jump to navigation

A Royal Pain In The Ass November 7, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Food & Drink, Humor, Joke.
trackback

Once upon a time a king wanted to go fishing.  He called the royal weather forecaster and asked for the weather forecast covering the next few hours. The weatherman assured him that there was no chance of rain in the coming days.

So the king went fishing.

Shrek-&-Donkey

On the way, he met a farmer on his donkey.

Upon seeing the king the farmer said, “Your Majesty, you should return to the palace at once because in just a short time I expect a huge amount of rain to fall in this area.”

The king’s response was polite but firm.

“I hold the palace meteorologist in high regard. He is an extensively educated and experienced professional. He gave me a very different forecast. I trust him and I will continue on my way.”

Eeyore-under-a-raincloudA short time later torrential rain fell from the sky.

The King got soaked!

So did the farmer and his donkey.

Furious, the king returned to the palace and gave the order to fire the weatherman at once!

Then he summoned the farmer and offered him the prestigious and high-paying role of royal forecaster.

The farmer said, “Your Majesty, I do not know anything about forecasting. I obtain my information from my donkey. If I see my donkey’s ears drooping, I know it will rain.”

So the king hired the donkey.

And so began the practice of hiring asses to work in government and
occupy its highest and most influential positions.

zebras

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  E-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.)

Comments»

1. Pix Under the Oaks - November 7, 2015

Dying… LOL!
Good Morning, Nancy!
CH and I frequently check our local weather via TWC on our phones and laptops… it changes almost every time we check if they are predicting rain or snow. I don’t know why we bother… 🙂
Still laughing over asses in government… should be crying.

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

I got a kick out of this one too, Pix. Good morning!

Predicting the weather depends on trends and troughs, highs and lows, and . . . chance and happenstance. :mrgreen:

2. jannatwrites - November 7, 2015

Haha, that’s a good one! And it doesn’t look like we’ll be breaking with tradition anytime soon 🙂

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

Yup. Every 4 years, the “royal baton” gets passed from one ass to the next. 🙄

3. anotherday2paradise - November 7, 2015

Hahaha South Africa’s president has just been voted ‘the world’s highest paid, worst value-for-money president.” Then we have an article in our news in which he claims that he’s “not a liability.” What an ass! 😯

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

I have heard many things about South Africa’s present president. None of it good.

anotherday2paradise - November 7, 2015

Exactly so, but he thinks he’s amazing. 😕

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

On the narcissist chart . . . he’s off the deep end! 😛

4. L. Marie - November 7, 2015

Ha ha! I was waiting for that punchline!

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

I’m glad the final line delivered the right kind of PUNCH! :mrgreen:

5. Carol Ferenc - November 7, 2015

Good one! I’ve often wondered how the government arrived at its hiring practices.

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

The heavy mantle of tradition! 😛

6. Val Boyko - November 7, 2015

Oh yes. Wise words indeed!!
😁

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

No one has objected to the punchline . . . I guess SLTW doesn’t have many subscribers who are career politicians. 😎

Val Boyko - November 8, 2015

… wonder why … 😉

nrhatch - November 8, 2015

I suspect they are far too busy feeding insatiable egos. 😛

7. Jill Weatherholt - November 7, 2015

You got that right, Nancy! As for the weather, my body is a better predictor of the weather.

nrhatch - November 7, 2015

My head sometimes gives me a heads up when the barometer makes a sudden shift.

8. diannegray - November 7, 2015

Oh YES! So true, Nancy. Hilarious 😀

nrhatch - November 8, 2015

Maybe politicians have always been “a breed apart” ~> Jonathan Swift noted more than a few hereditary deficiencies in their DNA dating back to the 1600’s. :mrgreen:

Gulliver cited several instances of wasteful public spending by Laputa’s government officials:

“At the Grand Academy of Lagado, great resources and manpower are employed on researching completely preposterous schemes such as extracting sunbeams from cucumbers, softening marble for use in pillows, learning how to mix paint by smell, and uncovering political conspiracies by examining the excrement of suspicious persons (see muckraking).”

diannegray - November 8, 2015

Haaa! Awesome. I remember a joke about monkeys and a ladder and the corporate world (I’m and SO bad at remembering jokes). But in the end the punch line is something like “because that’s how we’ve always done it”. Luckily I don’t write jokes in my blog (LOL). If I ever find it, I’ll let you know because it’s very pertinent to government officials. I’ve worked with a lot of them so I know first hand how crazy and very wasteful they really are 😉

nrhatch - November 8, 2015
9. Behind the Story - November 8, 2015

This time of year in the Seattle area, we just always wear a jacket with a hood. You never know when it might rain. This morning I took a walk in a light rain; this evening I went out again in the rain.

nrhatch - November 8, 2015

Glad you manage to get some exercise, even on the rainy days.

10. Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - November 8, 2015

LOL! Too funny, and too true 😉

nrhatch - November 8, 2015

So far this joke has “hit home” with readers familiar with politics in the US, Australia, South Africa, Great Britain, and Norway.

That says something about Global unity, eh?

Anne Lene @ MinimalistSometimes - November 8, 2015

Absolutely 🙂

11. brickhousechick - November 8, 2015

Couldn’t be any more apropos! Calling them asses is an insult to the donkeys! 🙂

nrhatch - November 8, 2015

Yes! The poor wee beasties.

12. Tiny - November 8, 2015

Thanks for this great donkey laugh! 😎

nrhatch - November 9, 2015

Hee Haw! Hee Haw!

13. Barb - November 9, 2015

This was not going where I thought, but I love it.

nrhatch - November 9, 2015

Excellent. When we know where a joke is headed, it loses its lift!

14. Debra - November 11, 2015

I did not see that punchline coming! It perfectly explains the state of things in Washington, doesn’t it?

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

Seems to be a viable explanation for at least some of the capital’s yahoos.

15. Tammy - November 11, 2015

Love the zebra photo Nancy.

nrhatch - November 11, 2015

They crack me up. As do a few other laughing zebras that hang around the villa.

16. colonialist - November 12, 2015

So now we know.

nrhatch - November 12, 2015

Mais oui!


What Say YOU?

