jump to navigation

How To Lose Weight FAST October 19, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Happiness, Home & Garden, Humor, Sustainable Living.
trackback

2015-08-11 13-19-55_0008

Next time you feel stressed, overweight, or sluggish, give Reverse Retail Therapy a try:

1. Fill a box with stuff you no longer need.

2. Donate it to a local thrift or consignment store.

3. There . . . you feel lighter already, don’t you?

2015-08-22 18-35-49_0004

Aah . . . that’s better!

For more: Β How To DeClutter (Think Simple Now) * Out of Sight is Not Out of Mind (Raptitude) * Everything You Own is a Relationship You’re In (Raptitude)

Comments»

1. Val Boyko - October 19, 2015

Brilliant idea Nancy! I’ve got boxes ready to go … And today they will be away πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Woo Hoo! Go you! I love the feeling I get when *stuff* makes its way out the door. Habitat for Humanity is coming tomorrow to pick up a computer desk we inherited with the villa.

Val Boyko - October 20, 2015

I tried to drop off my books yesterday – no go at 2 places. I will persevere!! …

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

Good luck! Our library accepts books. Once a year it holds an enormous BOOK SALE to clear out donated books not added to the stacks.

2. anotherday2paradise - October 19, 2015

It really does work! Mine all went on Thursday. I’m going to start on the next lot soon. πŸ˜ƒ

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

This must be the right time of year to create space in our lives for what’s next ~> you, Val, Pix, me, my sister, etc., have all lightened our load.

3. Pix Under the Oaks - October 19, 2015

Yes! I have been cleaning out our closets and it makes me feel HAPPY!

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Yay! Cleaning closets adds to my happiness quotient too.
Aah . . . that’s better!

4. jannatwrites - October 19, 2015

Great suggestion. I’m working on that. Have 2 more bags of outgrown kids clothes to donate today.

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Yay, you! I love the feeling of “creating space.” When my closets are packed to the gills, I feel like I can’t breathe.

5. Kate Crimmins - October 19, 2015

I have a clothing pick up on Thursday. (Where does all that stuff come from?) Now I’m combing through for Habitat house stuff.

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

We are all going to feel as LIGHT as a FEATHER! Woo Hoo!

6. Jill Weatherholt - October 19, 2015

I give a bag a month…sometimes two!

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Yes! We keep a box in a closet. If we see something we no longer need, use, or love, in it goes. And when the box is full, out it goes.

Like Kate, I wonder where it all comes from. And whether and when the well will ever run dry. After our moves, downsizing, and declutterizing, we should have nothing left that is extraneous.

But we keep finding more stuff to toss in the box. πŸ™„

7. William D'Andrea - October 19, 2015

How to lose weight fast? Don’t eat. Fast.

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Got it!

8. itsmeharshi - October 19, 2015

πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Šβ˜Ίβ˜Ίβ˜Ίβ˜ΊπŸ˜ƒ

nrhatch - October 19, 2015
9. L. Marie - October 19, 2015

Great idea, Nancy. I have clothes that are begging to be released from the prison of my closet. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Me too! Even after my BIG closet purge this spring, I think it’s time to weed out a few more pieces.

10. mybeautfulthings - October 19, 2015

Our next bagful is nearly ready to go and there will be more! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Here’s to allowing our stuff to flow without undue attachment!

mybeautfulthings - October 19, 2015

Some of it is hard to say goodbye to but I am getting better… πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Once you do it a time or two, it gets easier. Probably because we realize we just don’t miss “it.”

11. Carol Ferenc - October 19, 2015

I’ll be donating tomorrow. I don’t have any use for business attire since retiring but maybe someone else does!

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Great! Everyone seems to be on the same wavelength. Seems like no one here can be accused of “hoarding.” πŸ˜›

12. Barb - October 19, 2015

Funny you should talk about this today, because we have been collecting stuff around the house we either don’t use any more, or just don’t need. So yesterday, we donated a load of blankets and bedding to our local Animal Shelter, and took another load to the Salvation Army. They were well pleased – and so were we…feeling lighter!

nrhatch - October 19, 2015

Yay! Glad that it was a WIN for all involved. Such a great way to keep energy flowing through our lives.

13. Behind the Story - October 20, 2015

That was simple. I think I can do it.

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

Here’s to letting go!

14. Bill - October 20, 2015

Good advice. Decluttering is constantly ongoing around here. My wife is a ruthless declutterer. If something hasn’t been used in a year, it’s gone. Simplification does help ease the mind.

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

It does! ~> Simplify. Simplify. Simplify.

15. brickhousechick - October 20, 2015

I should be able to lose at least 50 pounds with this program! Eat your heart out, Weight Watchers! πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

That’s the ticket!

16. diannegray - October 20, 2015

Great way to lose weight, Nancy and wonderful for the feng shui! (as long as you don’t lose too much as once or it leaves you feeling drained) πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

That’s interesting. Yesterday, I felt FULL of energy. Today, I feel like I’m running on EMPTY.

diannegray - October 20, 2015

Hubby was into feng shui for a while and he said we should only throw out bits at a time, otherwise we’re throwing out too much of our energy at one time before we can recharge. I’ve felt like that when I move house so I try and do it slowly (but hopefully I’ll never move again) πŸ˜€

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

Perhaps it’s like donating blood ~> better not try to do it all at once. Makes me feel better about making this a lifelong project.

17. BunKaryudo - October 20, 2015

I’m a little worried to try this. If I got rid of the clutter in my house, I’m not sure I’d have any stuff left. As far as I can tell, there’s nothing but clutter. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 21, 2015

Haha! You mentioned being one half of an unmatched pair (one “monumentally untidy” and the other “modestly untidy”) in your last post. That, along with your recent excavation of a waylaid frog from underneath your desk, leads me to believe that . . .

Your clutter is your clutter. Perhaps the whole house of cards would collapse into a black hole without it! πŸ™„

BunKaryudo - October 21, 2015

Yes, it may be we don’t actually have an apartment at all, just a whole lot of clutter in the shape of an apartment. We’ve just never noticed that there are no walls, floor, or ceilings behind all that stuff.

nrhatch - October 21, 2015

Ooh . . . that would be a great episode for The Twilight Zone! Or Lost in Space!

18. CMSmith - October 21, 2015

Some thing I definitely need to do and hope to spend some significant time doing soon.

nrhatch - October 21, 2015

Hi Christine! Good luck with that.

I go through phases of “catch” and “release.” And always make a point of letting go of something after buying something. It’s not always a tit for a tat . . . but it helps us to maintain an even keel.

19. NancyTex - October 22, 2015

Love it!

nrhatch - October 23, 2015

Thanks, NT! Hope you’re happily engaged in all good things.

20. Debra - October 24, 2015

I’ve been donating items a lot lately…I need to think of as my new weightless program. I’d be so thrilled to feel lighter. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 24, 2015

Fingers crossed, Deb! Peter Walsh is convinced that working to clear clutter in any area of our life tends to spill over, creating positive results in other areas as well.

https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/you-better-stop-shopping-around/


What Say YOU?

