jump to navigation

Speak Up . . . Or Shut Up? September 16, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in People.
trackback

I got “shushed” this week.

devious-hobbes

For talking about how angry I am that the U.S. Government spies on “we, the people” ~ taping our phone calls, texts, e-mails, etc.

IMHO: Stealing our words, thoughts, and ideas and storing them for later use is devious, disingenuous, and . . . a disgraceful shame.

I expect more from a country self-identified as “the land of the free and the home of the brave.”

TimonBut it appears that digital “search and seizure” of private communications is not on the “approved discussion” list.

As soon as I brought the topic up, the shusher admonished me to cease and desist:

“WE NEED TO CHANGE THE CONVERSATION NOW . . . NO DISCUSSING POLITICS OR RELIGION!”

WTF?!

Donald-DuckaI decided to stop talking . . . why waste my breath? :/

But it bothers me that ANYONE would equate the erosion of civil liberties and increasing government intrusion as “politics” and, therefore, not open for public debate.

I think we’re doomed! 🙄

Aah . . . that’s better!

To learn more ~> CITIZENFOUR

Comments»

1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 16, 2015

Oh wow, and they are one of the reasons why the government can be so intrusive, people like that who won’t stop it, but in essence, invite them in…

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

She’s a sheep. Easily herded. BAA!!!!

But this isn’t about her.
It’s about sheep in general.

Why I like blogging ~> an opportunity to discuss ideas with other like minded individuals WITHOUT being shushed up by a bunch of blathering sheep who would rather not stray from the herd.

Great minds discuss ideas
Average minds discuss events
Small minds discuss people

Quote Investigator ~> Great Minds
http://quoteinvestigator.com/2014/11/18/great-minds/

2. Grace - September 16, 2015

I myself have never figured out how people can just ignore these two topics that affect literally every aspect of our lives. On the other hand, if the person I’m speaking with is closed minded and I’ve banged my head against their door enough times, I won’t try any more. But DO keep talking because “all that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good people to remain silent”….or something like that 😉

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

Like a water-wheel, filling and emptying its buckets over and over as it turns, we empty out who we were, to become more fully who we are. If we hang on to Ego concerns, our buckets do not empty . . . leaving less room for growth.

That’s why I stopped talking ~> I could see the rest of the group were focused on Ego concerns, not growth.

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

Another quote I like:

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has. ~ Margaret Mead

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

And another quote I like . . . YOURS!

From this post: http://graceupsidedown.com/2015/09/11/in-rememberance-of-911-the-unsung-heros/

“And don’t get me started on things like Homeland Security, TSA, NSA, the Patriot Act, and Executive Orders. The only thing I’ll say is this: we are no “safer” now, nor is the world safer, as a result of them.”

BINGO!

3. NancyTex - September 16, 2015

Yes, let’s all just shush and stay quiet and it’ll all be okay, right?

Like a bunch of ostriches with their heads in the sand.

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

That’s the ticket! Until we assemble the buckets and sand, we can put our hands over our ears and sing LA LA LA LA LA LA LA at the top of our lungs to drown out any lingering intelligence.

The government’s decision to paintball Snowden with the monker “traitor” is brilliant, deflecting attention from what those A-Holes in D.C. are doing ~> FLUSHING our civil liberties down “the shitter.” :/

4. Rainee - September 16, 2015

Hear! Hear! Well said, Nancy. Similar laws are happening here in Australia

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

It’s like our respective governments are playing “Follow The Leader,” “Mother May !?,” and “Simon Says” . . .

“Simon Says take a G~I~A~N~T step backwards!”

5. sufilight - September 16, 2015

Nancy, Wonder why you were shushed, maybe the person is scared to have the conversation? Neil deGrasse Tyson will be interviewing Edward Snowden on Friday. Should be an eye opener!

http://www.startalkradio.net/this-friday-on-our-new-night-neil-degrasse-tyson-chats-with-edward-snowden/

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

I don’t know why she shushed me . . . maybe because I said the “F” word? :mrgreen: Or maybe because she equates the perception of safety created by the Patriot Act and the TSA with actual safety. Maybe she thinks the government should look over everyone’s garden fence to see what we’re planting in our gardens.

Whatever the actual reason, the reason she gave for demanding that we change the subject bothers me ~> our civil liberties and freedom are the backbone and heart of this country.

If we lose them, we have lost everything.

6. jannatwrites - September 16, 2015

Oh because if we don’t talk about it then the issues just go away. I think my sarcasm is showing 😉

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Once I got shushed, the conversation returned to what sheep like to “BAA BAA BAA” about best ~> individual ailments and illnesses and other trivial ego concerns.

BAA!!!

7. Behind the Story - September 16, 2015

IMHO the question is larger than what information the government collects. It’s related to the era we live in and the ease with which our information is seen and shared in so many areas. I think we all feel some unease or fear about this. When I give my SS# to H&R Block and then send my forms off to the IRS, I sometimes wonder how many hands it will go through and can they be trusted. But I have to pay my taxes, so I might as well trust that it will turn out all right.

I don’t usually shop at Target, but I went there a year and a half ago to buy Christmas gifts for charity, and my credit card number was stolen. I get spam emails almost every day. How did they got my email address?

This is the world we live in today. It’s difficult to be anonymous. I grew up in a time when I kept my secrets in my diary and locked it with a little key. How times have changed!

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Yes! I don’t like the direction we’re heading. Our digital signatures are everywhere.

And identity thieves target identities at Target. :/

And now the government is no longer on “our side.” Instead, it’s stepping into the role of Big Brother and transitioning us to accept fewer freedoms in return for what?

NOTHING! We are no safer. We are just less Free.

8. Pix Under the Oaks - September 17, 2015

You dropped the F bomb!? My credit card was stolen at Target and our local grocery store, Schnucks. I am shocked at how our personal business isn’t personal anymore and no matter how hard we try to keep it personal, nothing works. My puter knows where I have been all day and tells me where I have been on FB and Gmail… skeery!

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Scary and annoying. I don’t want on-line stores to send me targeted ads. I don’t need FB to suggest “friends” to me. And I don’t want the government to follow my footsteps wherever I go.

Life is Absurd . . . and growing more so every day.

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Why do people believe in God? ~> To relieve anxiety about life’s uncertainty and absurdity:

9. William D'Andrea - September 17, 2015

This is why Donald Trump has such a high rating. He says what he really believes and won’t be silenced. That’s how we all should be; except for the arrogance, rudeness and clownish behavior. When his opponents see him they think “It’s Donald! Duck!” (I’m sure he’s been hearing comments like that all his life.)

I’m not sure if anyone who sees me would think “It’s Bill! Duck!” But I treat everyone with honest respect, and that’s how I’m treated. That’s all that’s really necessary.

Comment edited.

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

I edited your comment.

(1) The deleted portion did NOT align with the claim that you “treat everyone with honest respect.”

(2) The Donald is tangential to the focus of this post, which deals with the government’s illegal search and search of private communications.

William D'Andrea - September 17, 2015

I apologize. My time on the internet is limited, and today I’m somewhat distracted.

10. L. Marie - September 17, 2015

That’s sad. Really sad. And scary.

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Yes. The United States used to be a force for good. It is losing that stature . . . proving once again that “power corrupts.”

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Do we want to have Big Brother watching us?

11. Don - September 17, 2015

Great post Nancy, but I have to say, you getting “shushed,” I don’t think so. 🙂

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

I considered her “request” and decided to stop talking b/c I no longer wanted to converse with her (or others of like ilk). :mrgreen:

12. diannegray - September 17, 2015

Keep talking, Nancy! Never let the sheep stop you from expressing what you really feel. Unfortunately there are some who really aren’t worth your precious breath xxx

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Yes! Let’s ignore the sheep AND refuse to be intimidated by greedy wolves in sheep’s clothing.

13. Tiny - September 17, 2015

Topics like this instill fear in some people, and therefore are not on their “safe” list to talk about. Or they simply can’t handle disagreement/differing views in a discussion. You keep talking, Nancy!

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Thanks, Tiny. Will do!

14. Barb - September 18, 2015

Here’s what I learned about people: There are some folks who thrive on conflict. They stir things up and breathe in the tension. Then there are folks who avoid conflict AT ANY COST. They equate conflict with mortal sin. And there’s a wide band of folks who see conflict as a part of life. Knowing who I’m talking to has helped me to know when to shut up (like you did) because these folks are so emotionally lodged in their position it’s head-banging to continue trying to have an enlightened conversation with them.

nrhatch - September 18, 2015

BINGO! Well put, Barb.

The attorney in me LOVES a good debate about matters of import . . . and AVOIDS soap opera dramas like the plague!

15. Debra - September 18, 2015

I used those very words myself the other day, “I think we’re doomed.” I watched Citizenfour, too, and it just blew me away. I guess in some way I was “shushed” a little bit, too. I have tried to discuss it with several of my friends and less than one minute into my attempt at discussion I can tell that they’re not only disinterested, they really don’t know what I’m talking about. How discouraging! So yes, I do agree. We may be doomed!

nrhatch - September 18, 2015

I launched the topic with little preamble which may have frightened the sheep ~> X was cautioning Y that sending e-mails to Z gave Z the ability to share private missives with “the world.”

I noted that Z could also xerox a piece of paper to share with the world AND then added that that concern didn’t concern me as much as what the government is doing . . . listening in at every cyber keyhole and storing the data.

No one took de-bait.

16. brickhousechick - September 19, 2015

UGH! How frustrating to be shushed like that! Although I can’t even look or listen to that CANDIDATE for President that everyone is “talking” about, I do believe the whole political correctness has turned us into total wimps!

nrhatch - September 19, 2015

Embrace ALL with Joy . . . anything can be a Gift of Gold in Disguise.

In this case, being asked to change the topic from “something of substance” to the “fluff and stuff” that most people yak about day after day after dismal day increased my resolve to stop wasting my time with time wasters.

Henceforth, I shall emulate the Dalai Lama. I’ll interact and pay attention if people seem real, genuine, sincere, honest, etc.. If not, even if it is a “great high mucky muck,” I’ll end the conversation with a quick, “Thank you. See you next time.” :mrgreen:

brickhousechick - September 19, 2015

Speaking of the Dalai Lama, I’m going to see him speak in October!!!! 🙂

nrhatch - September 21, 2015

Awesome sauce! He’s got some wise practices.

17. JOriginal Muse - September 21, 2015

Cool…! I’m on it… like brown on rice. ! Thanks! 😀

nrhatch - September 21, 2015

Enjoy looking around GPDB.

18. beeblu - September 26, 2015

Some people prefer to live an insular life, and one without hard thought.

nrhatch - September 26, 2015

We all have a role to play ~ from Simple Simon to Mother Teresa to Donald Trump.

beeblu - September 26, 2015

I think Donald’s here just to annoy everybody. 😏

nrhatch - September 27, 2015

And he’s doing a stellar job . . . even if he does say so himself! 😛


What Say YOU?

