jump to navigation

Reality: Facebook September 12, 2015

Posted by nrhatch in Humor, Joke, People.
trackback

7dwarfsFacebook allows us to share our lives with strangers while making new friends.  As an experiment, I am trying to make friends outside of Facebook by applying the same basic principles:

Every day I walk down the street and tell passers-by what I ate for breakfast, how I feel, what I did the night before and what I plan to do tomorrow night.

grumpy_thinkingThen I show them pictures of my family, my dog, and me gardening and spending time in my pool.

I also listen to them and I tell them I’m laughing out loud. (Even if I’m not.)

It works!

I already have 3 people following me: a cop, a shrink, and a lawyer who says I’m eligible for social security disability due to “mental instability.”

Aah . . . that’s better!

Source:  e-mail from unknown author (sent by Joe M.) 

Comments»

1. BunKaryudo - September 12, 2015

What a great idea! I can’t wait to try it out.

You could also try the Twitter method where you stand in a busy station — Grand Central, say — and then scream short sentences at random strangers as they rush past, hoping that one of them will shout it to somebody else.

I genuinely laughed at this post. (Look here’s a picture to prove it. :D)

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Yes!!! Brilliant! The Twitter Method + Grand Central Station = Perfect Together. Unless “Little Chicken” or “Penny Henny” clogs the air space with specious cries of ~> “The Sky is Falling! The Sky is Falling!”

Twitter is like playing “Telephone” without meanings getting lost in translation. No more:

“The End is Nigh!” ~> “The End is Night” ~> “Day Ends in Night” 🙄

BunKaryudo - September 12, 2015

Some of my fellow bloggers love Twitter, but I find it all a bit too noisy and frantic for my tastes.

You’re spot on about the Zuckerberg virus too. I like making online friends as much as anybody, but a lot of the stuff Facebook asks about is clearly for the company’s marketing purposes rather than for the convenience of other users. I don’t want to answer a fifteen page questionnaire covering everything from my taste in movies to my shoe size.

Of all the possible ways of connecting with people online that I’ve tried so far, the best by about 100 miles (in the 100 meter sprint) is blogging. 😀

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

I don’t Twitter. I’m not LinkedIn. I don’t #Hashtag, Instagram, or Photo Tag. And I’ve winnowed my Facebook friends to only those friends and family I’ve met in real life.

But I LOVE blogging. It allows for “real discussion” AND reading posts like those you write makes me Laugh Out Loud! Write on!

BunKaryudo - September 12, 2015

Thank you. I’m officially on some of those things, but I barely use them. It really is blogging for me too.

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Blogging feels more “nutritious” than most of the “fast food” swirling around cyber space. Or the “junk food” offered on Reality TV.

L. Marie - September 13, 2015

Your comment made me laugh! 🙂

JOriginal Muse - September 13, 2015

That’s funny… I’ll be stopping by your place to read some of your thoughts, too, fella writer 😉

BunKaryudo - September 13, 2015

Thank you! I look forward to your visit. I’ll prepare some cookies and an extra cup of tea.

nrhatch - September 13, 2015

Joanne & Linda ~ I expect you both would enjoy Bun’s posts. He’s got a fully developed funny bone chakra!

2. Catherine Johnson - September 12, 2015

Very funny!

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Morning, Catherine! Hope your weekend is full of moments that are FB worthy! 😛

3. granny1947 - September 12, 2015

Brilliant!!!

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

It’s amazing the things we find to do . . . to avoid doing amazing things. :mrgreen:

4. diannegray - September 12, 2015

Haaaaaa! I love this, Nancy. You’re hilarious xxxx

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Glad you enjoyed. I didn’t make many nips and tucks to this . . . other than adding the bit about the lawyer.

5. Jill Weatherholt - September 12, 2015

Oh, Nancy…this was hilarious! Although, I’ve never been a fan of FB, publishers and editors want that presence. Thanks for the laughs!

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Glad you got a kick out of it, Jill. FB has its purposes, especially for business. But some of the shares I’ve seen make me LOL.

6. Barb - September 12, 2015

Never was a truer word said Nancy; enjoy the real world with real people and do amazing things together.

nrhatch - September 12, 2015

Yes! A few weeks ago, I decided to winnow my FB friends to people I’ve actually met. I’ll stay in touch with blogging buddies here and via their blogs.

It’s easier to “make the rounds” on FB and see “what’s what” without being overwhelmed at the time it takes to keep up with “everyone.”

7. Pix Under the Oaks - September 13, 2015

Haha… The Book of Face! My Facebook is full of cats and horse stuff and I have 19 friends and just a few of them are what I consider really friends that I communicate with. Oddly enough the people that I really connect with on the internet and consider friends aren’t my friends on The Book of Face. Facebook gets me to Tinykittens and that is just about all I use it for. I want to love blogging like I used to, but it has lost its charm for me. I do still love to visit other people’s blogs and comment.
Good Morning!

nrhatch - September 13, 2015

That’s the thing about life . . . interests ebb and flow, bloggers come and go. You are not alone.

I still enjoy blogging but not with the same “intensity” as I had 4-5 years ago ~ as you may have noticed, I’ve been rather lax about writing “real posts” this summer.

Just a bunch of fluff and stuff. 😛

Maybe I’ll write a hard-hitting exposé on a matter of import soon. Or not. Time will tell. 😎

8. L. Marie - September 13, 2015

So funny!!! And so true. This is one reason why I take Facebook in very small doses.

nrhatch - September 13, 2015

Yes. If we are careful about the dosage, we won’t OD!

9. JOriginal Muse - September 13, 2015

OMGGG…!!! I laughed so hard, I had to share it with my daughter Naomi who laughed just as hard, before saying that we have to post it on our Facebook timelines… I am going to share it with all 499 of my “friends” there and then take it to the streets… hee hee… The irony of it all is that your post wouldn’t have been so funny without some of our Facebook friends contributing to the reality of it… Just keeping it real… Have I told you lately that I love and appreciate you, Nancy…? Because I do… WRITE ON…!

nrhatch - September 13, 2015

I grinned all the way through your comment, Joanne ~> thanks for keeping it REAL!

10. Tammy - September 14, 2015

It IS remarkable what people share, isn’t it?

nrhatch - September 14, 2015

And their generous shares become our information overload if we aren’t mindful enough to maneuver out of the way! :/

11. sufilight - September 15, 2015

I have seen this in FB and it also been translated into Spanish. LOL It is FUNNY! 😀

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

It’s been around the block a time or two! When I got it, he had 2 cops and a shrink following him. I swapped out one of the cops for an “ambulance chaser.” 😛

12. Kate @ Did That Just Happen? - September 15, 2015

hehehehehehe!

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

You gots da giggles! :mrgreen:

13. Tiny - September 15, 2015

Laughing (for real, not LOLing). I have the same principle for my personal FB. And I don’t tweet short sentences descibing my daily life, just share my posts and some good articles. Blogging is the best 😎

nrhatch - September 15, 2015

Yes! Glad you’re being “real.”

We just watched “10 Questions with the Dalai Lama.” In it, his aide mentioned that when people have an audience with the Dalai Lama, he will interact and pay attention if they seem real, genuine, sincere, honest, etc..

If not, even if it is a “great high mucky muck,” he ends the interview with a quick, “Thank you. See you next time.” :mrgreen:

Tiny - September 15, 2015

He is wise!

nrhatch - September 16, 2015

And exhibits great Time Management Skills! _/!\_

14. Debra - September 17, 2015

This is hilarious! It also serves to make an excellent point. 🙂

nrhatch - September 17, 2015

The best jokes make us think about the (often absurd) things that we do. 🙄

15. jannatwrites - September 17, 2015

That is hilarious! I’m not right because I think it would be fun to try that 🙂 I’m not on Facebook but at least I’ve heard of it, haha

nrhatch - September 18, 2015

Let me know how that works out for ya! 😛


What Say YOU?

