jump to navigation

7 Quick Links & Thinks September 15, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Blogging, Humor, Joke.
trackback

220px-Pinocchio

Without fanfare, folderol, fuss or ado, 7 Quick Links & Thinks for you:

1. Fraudulent Truths

People often delude themselves.

When a “message” counters their deeply held “fraudulent truths,” they choose to ignore it.

Instead of re-evaluating the facts, they toss the messenger into the closest closet, slam the door, and ditch the key!

There are none so blind as those who will not see.

Kate Shrewsday ~> Have Mynde

2. Living The Good Life

Contrary to popular belief, you do NOT need a yacht to live the good life.  All you need is a friend with a yacht!

Sylvia’s Sunday Photo ~> Living The Good Life In Key West.

300px-Paradiso_Canto_313. Conversing with the Dearly Departed

When a photo of dad scrolls up on the screensaver I say, “Hi, dad!”

Just in case he’s listening from beyond the Twilight Zone.

I’m not alone.

Kate ~> I Said “Hi” to My Brother (Did That Just Happen)

4. The Twilight Zone ~> Conversing with Customer Service 

“Your call is important to us . . . but not enough to let you talk to anyone who can help you.”

Kate Crimmons ~> In Recovery or Notes from the Loony Bin.

RWS_Tarot_01_Magician5. Going Wrong With Confidence

In an amusing post on Glasses, BunKaryudo noted:

“Yet despite their shortcomings, both remain extremely confident in their opinions about everything.”

Bun’s observation immediately brought Donald Trump (and Rush Limbaugh) to mind.

That, of course, got me thinking about the blind leading the blind.

Let’s hope only a few near-sighted voters like Mr. Magoo end up voting for that yahoo.

6. Forest Gump, Part Deux

For a lesson in learning to flow with life, like Mr. Magoo, check out The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared:

Allan Karlsson caps off his long and colorful life by escaping from his nursing home on his 100th birthday. In short order, he comes into a possession of a suitcase stuffed with cash. With his new friend Julius, Allan decides to take it on the lam.

The movie reminded me of Forest Gump with flashbacks revealing the flow of life.  A “dark” comedy, but fun.

Don’s post, HOPE ~> Life is what happens as we “go with the flow.”

Tree-Frog-Percheda7. Don’t Cry . . . It’s Only A Joke

“Knock Knock.”
“Come In.”

BunKaryudo ~> My Ideal Reader

Aah . . . that’s better!

Comments»

1. Don - September 15, 2015

“The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared:” Now that sounds intriguing Nancy. Sometimes I feel like doing that myself. 🙂 You’re too kind with the link – really appreciate it. Thank you.

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

The movie is Swedish . . . with English sub-titles.

It reminded me of your post on Hope because Allan followed his impulses to see where they would lead instead of pushing for the “bunch of grapes” he thought might make him happy.

Before she died, his mother warned him: “Don’t think so much!”

Don - September 15, 2015

I like that warning. Did you enjoy it Nancy? Is it worth watching?

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

We found it entertaining. An absurd comedy that provided fodder for thought.

Allan is a fatalist, dealing with stoic calm to any and all events as they arise ~> nothing is “good” or “bad” . . . it just is.

Nothing ruffles his feathers. Due to his fatalistic approach, he doesn’t empathize until the last moment when he encourages a co-sojourner to reach out for LOVE.

2. beeblu - September 15, 2015

I talk to my dearly departed dad most days. And often yell at him for not passing on his carpentry and handyman skills to me. 😁

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Maybe you should take a carpentry class or volunteer with Habitat for Humanity? 💡

On “Tiny Houses” last night, a 22-year-old “girl” built her 200 sq. ft. tiny home with her dad’s help. For $12,000! She learned carpentry skills, welding, electrical, plumbing, etc., and now lives Mortgage Free. Win! Win!

We also watched a couple convert an old school bus into a tiny home for $22,000 ~ the queen-sized bed folded up and latched to the wall as the “desk” appeared. It could be folded down so that the space could be used as a yoga studio. The rest of the bus was great too.

beeblu - September 15, 2015

I’ve got the carpentry course on the list after I finish my university degree 😄

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Awesome! I wish you the best with both.

3. Jill Weatherholt - September 15, 2015

I was just thinking about our friend Sylvia yesterday. I hope she’s doing okay.

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Hope so. I’m sure it helps with the healing that she had a chance to celebrate her mom’s 90th birthday with her a few months back.

4. Kate Crimmins - September 15, 2015

Like this concept! Very fun and interesting and thanks for including me in the link!

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Blog posts come and go with the rapidity of strobe lights. It’s fun to shine the spotlight around from time to time.

5. L. Marie - September 15, 2015

“Your call is important to us . . . but not enough to let you talk to anyone who can help you.”–Sad but true. I have yet to talk to a human being whenever I call customer service. Sometimes they keep you in the loop for half an hour until you hang up in frustration.

I’d like to meet the 100-year-old man who can still climb out of a window and disappear.

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

The make up department did some job on the lead ~ aging him from his 20’s to 100. He had to be on set at 2:30 in the morning for all the prosthetic pieces to be applied. ACK!!!

As for customer service . . . double ACK!!! :/

6. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 15, 2015

Thank you so much for sharing – I’m having fun reading all of the others and feel very honored to be included, thank you!

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

My pleasure, Kate. And speaking of “Kate,” did you notice that bloggers called “Kate” were well represented in this sprinkling of links?

Note to Others: It just happened that way . . . I would NEVER discriminate against bloggers not called “Kate.” 🙄

Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 15, 2015

😀 hahahahaha!!

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Life is better with laughter! :mrgreen:

7. Pix Under the Oaks - September 15, 2015

New links… more fun reads! Thanks Nancy!

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Most of them are “short and sweet” . . . especially Sylvia’s. Enjoy.

8. diannegray - September 15, 2015

I sometimes feel like my grandfather is helping me in the RUC (he was a carpenter/boilermaker) so I liked number 3 😀

“Living the good life” gave me a chuckle! and “go with the flow” is one of my life’s mantras. I just go where that river takes me 😉

Also, like Jill – I’m thinking a lot about Sylvia and hoping she’s doing okay xxx

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

I’m glad your grandfather is helping you with the RUC, perhaps while singing “If I had a hammer . . . I’d hammer in the morning” or maybe “I’d rather be a hammer than a nail . . . yes I would.”

At times, “allowing” life to unfold is the BEST thing we can do ~> it keeps us from getting tangled up in the underbrush.

I’m glad that Sylvia had a chance to celebrate her mom’s 90th birthday with her earlier this year ~ in time happy memories dry the tears.

9. Behind the Story - September 16, 2015

When my sister and I saw “The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared,” we arrived only a couple minutes early. We thought no one else would have heard of it. Surprise! The theater was packed.

#1 and #5 both remind me of Donald Trump and his fans. I’m sorry to be so down here, but his popularity depresses me.

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

No apology necessary, Nicki. I got “shushed” yesterday when talking about how angry I am that the U.S. Government spies on “we, the people” ~> taping our phone calls, e-mails, texts, etc.

The shusher said, “WE NEED TO CHANGE THE CONVERSATION . . . NO DISCUSSING POLITICS OR RELIGION!”

I stopped . . . why waste my breath? :/

But it bothers me that ANYONE would equate the erosion of our civil liberties and the government’s increasing intrusion in our lives as “politics” not open for discussion.

I think we’re doomed! 🙄

colonialist - September 16, 2015

Mind you, both politics and religion are generally so obnoxious that maybe it’s a good idea to avoid the topics.

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

I don’t disagree with you.

But I don’t see discussion of Civil Rights, Civil Liberties, and Freedom falling under the moniker of “Politics.” Government spying isn’t a Republican vs. Democratic issue. It’s an American issue.

10. BunKaryudo - September 16, 2015

I thought I’d drop in to see what was new and — woah! — there was a link to my site! Thank you very much. That was a very nice surprise. I’m going off now to click on the other 6 links. 😀

BunKaryudo - September 16, 2015

No, other five links because… I’m listed twice! Here, have even more thanks. (I’ve got another couple of truckfuls for you outside too.) 😀

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

Woo Hoo! Just make sure that the truckfuls of thanks aren’t impeding traffic to my blog. :mrgreen:

I am delighted that our cyber paths crossed a few weeks ago and hope that this post will steer a few new fans in your direction. Because Life is Better with LAUGHTER!

BunKaryudo - September 16, 2015

Thank you and yes, I agree. I enjoyed the other sites that you linked to too. I said “hello” on a couple of them. 🙂

11. Carol Ferenc - September 16, 2015

Thanks so much for sharing these links. They all look intriguing!

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

Enjoy!

12. Tiny - September 16, 2015

Thanks Nancy for sharing these fun-looking links! Off to explore!

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Hope you find an enticing new blog to explore.

13. jannatwrites - September 17, 2015

I had to laugh at the friend with a yacht. All the fun and none of the responsibility…. sounds good to me- almost like being a kid again!

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

Yes! Lately I’ve noticed that the music I listened to as a teen makes me smile ~> lots of pleasant carefree memories attached to the songs.

14. Debra - September 18, 2015

Fun! I love to see what others are reading, so thanks for pointing out some new ones!

nrhatch - September 18, 2015

I’m thinking that The Kates (and maybe Don) are already on your radar ~ but Sylvia and BunKaryudo may be new to you.

Debra - September 18, 2015

Just Kate, so I will make the rounds. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend, Nancy!

nrhatch - September 18, 2015

Thanks! You too.


What Say YOU?

