jump to navigation

A Baker’s Dozen October 27, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Humor, Life Balance, People.
trackback

Grumpy gus1. We each have the same number of choices to make each moment of each waking hour:  What to think about NOW . . . and NOW . . . and NOW . . . and NOW.

2.  If we think grateful, kind, compassionate thoughts, we are happier than when we think about all the reasons why we are disgruntled with the current state of affairs.  Don’t rush to take offense.

3.  There is no Universal Mandate for all.  We each need to be guided from within based on our values, our experiences, and our truths (which may change over time).

4. Embrace the present moment.  Release your grip on the past.  Keep moving forward. No thing’s meant to last.

Little-Miss-Scatterbrain

5.  Attempting to satisfy Ego is futile ~ Ego is a mask; it can never be satisfied.  With no Ego, we ride the crest of the now . . . with bliss as our constant companion.  We desire only what we already possess.  Here.  Now.  Just Be.

6.  The BEST thing about not working ~> MORE time to do LESS.

7.  I limit my shopping frustration by limiting my shopping and NEVER going when I’m in a rush. Most weeks we shop only for groceries.  And cat treats.

8.  I’m OK with the idea that I am not going to change the world. Instead I try to make a difference in the lives of people I see every day.

9.  The pope’s decision to label someone a “saint” (or a “sinner”) has no impact on how I view the world ~> his decision is irrelevant since I can’t imagine using the Roman Catholic Church or its edicts as a yardstick for my life.

10.   If IT makes me feel GOOD now, IT is good for me NOW. This yardstick helps me enjoy things in moderation . . . because too much of any IT makes me feel bad NOW.

black-cat11.  Reading a cat’s mind is easy.  All you need is a Magic 8 Ball, Tarot cards, tea leaves, or a pair of dice.

It’s a crap shoot since cats are FICKLE.  And they use the same barometer I do: “If IT makes me feel GOOD now, IT is good for me NOW.”

12.  You can only reason with reason-able people.  Ego is not reason-able.  Neither is your cat.

13.  Quotes are like post-its for the mind ~ they help us remember the lessons we’ve learned.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. suzicate - October 27, 2015

I think the best thing about cats is they really don’t care what others think! Many good points here, #3 is so true.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Yes! They use an inner yardstick to guide their actions, which makes sense since life is not one-size-fits-all . . . for people or cats.

2. Pix Under the Oaks - October 27, 2015

I like all 13 of your thoughts this morning! Bliss… yes! We can learn so much from cats… 😀
Good Morning!

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Cats rule! signed, Tigger! ^_^

3. L. Marie - October 27, 2015

I’m finally back from my travels. Numbers 4 and 5 really struck a chord with me. I think that’s why I chose not to take as many pictures on my trip as I usually did.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

I bet you’re right. When we are IN the moment, fully experiencing the NOW, we are too busy living life to record data for later perusal.

4. brickhousechick - October 27, 2015

Yes, yes, yes, yes to all! Love these words of wisdom. So simply important and yet so easy to forget. Thanks for always reminding us what’s important, Nancy.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Thanks, Maria. Have you had a chance to try your vaporizer yet? Any relief?

brickhousechick - October 27, 2015

Funny you should mention that! Just yesterday, I got some legal goods! Today is the test date. I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Fingers crossed. Hope it’s “just what the doctor ordered.” :mrgreen:

5. anotherday2paradise - October 27, 2015

A delicious Baker’s Dozen, Nancy. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Thanks, Sylvia. I had fun putting this eclectic mix together.

6. Jill Weatherholt - October 27, 2015

Great list, Nancy! Number 4 is my favorite. 🙂

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

I’m working on letting go of stuff that isn’t working.
It’s hard work! 😛

#4 is a reminder to keep at it.

7. Carol Ferenc - October 27, 2015

Love #3. And #8. Oh, #13 is great, too. In fact, I love the whole list. Thanks for some wonderful reminders, Nancy.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Thanks, Carol. I enjoy creating these hodge podge posts ~ with a bit of this and that.

I added #3 after reading a thought provoking post yesterday.

Carol Ferenc - October 27, 2015

You definitely have a knack for “hodge podge.” These lists always resonate with me.

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Excellent. Glad to hear that.

8. Barb - October 27, 2015

Spot on Nancy, and cats have nailed it I reckon!

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Tigger sure has! Even though, like most cats, he ignores #2. 😛

9. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - October 27, 2015

Excellent bakers dozen, I am taking home 8, 9 and 10!!!

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

Well chosen, Kate! I’m quite partial to that trifecta.

10. Tiny - October 27, 2015

I just had a log conversation with someone close to me, who demonstrated no 1 & 2 very well. Too much disgruntlement about the state of current affairs -> not happy. I did my best to get her see the value of these 2 points, and try a different take on things.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

I have dealt with a Debbie Downer or two ~> they’re determined to look at the shadows cast rather than at the light behind them.

We can try to help them shift perspective, or choose a different frame of reference, but we can’t do the heavy lifting for them.

nrhatch - October 27, 2015

This afternoon, we watched “Food Chains” (from Netflix) ~ it addresses migrant farm workers in the US and all the crap they have to put up with:

Back Breaking Labor
Pesticide related illnesses
Low Wages
Long Commutes to the fields from Substandard Crowded Housing
Physical and Verbal Abuse
Sexual Harassment
Enslavement

I bet they’d trade places with your disgruntled friend.

11. Behind the Story - October 27, 2015

We need to learn some lessons over and over again. I particularly like #2, #4, and #8. One of the best things about cats is watching how much they enjoy every moment.

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Yes. And once learned, we must remember to apply them at the right time, in the right way, for the right reason.

A contented cat, curled up & purring, is a wonderful companion.

12. BunKaryudo - October 27, 2015

Oh yes, you’ll never predict a cat’s mind. You’d have more luck trying to predict winning lottery numbers. 🙂

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

I predicted winning lottery numbers once! Well . . . the Universe whispered them to me. Does that count?

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/what-if-what-if-what-if/

BunKaryudo - October 28, 2015

Really? Wow? The universe never tells me anything. It’s like talking to my children.

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Maybe that bag over your head is throwing them off? 😉

13. Mel Morfitt - October 27, 2015

#12 is my favourite. My cat Kismet will bite the hand that feeds it….crazy li’l bugger would do anything for attention.

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Tigger and Kismet are playing from the same rule book! :mrgreen:

14. NancyTex - October 27, 2015

Thanks for a fun read!

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Having FUN makes me feel GOOD now. Ergo, IT is good for me NOW. 😎

Hope you’re fitting fun into your hectic nights and days.

15. Debra - October 28, 2015

Very well said, Nancy. #12 is gold! 🙂

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Thanks, Debra! With some folks (and Ego), the less said the better. Just hit *MUTE* until the static dissipates. :mrgreen:

16. diannegray - October 28, 2015

I love the post-it-notes for the mind theory, Nancy. These are all fantastic and so true 😀

nrhatch - October 28, 2015

Thanks, Dianne. I started a blog so I could get rid of all the post-its in my office. It’s working!!!

17. Val Boyko - October 29, 2015

Love this top 13 Nancy! … and the conversation. 🎃

nrhatch - October 29, 2015

Yay! These are my favorite posts to write . . . odds are good that something will resonate with someone.

18. jannatwrites - November 3, 2015

You’ve got some good points here. As the servant to 2 cats, I had to laugh at #12 🙂

nrhatch - November 3, 2015

Yes! Cats want what they want when they want it . . . no ifs, ands, or buts.


What Say YOU?

