jump to navigation

Sophie’s Audience With King Tigger September 23, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Animals, Humor.
trackback

On neighborhood watch one night, Tigger eyes Sophie walking her owner.

2015-07-25 20-05-14_0011

Tigger extends an invite for a brief meet and greet (or smell and tell).

2015-07-25 20-05-30_0012

In short order, Tigger boots Sophie to the curb with a quick warning swipe.

2015-07-25 20-05-38_0013

After telling Sophie to “back off,” Tigger relaxes and surveys his domain.

2015-07-25 20-06-13_0015

Sophie sits and waits, hoping for a further audience with His Majesty, The Cat.

2015-07-25 20-08-11_0017

Tigger remains aloof . . . which, after all, is what cats do best.

2015-07-25 20-08-19_0018

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Jill Weatherholt - September 23, 2015

I don’t think I’ve even seen a cat on a leash, Nancy. Once, I tried to put a collar, with a bell, around my cat’s neck and she FREAKED OUT!

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

We’ve trained all 3 of our cats to go outside on a leash. After initial squawks, balks, freak outs, and protests, all 3 agreed to wear a collar and leash IF they wanted to go outside.

But only if THEY were in the mood.

It’s not about exercise or, er, elimination. It’s recreational only ~> to see the sights and meander about with imperial hauteur.

2. suzicate - September 23, 2015

So cute! Our cat does the same to Wylie…she dethroned her in no time. I love how well your cat does on a leash.

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

Every night after dinner, Tigger parks himself by the door waiting for his leash so he can go outside and “smell the roses.” Unless it’s too cold, too hot, too windy, too noisy, or too rainy.

Once outside, he’s friendly with most of the people and pets he sees on the street. Except for those who are too tall, too small, or too yappy.

Some dogs like to be herded by cats ~> no decision making! ๐Ÿ˜›

suzicate - September 23, 2015

That is so cool! My cat is really curious about outside, and I’ve thought about trying her on a leash. I might try the backyard though because she is a bit skittish even though she’s bossy, ha!

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

We did train all 3 of our cats when they were still kittens (about 4 months old) and not so “bossy.”

3. Kate Crimmins - September 23, 2015

I’ve had no luck with collars or leashes but I did have a “watch” cat that routinely chased dogs out of the yard. Funniest was the time she (at 11 pounds) chased a purebred greyhound (who had gotten out of his yard) down the street. She was pretty fast. For a while I was afraid agents would come to recruit her. Looks like Tigger is healthy and happy.

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

That’s a great image, Kate. She could have been a star ~> Fast Cat and Mighty Mouse!

Tigger is holding his own. He’s still a happy little guy who enjoys his treats, his eats, and his outings.

Hope you’re coping okay, Kate. I dread the day . . .

Kate Crimmins - September 23, 2015

Each day gets better. The change in the cat dynamics is odd. Despite the fact that he was an old cat that didn’t interact with any of the others, all the routines have changed even down to the sitting arrangements. Odd to watch.

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

We invest lots of love and kindness on our pets. It is so hard to say good-bye.

4. L. Marie - September 23, 2015

So hilarious!!! I love Tigger’s relaxed, but regal pose. “My world,” he seems to say. Poor Sophie just wanted an audience with him.

A friend’s border collie continually tries to herd the cat and gets only scorn for his efforts.

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

Tigger greets a few of the dogs on the streets but after a brief “hey” . . . he loses interest.

Far easier to herd sheep (baa!) than cats (humbug!).

5. Don - September 23, 2015

Great sequence of photos Nancy.

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

I took these shots for Sophie’s owner because she got such a kick out of seeing Tigger walk up and say hello to Sophie.

Don - September 23, 2015

I love the way the encounter finally ends up with a manageable space between the two. It kind of reminds me of some relationships I’ve had with certain people. ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

Yes. Neighborly. Not best buds!

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 23, 2015

That is awesome!! I love how he laid down the law… and then laid down!

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

Tigger is a pistol.

7. Barb - September 23, 2015

Cool encounter……and Tigger was in full control!

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

Absolutely . . . “respect my authority!”

8. Carol Ferenc - September 23, 2015

It’s so cool that you’re able to do this with Tigger! I recently saw a cat video where the owner was trying a collar and leash on his cat. The cat just laid down on the job as the owner dragged him across the floor. My three cats would do something similar, I’m sure!

nrhatch - September 23, 2015

It helps to start when they are kittens. Before they start to see themselves as The Boss!

Carol Ferenc - September 24, 2015

I hear you ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - September 25, 2015
9. Tiny - September 23, 2015

I love the caveats he has re his outings ๐Ÿ™‚ but at least the weather has been fairly cooperative lately.

nrhatch - September 24, 2015

The weather is just enough cooler out to be considered “pleasant.” Yay! I love Fall in Florida.

10. Pix Under the Oaks - September 24, 2015

This cracked me up this morning! Tigger.. โ™ฅ

nrhatch - September 24, 2015

Morning, Pix! Hope laughter “intrudes” throughout the day.

Pix Under the Oaks - September 24, 2015

Let’s just say I needed a little “Tigger” this morning! I am planning on laughter today.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good Morning to YOU!

nrhatch - September 25, 2015

Yay! Laughter is good for what ails us.

11. diannegray - September 24, 2015

These are great photos, Nancy ๐Ÿ˜€

nrhatch - September 25, 2015

I’m glad I caught the paw swipe. ๐Ÿ™„

12. Val Boyko - September 25, 2015

Your commentary and photos brought a big smile Nancy!
I get the feeling that I could learn a lot from Tigger that would help with the highs and lows of life ๐Ÿ˜‰

nrhatch - September 26, 2015

Dogs are on a perpetual high.
Cats issue a perpetual sigh ~> “what have you done for me lately?” ๐Ÿฑ

13. beeblu - September 25, 2015

Poor Sophie – the indignity!

nrhatch - September 26, 2015

Dogs don’t give a darn about their dignity ~ they just want to be happy and make other people happy.

beeblu - September 26, 2015

I’d like to come back as a dog.

nrhatch - September 27, 2015

Then you can be a “people pleaser.” :mrgreen:

14. BunKaryudo - September 29, 2015

That went surprisingly well. I had no idea what to expect as I was scrolling through the photographs. I’m relieved. Phew!

nrhatch - September 29, 2015

Tigger is no scaredy cat. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

BunKaryudo - September 29, 2015

He’s pretty fearless, as far as I can see.

15. jannatwrites - October 21, 2015

Tigger looks like he’s in complete control of the situation. Cats have a way of getting the world to go their way. All these years I should’ve been taking notes ๐Ÿ™‚

nrhatch - October 21, 2015

Yes! Cats are not afraid to speak their minds. Or to be finicky. Or picky. Or demanding.


What Say YOU?

