jump to navigation

Dance With Me October 15, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Less IS More, Magick & Mystery.
trackback

Woodstock-&-Snoopy2I’ve been weeding out our CD collection to shed songs that don’t resonate any more.

I put Orleans in the “maybe” pile.

After consultation with BFF, we moved Orleans into the “donate” pile.

We still like 2 songs on the CD (“You’re Still The One” and “Dance With Me”) but not enough to pull the CD off the shelf.

Just enough to enjoy over the airways.

The next day, on the way to Lowe’s to get handles for the bathroom vanities, I joked, “What do you bet we hear Orleans on the radio?”

We turned on the radio, got distracted in conversation, and turned the volume down a minute later.

Cool-danceBut as we walked into Lowe’s, I said, “LISTEN!”

Sure enough, the tune playing over the store’s radio ~> “Dance With Me” by Orleans.

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. 2e0mca - October 15, 2015

It’s interesting how some music is there to last a lifetime and other pieces cease to please. The only album I ever got rid of was Pink Floyd’s Dark side of the Moon – other people played it to death for me and I lost the love 😦 I often turn up old bands or albums that I haven’t listened to in ages and rediscover the wonder. That’s why I could never dispatch them to the charity shop πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

We’ve jettisoned ALL our albums (and turntables). Now I’m weeding CD’s. Having 500+ CDs to wade through each time I wanted to listen to a CD became a chore. Too many choices.

Less is More. :mrgreen:

2e0mca - October 15, 2015

As I renew my acquaintance with past favourites, it’s time to MP3 them πŸ™‚ The Computer maks a damn’d fine Jukebox! as does the mobile and a pair of decent headphones πŸ™‚ And, as I’m introduced to new things by my Son… You can guess the rest πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

My computer has gremlins. Sometimes when I want to access the music library, it tells me that it’s MIA. Or empty. Some times the disc drive works. Some times it takes the day off.

Bottom line: I’m happier with CD’s. Especially now that I’ve gotten rid of ones that don’t make me feel happy.

Glad your son is keeping you young and “in the know.”

2. Jill Weatherholt - October 15, 2015

That’s funny, Nancy. Those two songs by Orleans are definitely oldies but goodies.

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

I think the Universe gave me a *wink* (to encourage me to keep letting go). Before the day in question, it had been AGES since I’d heard Orleans get any air play on the radio around here.

3. L. Marie - October 15, 2015

Isn’t that always the way? The minute you get rid of CDs the music pops up again elsewhere. I dumped all of my LPs years ago. Then in the last two years, my niece and nephew acquired a turntable and wanted my old LPs!

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Every once in a L~O~N~G while I want to hear a song I used to have on an LP but don’t have on a CD . . . so I turn to youtube and almost always find exactly what I’m looking for.

My albums got adopted by one of the AmeriCorps members about 10 years ago. He was as PSYCHED to have them as I was to let them go.

Thus far none of my nieces or nephews has expressed interested in record players. They are too busy texting. :mrgreen:

4. Kate Crimmins - October 15, 2015

My husband was a musician so he has well over a thousand CDs. We had a special closet built into our house to house them. He will never weed them out. He has them alphabetized by artist and can find anything. There is no way I’m ever going to get him to downsize (except maybe on the way to the nursing home!). Good for you. I discarded albums years ago and anything I’m no longer fond of (or is damaged). You can download from the internet so easily and it doesn’t take up room. I love things that don’t take up room. Clouds, I love clouds!

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Ours are also alphabetized by artist with sections for Rock, Jazz, Classical, and Miscellaneous (Soundtracks, Meditation, Broadway, etc.). But with 500 CD’s to scan, it took FOREVER to choose a CD . . . so I often opted for quiet.

And, if I selected a CD, I often found that the songs no longer made me feel Happy and Joyous. So that became my criteria. If I put a CD in and it brings me DOWN instead of lifting me UP . . . out it goes!

Kate Crimmins - October 15, 2015

That is a good criteria. I rarely go near it as my husband will pick and chose. He will ask me what I want to hear I usually say upbeat. Sometimes I say island music and it’s Jimmy Buffet for sure.

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Ya, mon!

5. anotherday2paradise - October 15, 2015

I have a dozen bags of ‘stuff’ waiting by the front door for collection by the VVA tomorrow. It does feel good to be weeding out and doing good at the same time. Maybe you can put the songs you still like onto your iPod, before getting rid of the CDs. πŸ˜•

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Yay! Go you! Weeding out stuff we no longer need, use, or love AND donating it to a “good cause” is a WIN-WIN!

I don’t have an iPod. Call me a dinosaur if you will. 😎

anotherday2paradise - October 15, 2015

It’s a magical device. I have over 1000 songs on mine. Haven’t used a CD player in years.

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

If I listened to music more often, an iPod would be great. But I like Silence too.

6. Don - October 15, 2015

The mysteries of synchronicity. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

As we drove to Lowe’s I felt “certain” that “Dance With Me” would be winging its way over the airwaves to our ears.

So cool that I was right! :mrgreen:

7. Carol Ferenc - October 15, 2015

We’ve still got it all … LPs, 45s, CDs, cassettes, you name it. Now we keep going back to the same few CDs. Music was such a big part of our lives when we were younger and it bothers me a little that we’ve let that part slide. Is it inevitable with aging?

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Not necessarily. My interest in most things ebbs and flows.

As a teen, music was part of most activities. Now I enjoy the Sound of Silence as a backdrop to my day. At Happy Hour I put on some happy tunes and . . . peace out, man!

Carol Ferenc - October 15, 2015

That sounds like our Happy Hour as well. Maybe all is not lost!

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

Here’s to making space for lots and lots of Happy Hours!

8. Val Boyko - October 15, 2015

Weeding out music does raise some memories and goodies Nancy! We ditched the CD’s and went digital … And then Don decided that vinyl was a great way to go. They do take up more room, and filing them is not easy… But he has a blast when I am not around πŸ˜‰

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Music can be such a JOY!

Val Boyko - October 15, 2015

It does take us into our emotions doesn’t it! 😎

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

And sometimes plugs us directly into our core without being filtered and diluted through our e-motions.

9. jannatwrites - October 15, 2015

That’s funny you predicted hearing the song. .. proof you didn’t need the cd, I guess. I’ve been on a getting rid of stuff binge. Most of my music is mp3 but I have probably about 20 cds. All the “go” stuff is in the garage for now. Can’t wait till it is gone πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 15, 2015

Woo Hoo! I’m with you . . . there is such a feeling of liberation after donating a pile of “xyz” that we no longer need.

10. Tiny - October 16, 2015

And that confirmed your decision to donate it. You’ll hear it often enough over the airwaves!

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

Yes! A sign that it was fine to keep letting go of the extraneous to make room for the essential.

11. Behind the Story - October 16, 2015

I started downloading my favorite CDs to iTunes and making playlists. It’s been useful. I have a playlist of a big variety of instrumental songs that I shuffle and use for writing–classical, jazz piano, Spanish guitar, Chinese music and so forth. I have an upbeat playlist for exercise and a Christmas playlist. I haven’t finished the job though. I should get back to it.

I was in a bakery yesterday, and they were playing newly printed vinyl records of old songs on a turntable. I didn’t know they were making new vinyl.

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

I’m glad I grew up with LP’s . . . the covers had such great art and info on the artists. But I don’t miss having to get up every 20 minutes to turn the record over. πŸ™„

Your playlists sound like a good fit for you and what you do.

12. Pix Under the Oaks - October 16, 2015

Love those two songs. CH and I went out to dinner last night and on the way home we listened to the local oldies but goodies station. Took me back in the bestest of ways. That old music just makes me smile and tap my feet. It was Canned Heat that gave me a thrill last night with On the Road Again. Going Up the Country is my ringtone but nobody ever calls… πŸ˜€ Texting… I think I have forgotten what some of the family peep’s voices sound like!

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

Sounds like a great end to your evening . . . especially since you were On the Road Again.

I don’t text. I don’t think I’m missing a thing. πŸ™„

Pix Under the Oaks - October 16, 2015

You are missing nothing with not texting… I want to hear a voice, but every BODY I know texts!

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

Every body I know texts too . . . just not with me. I blocked texts from my phone. 😎

Pix Under the Oaks - October 16, 2015

Out in the Country, 3 Dog Night is my ringtone… duh. I need to wake up!

nrhatch - October 16, 2015

Great choice for someone living Out in the Country.

13. BunKaryudo - October 18, 2015

During my university days, I did without all of my albums by artists with names beginning with a letter from l to r. This rather arbitrary-sounding decision was made for me when one of my cases of audio cassettes was stolen from my room.

nrhatch - October 18, 2015

I had friends who “borrowed” albums without remembering to return them. But stealing an entire case of alphabetized audio cassettes? That is just wrong.

When you heard R.E.M. (or other artists beginning with a letter from l to r) singing, did you swing by to investigate?

BunKaryudo - October 18, 2015

Ha ha! I actually can’t remember, but somehow I doubt I would have been so shrewd. I’d make a great Columbo on the outside, but not on the inside. πŸ™‚

nrhatch - October 18, 2015

At that age, even if I ascertained the identity of the cassette thief, I doubt I would have mustered up the courage to ask for the return of my music.

14. Debra - October 20, 2015

What an interesting coincidence! I admire that you’re able to work your way through your collection and donate some of your CDs. I stream almost all of my music these days, yet I can’t seem to part with any of the physical CDs. Maybe someday I’ll gather up the courage to just do it! LOL!

nrhatch - October 20, 2015

We got a kick out of this little wink! πŸ™„

I enjoy having music stored in a tangible form ~ streaming and clouds and iPods aren’t the same. Same thing with photos. I don’t want them all stored digitally. I want to sit down and turn the pages of a photo album.

I won’t donate “happy music” CD’s. They are well behaved and don’t take up much space. I’ll just donate the dust collectors ~> CD’s that no longer resonate with me.


What Say YOU?

