to be with her when she had surgery. But I guess I also needed that reminder when I received discouraging news today. Still processing that news now.

nrhatch - November 13, 2015

As I said to Janna, sometimes all we need is a “moment’s peace” to recharge our batteries and move on with our day.

1. Take a moment or two just for you.
2. Give yourself time to process the news.
3. Remember to keep breathing.

Peace!

13. Debra - November 19, 2015

A good way to begin to prepare for Thanksgiving. I like the mantra “Love and Gratitude.” How different all of our lives would be if we held that uppermost at all times!

nrhatch - November 19, 2015

Thanks, Debra. Custom tailored mantras (Love, Gratitude, Peace, Hope, Joy) encourage the “churning chaos” to recede and give us some breathing room.


What Say YOU?

